furious-one cross-posted this post in Urban Exploration 4 years ago


Abandoned Finland - Kemppaala House

in #photography4 years ago

kemppaala1.jpg

Abandoned houses are interesting and when ever I have a chance, I like to sneak into one to the pictures. I only go in if I can do so without breaking anything. Usually when I find these places, which you don't really have to look too hard in rural areas, I don't know anything about the history of the house, but this time I have done a bit or research. That wasn't too hard since the house is near where I grew up.

Before I went photographing the house, I let the elderly lady across the road know that I would be going in so she won't be alarmed if she saw something out of the norm. She then called me over for coffee and cake when I was done and we talked a bit about the history of the house and I also found it from an old big book that had record of most houses in the county and who owned them at that time. I think they used to make them every ten years but I don't think they do anymore.

Kemppaala, a timber frame and wood clad house, was build in 1928, and it has been unoccupied since 1984, so it has never had anyone living there during my existence. The current owner of the house has had it between 5 to 10 years, and has never lived in it, nor is he related to the previous owners of the house. A funny remark about the ownership is that the current owner didn't actually know he was buying the house, he did it accidentally. He was buying the piece of land around the house, and only found out about the house when he was signing the papers. The previous owner didn't much care for the house and probably forgot to mention it.

The house is pretty much beyond repair and has no monetary value to it since it's in such bad shape. I think the frame will hold for a long time but repairing it all would be such a costly and difficult affair that it would make more sense to just rip it all down, which I hope won't happen. The house is not doing any harm being there and I would be interested to see how the nature would slowly eat at it and take over.

Apparently the owner does stop by every once in a while to see if the house is still there but to my knowledge has no plans for it. A couple winters ago someone has broken most of the windows, and the owner had said to the lady across the road that apparently someone has been inside there and he hopes nobody will vandalise it more. I have been inside the house before, years ago, back then all the windows where intact and me an my sis just lifted one of them off the frame and then put back. We abide by the one simple "rule" for urban exploration:

Take nothing but photos, leave nothing but footprints.

I hope you like the pictures I took.

Shot with the Nikon D7200 and Sigma 18-35mm f/1.8.

kemppaala2.jpg

kemppaala3.jpg

kemppaala4.jpg

kemppaala5.jpg

kemppaala6.jpg

kemppaala10.jpg

kemppaala7.jpg

kemppaala8.jpg

kemppaala13.jpg

kemppaala9.jpg

kemppaala11.jpg

kemppaala12.jpg

kemppaala14.jpg