A Mooch Around A Derelict Limestone Quarry

We easily gained access into the now derelict quarry that once supplied limestone to the local limekilns via a mineral railway, built by railway engineer, George Stephenson in 1841.

There's a tramway museum nearby and the trams run alongside the quarry. We had to make sure that we weren't visible to the tram drivers. It was at this point I realised it was a bit remiss of me to wear a bright red weirdfish jacket!

The quarry was closed in 1957/8. A year later, part of it was bought by the Tramway Museum. Parts of the quarry seem to have had various owners over the years.

In 1964, Rolls-Royce used some of the quarry to dump low-level radioactive waste. The Crich and District Environment Action Group, quite rightly campaigned against it and eventually put a stop to it in 2002.

I was only a young whipper snapper at the time but it's still there somewhere in my fast failing memory bank. In 2004, Rolls-Royce were ordered to sort its shit out and restore the landscape!

In 2000, another part of the quarry was transferred over to Bardon Aggregates. Unfortunately, the limestone was found to be contaminated which consequently effected their sales.

The quarry was closed for good in 2010 and all the machinery and outbuildings were left to rot.

It makes you wonder why the old machinery didn't go for scrap but perhaps it would cost far too much.

I'm glad we went as there's a big chance the place will be flattened and a water park resort built. Oh hum ....

Sort:  

Does that mean there’s gonna be a radioactive waterslide soon? Hehe

I don’t think they'll get many customers. 😁☠

Theyll all walk home looking like the ready brek kid

I'd pay to see that!

Excellent! Did you slide down that large shute? 😀

I'm surprised my brother didn’t shove me down it!

With the current price and shortage on metals, I bet they will want to sell all the hunks of metal soon, and build that damn park.

It will be interesting to see if it goes ahead.