A Moochin' We Will Go - Derelict Wagon Works, Derbyshire

in Urban Exploration2 years ago (edited)

This was our second attempt at accessing the old derelict wagon works in my home town. It’s a well explored place. People said it's easy if you are in the know. Unfortunately, the last time we visited we couldn’t find a way in as there was a metal fence around the perimeter.

Not a lot is known about the place. I've lived in this town all my life but I never knew it existed. According to 'Grace's Guide to British Industrial History' it was once owned by Hurst, Nelson and Co based in Motherwell, Scotland. It closed in the early 1980s and had connections to the Midland Railway.

Looking on Google Earth, I thought perhaps we could access the place through the neighbouring paint factory yard (pretending to be customers). Then I remembered, my brother and I look as shifty as shit. I knew I'd have to utilise my blagging skills, so it wasn’t looking promising.

Upon arrival, we were pleased to find that someone had pulled one of the railings off the fence, leaving a gap for two old farts to access. The gap was big enough for the .... ahem ... fuller figure. I was well pleased.

I thought getting to a certain age might have made me more safety conscious, but I quickly found myself upstairs not knowing what I’d find. The floor looked OK from downstairs though, so I gave it a whirl. Disappointingly, there wasn’t anything up there apart from graffiti .... but very good graffiti!! Places like this wouldn't be the same without a Coloquix piece.

Yes, I admit to product placement here! I found the Corona bottle and because of what's been happening this past 18 months and the fact I'm walking around this old derp, well ... it seemed quite apt.

The outside factory buildings looked more like gigantic greenhouses, with nature taking over as usual.

Building and contents wise there wasn’t much to see. Even though it is based in an industrial area, it felt as though it was out in the sticks somewhere, and of course seeing the graffiti made the explore worthwhile.

Photos by @ellenripley - Julie S. All rights reserved.

Sort:  

Hi @ellenripley,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Then I remembered, my brother and I look as shifty as shit.

You remembered.. haha.. that made me laugh. An explore is an explore.. they all have something.. and finding Coloquix's is always good.

Yeh, I've finally realised we can't change the way we look! 😁

Maybe it's a brain thing but I feel like age only makes you more cautious to a degree. Like I'd probably blunder into an abandoned someplace to see what's there but I'm too scared to learn new skate tricks XD

Glad you got in this time, that's some really nice graffiti O_O

LoL you "remembered" that you and your brother look shifty, well I guess if you're not the type that spends excessive amounts of time staring at your own reflection or trying to find the perfect angle for selfies then it would be an easy thing to forget XD

Thank you. I've stopped risking walking over iffy floorboards, so a little bit of commonsense has crept in lol. Yeh, I've only got one mirror in my home. You give up after you get to a certain age. 🙂🙃

Wow, nice adventure! I like the Corona bottle placement too - good to know empty Mexican lager bottles are found over there in deserted spots too!

We get a lot of discarded Corona bottles. I live across from a park. We have a group of youngsters who meet up and drop their bottle tops on the ground. My friend used to pick them up because the serrated edges would hurt dog's feet. I thought it's a shame to throw them away so I'm going to do some bottle top art. Not sure whether I can pull it off but I like the idea of making art from litter. YouTube here I come!

That is an awesome idea! I can't wait to see what you come up with -

No pressure, ha ha.

Nice little mooch there @ellenripley some great art cheers

I might go back. I was that shocked I got in, I didn't take it all in. 😁

always worth a second visit if you cant scratch that itch first time round x