Back to the 70's

This little place actually took me some finding. After seeing another post of it I decided to try and find it.. The were very little clues to go off but eventually I narrowed it down to an area and began my search on Google maps.. After a few hours and very red eyes I had a good feeling ide found her. Being on a busy road side is never an easy entry, it's either just go for it or go home, so I hotfooted it over the gate and across the overgrowth.


The door was ajar and I walked straight into the kitchen. The house had a really 70's feel to it.


Alot of bright blue paint and a really retro radio on the side.. The little side room I figured was a washroom and a place to store things, a lovely old belling cooker on the side still with its manual and a simple wooden chair to sit in and throw your shoes off..


Two rooms came off the kitchen and a smaller room. How many tv's does one person need?? 🤔😅 A typewriter neatly placed on a shelf.


The other room with its stripy wall paper and stained wooden walls was strewn with magazines and books.


The other little room was almost empty but had the most beautiful little stained glass window that shot coloured shades of light across the room.


On a little shelf in the corner where little packs of seeds and a box of gun cartridges, obviously once a keen gardener and enjoyed shooting.


Upstairs was really neat and sparce, again with a sort of late 70s feel and some pretty gaudy wall paper 🙈


The old dressing table with an old bristle toothbrush in a glass tube stood beside a hairbrush and a little picture.. I begin to wonder who's hair it last brushed and who's reflection looked into the mirror.. a certificate of merit for prevention of cruelty to animals and various framed pictures dotted about.


The bathroom again was a bright blue, better than avacado I guess 😅


Wonky Pictures hung from the walls, you know when you really want to straighten them up.. but they looked Inkeeping with the rooms, so I resisted the urge. Two chairs sided by side framed a really flowery wall.


I really liked this house, it felt calm and once looked after. I descended the stairs and made my way outside to the sheds. So much stuff everywhere, A busy workshop once. Boxes in the corners with stuff never unpacked. An old radio, a gentlemans pipe and children's books and cards amongst the clutter and dust. Old framed photos of people long gone..


That was me done, The latest calender that I found was from the mid 90s and the was very little paperwork to help me piece together very much about the family that once lived there.. Either way I was going back to the car happy. 😊

Sort:  

Congratulations @ninjakitten! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the October 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-09 - Winners List
Be ready for the 10th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

What a find! even the books were still there and I can imagine if they were restored, it would have been still readable. Don't you ever feel eerie when exploring places like this?

I always want to collect all the books up and clean them off, but usually they are well past saving, it's a massive shame to see them all over the place and ruined.. and to be honest no,all places have a different feel to them, I've inky been in a small handful where I've felt on edge, and thats not because of an angry farmer or security 😁

More great images, the sheds can often be better than the houses. I always check them.

I sometimes find the sheds more interesting than the house. So much stuff gets chucked into a shed and just left.

Wow, what a cool find! Feels like a little time-capsule granting a glance at the past. Thanks for sharing!

it was a really cool. little place and the sheds where just so good!! and your welcome

So many tellies!! lol, and that little belling cooker should be in a museum. SUPER

I know 😅 never ceases to amaze me the odd things we find, I agree most of it should be in a museum.

The family lived there once must have someone superstitious in them who placed horseshoes on one of the windows.

very true.. I often see that.. some say the devil sits in it and when it's the other way round luck pours out.. can't win really 😂

Woah! Time travel!
and what gorgeous images!!!!!

The house is so cool and it feels so good to be back in the 70s my friend. I remember the Television, my grandmother owned it before, that must be black and white. When I was born in the 90s, I used to watch in a TV like of that in the picture. I so love the place. Perhaps, I am an old soul. Have a great day and take care.

thankyou! I used to have a TV like that too as a child we had 3 channels BBC 1 ITV and Channel 2 that's it 😅

Hehe. So True. It's good to be back to those days. Although things were black and white but we truly enjoyed watching TV. Thanks my friend and take care.

Such an excellent find - thanks for sharing, @ninjakitten!

Annabelle 😊

it was a lovely few hours spent! thankyou 😊

Looking forward to your next adventure! 👍