Photos from 2017-"Morris Brown college and the Mercedes Benz stadium"

At home before AT Decatur.jpg
On 12/30/2017, I had a performance at one of my favorite venues, Arbor Terrace of Decatur.
At that time, I lived in a one bedroom, gov't subsidized, transitional housing facility, in a VERY bad part of town.
To get anywhere in Atlanta, I had basically, to drive right down MLK to Northside. There it dead-ended into the Merc, which was still under construction.
I also had to pass through Morris Brown College, which was (and as far as I know still) in 'insolvency'

20171230_172708.jpg
Much of it was already being demolished. I just checked and the map shows there are apartments there now. No wonder, with the proximity to the Stadium

Mercedes Benz panorama.jpg
I did this splice of several photos, so you could see the area.

IMG_4121.JPG
Most of the buildings were boarded up, and one large structure had the roof completely caved in

IMG_4127.JPG
There it is on the right, on the left is the college center admin building, which at the time was still being used... for something

IMG_4116.JPG
This façade was very close to the stadium, the remainder of the building was gone, mostly.

IMG_4117.JPG
So I went on to my gig

IMG_4110.JPG
Had a good show.
On the way home, I got this,

The Moon over the Merc

Moon over merc.jpg

"Urban Exploration"

Morris Brown college and the Merc under construction
by

Jerry E Smith
©04/29/2021
All images are mine




cyktlq.png