Mental Health. November 2021

in Urban Exploration2 years ago

"The lunatic is on the grass
Remembering games and daisy chains and laughs
Got to keep the loonies on the path"

SPG_9042.jpeg

OOPS! Nothing to do with me Guv......... honest

SPG_9043.jpeg

Right then, best stick to the path

SPG_9041.jpeg

Lancashire’s first County Lunatic Asylum: It opened its doors in 1816, and was officially named The County Lunatic Asylum for the County Palatine of Lancaster.

By 1891 it housed just over 1800 lunatics

SPG_9035.jpeg

Additional buildings and "villas" (for posh fee paying "clients") continued to be built up to the beginning of WW2, with a now greater capacity of 3200

SPG_9038.jpeg

It looked less encouraging with every step I took, fencing, sealed and boarded up windows, and it was a darkening afternoon.

SPG_9032.jpeg

SPG_9033.jpeg

SPG_9036.jpeg

Well Ok let's go and ask at reception.
Walk on.
Following the building round as I had now got inside the flimsy harras fencing.

Oh Fuck me!

SPG_9039.jpeg

C'mon, Let's moooooooch!

SPG_8983.jpeg

Nope no one at reception to help out

SPG_9010.jpeg

SPG_8972.jpeg

It has been awhile since I have enjoyed a mooch like this, pitch black inside these big old corridors and rooms, the wind blowing, disturbing anything loose, the silence, only disturbed by my footsteps in the detritus, just a head torch to guide my way.
Orgasmic

SPG_8973.jpeg

SPG_9006.jpeg

Even the simplest things gladden my heart!

SPG_8975.jpeg

"The lunatics are in my hall
The paper holds their folded faces to the floor
And every day the paper boy brings more"

SPG_8977.jpeg

SPG_8978.jpeg

SPG_8976.jpeg

SPG_8980.jpeg

SPG_8985.jpeg

SPG_8986.jpeg

The NHS owned properties in the local neighbourhood, to house its medical staff, one is currently for sale at £200k for a 3 bed semi.

SPG_8991.jpeg

SPG_8987.jpeg

SPG_8982.jpeg

It is lucky I eat a lot of carrots, and I guess my eyes are now adjusting to the gloom as I made my way along corridors, into rooms. seeing the unseen, the hidden treasures.

SPG_8995.jpeg

A tale of woe

Please tune up your violin strings!

20 years ago, I was unfortunate to be standing to close to an explosion, the resultant pressure wave fucked my ears to the point where I am virtually deaf, tbh the only reason I have got ears is to hang my glasses off. But hey so what, I can live with it: it is not the end of the world.

So when I hear something it has too be pretty loud. I heard voices at least two talking.

It stopped me dead in my tracks, two thoughts together within a split second

SPG_8984.jpeg

  1. Security had turned up to re-board the window, that'll be me fucked then
  2. Some others must be mooching around

SPG_8993.jpeg

"The lunatic is in my head
You raise the blade, you make the change
You re-arrange me 'til I'm sane
You lock the door
And throw away the key
There's someone in my head but it's not me"

SPG_9030.jpeg

SPG_9031.jpeg

I never did discover where the voices came from, who knows if there was an option 3....I never heard them again.

SPG_9029.jpeg

Rocket science!

SPG_9027.jpeg

SPG_8994.jpeg

SPG_8997.jpeg

It seems these units were mixed sex adult acute wards with patients in an age range from 18 – 65 years. Suffering from a number of different mental health illnesses such as depression and mood disorders.

Admitted to the ward because they cannot be managed safely within the community.

SPG_9002.jpeg

Beats shoving them in straight jackets and padded cells I guess, but in the words of Richard Ashcroft

Now the drugs don't work. They just make you worse

SPG_8992.jpeg

That's the weirdest thing to stumble upon, in very good condition too, it could easily sell for over £2k

This place as you can imagine was huge, I got lost a couple of times, finding a set of stairs that were useable I ventured upstairs, where at last there was a little bit of daylight.......

SPG_9023.jpeg

SPG_9024.jpeg

......a little too much daylight in places

SPG_9016.jpeg

SPG_9017.jpeg

SPG_9021.jpeg

SPG_9022.jpeg

SPG_8998.jpeg

Windows

SPG_9020.jpeg

SPG_9008.jpeg

SPG_9007.jpeg

I was having a bit of a play with DoF

SPG_8999.jpeg

SPG_9011.jpeg

SPG_9015.jpeg

SPG_9014.jpeg

The institution started its decline in the 1980's with the introduction of " care in the community'. It closed its doors in 2013, and stands derelict as a Grade 2 listed building.

So that's it, I don't think I visited every corner, the light would be fading soon.

It must have taken me another half an hour or so to find the window to escape through, my internal radar was acting below standard.

Where are those voices when you need them.

"And if the cloud bursts, thunder in your ear
You shout and no one seems to hear
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the moon"

Brain Damage lyrics © BMG Rights Management

Sort:  

Elegance in the name "The County Lunatic Asylum" straight forward those days, no frills.

Brain Dead playing through your noggin, Pink Floyd would be proud of you thinking those words out loud step toeing through the wards like that, all alone with possible grateful dead around next corner!

!BEER

Sorry, out of BEER, please retry later...

hey hey @joanstewart rock on, darkside, the greatest album ever

One of the best groups ever!

Have an amazing New Year, no brain damage allowed, hold on to your head when partying this year.

LOL, same to you @joanstewart 2022, yeeeeeee Haaaaaw!!

