The Long Way Round..

in Urban Exploration2 years ago

So yesterday @fastchrisuk and myself headed back out to Ilkeston on a reccie. Near to a previous visit of old WW2 Air Raid shelters was an abandonded factory that we were looking to explore. Unfortunately there was no way in and we believe the factory may not be completely abandoned too. So we had a wander, in full view of security cameras (don't know if they were working or not), so that they could see we weren't up to no good and carried on.

Funny story too, we also went the long way round, hence the title. Instead of going right after a hole in fence we went left, which included a very steep hill and thorns the size of wire barbs that definitely got me!

After a refuel of an Italian Stack from McDonalds (I think I still prefer the quarter pounder with cheese!) we headed to another location of Oakwell Brickworks (Hoffman Kiln). Chris had been in before so I headed in myself. After climbing through a hole in the fence and heading around the building I went in through an opening in the underground level, which I believe is called the fire passage, which then took me though an opening into the top section..

Below is the section that I came through

DSC03117.JPG

..and below is the section that was in front of me..

DSC03118.JPG

Once I had climbed up the brickwork on the right I was in the top section which can be seen below. Half of the roof is missing but a lot of the structure is still present..

DSC03084.JPG

There was also some old Grafitti too, which I always like..

DSC03090.JPG

DSC03104.JPG

DSC03085.JPG

DSC03089.JPG

Finally we have a couple of external shots

DSC03124.JPG

DSC03119.JPG

DSC03120.JPG

If you're interested in finding out more I found the below link before writing this post in the hope of finding the actual name of this location. It also has some photos of the underground section that I entered in through..

https://www.28dayslater.co.uk/threads/oakwell-brickworks-hoffman-kiln-ilkeston-derbyshire-july-2021.129592/

As a photographer I try to mix what I do in my shots, I've done still life, some macro work, lightpainting and I enjoy a good model shoot. If you'd like to check out any of my other work I'm on Facebook, or you can find me on Instagram under neilru75

Thanks very much for looking

Kind Regards, Neil