Hope you got out to paint the town! Happy New Year....

and to you @joanstewart no actually stayed in, long story, son in mexico with fambam, daughter busy, preparing course work for next semester ( working?! sheesh). and after dumping, finally dumping, the manipulative woman I had been partnered to earlier in the year and reclaiming my life. I am currently looking for a new +1!!!!

still the cup cakes and Gin were nice watching netflix lol lol lol

Did you party?

Oh shoot sounds similar lines, not Gin and cup cakes just straight good bottle of KWV Merlot (red wine) alone, watching crazy next gen hiking up frozen mountains skiing or snow boarding down in Norway.... anything to feel cool!

Hatching up plans on how this next year will play out, dumpster on the way!

When not dodging the sun, skies filled with Thunder Gods (Zeus and his gang) throwing bolts around!

Hi @grindle,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

What an awesome exploration, and with ghosts too!

!PIZZA

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@revisesociology(1/12) tipped @grindle (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

Hell of an explore. Definitely ghosts you were hearing. What is "Grade 2 listed"? I assume some level of historical building protection, but that place is an absolute money pit to restore.

yes it is protected under UK law @jacobtothe it cant be demolished etc. and yes far too expensive to restore, so it will just rot away and collapse, or get burnt down by some idiots. Thanks for engaging

On the outside it looks like an old castle, on the inside ... everything is sad. I hope the soles of your boots were cast iron and you had a strong club hanging from your belt ... or Comrades Smith and Wesson.
This place is filled to the brim with pain and madness. It has its own energy. In such places, the ears and eyes are not the most reliable helpers, you need to turn on the 6th sense ... I hope I scared you a lot :-)))

Выпей приятель !BEER
!invest_vote

lol @bambuka thanks for engaging


Hey @grindle, here is a little bit of BEER from @bambuka for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@bambuka denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@bambuka thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

Very cool exploration. Thanks for sharing 😊

Cool spot. Looks pretty spooky. Wandering in the dark with only a head lamp...yikes!
That Foosball table looks super out of place there. Lol

got the heart beating @leaky20 , that football table is now smashed, saw a recent post on MSM 3 weeks after I visited.

Well, if you keep hearing those voices you might have to check in 😅
That stuff that could sell for over £2k, did you leave it there or did you just become £2k richer?

LOL @nevies !! I saw someone had posted a visit here on MSM a few weeks later and that gorgeous football table had been smashed, no doubt by some typical chav cunts. That is the problem with UK Urbex, too many fucking idiots. @slobberchops will agree

Oh thats a pity, it means the day you saw it was it's last days, it probably had the premonition too 😢, it was probably the owner of those whispers 😳

I'll like to ask, do most of you Urbex guys consider it wrong to take some of these things for sale rather than leave them to rot?

hi @nevies thanks for engaging, a true URBEXER, will never ever ever take anything from a property other than the photo's we snap. I have discovered items with values of £1000,s. But never even considered stealing them.

URBEX, gets a bad press in the UK, due to the criminal scum that visit abandoned places they are hated in the UE community, don't you agree @slobberchops ?

I once visited an old school in kaliningrad with a local guy, another American girl tagged along, I noticed as we went round she was filling her back pack with all sorts of stuff. I told her that if she didn't put it back i would "punch her teeth out" ( I would not have done so, I am a lover not a fighter). but it did the trick!!! all items were put back.

Alright, man. Cool 😅
I can respect that.

nice one @nevies 👍

URBEX, gets a bad press in the UK, due to the criminal scum that visit abandoned places they are hated in the UE community, don't you agree @slobberchops ?

Yes, it doesn't cross my mind to take anything. I have said it before, it's bad enough we are skirting on the edge of the law by trespassing, but stealing things is just not on.

I can say the same for both @dizzydiscovery and @anidiotexplores. If I ever saw either of them taking stuff, I would not explore with them anymore. I know @anidiotexplores has reprimanded another bloke at least one time for stealing stuff.

The only time I took something out of a property was a dirty towel to stop my hand bleeding at Diamonds, Strip Club. It's since been demolished. It had that typical stench of derp and I discarded it soon after.

I'm not going up there again to find the bloody place sealed! You were lucky.. and that voice was some ghost who was looking for the electric chairs in the basement. What... you missed 'em? 😀

Fuck off! @slobberchops seriously??? I think that's an urban myth

I think that's an urban myth

I'm glad you have heard it too, why would there be electric chairs when we don't even have that death type, or never have!

Supposedly that area is not accessible. A load of bollocks I think.

yeah, i think so, they did electro therapy there but that didn,t need a chair. It was the same as Pool Park, electro chairs in the basement; load of bollocks!!!

electro chairs in the basement; load of bollocks!!!

Hehe...

Cracking post like your style. It was actually still running as offices in 2017. I was doing my placement based there we went out to the other units in the town. The first pic with the three-bay window on the top right was my office. They also ran the outpatients appointments there giving people depots from the community. Spoke with some of the guys who were in the asylum they had moved into the community since. Hear some creepy stories backed up by other patients too 😳

It was falling down then and parts were out of bounds. Went for the odd wonder was creep as back then. Great explore brought back memories 🙏🏽

wow ! that's amazing @vibeof100monkeys i hope I did the place justice. it was nicely creepy.

Yes was nice to see bought back some memories. Shame to see it like that such a beautiful building but excellent to nature claiming it back also. You did it proud 👍🏽

I do not know how you feel when exploring abandoned buildings, but the appearance and architectural style of this house is beautiful :)

thank you @olga.maslievich i feel great