Tales of the Urban Explorer: Return to St Thomas Church

It had been over a year since @dizzydiscovery and I had partially infiltrated ‘St Thomas’ Church’, got covered in spider webs, unearthed documents from the 1950s and narrowly escaped losing my balls climbing through the narrowest of gaps.

35_IMG_1528_35.jpg

I looked at the brick-red church and noticed little had changed, besides fewer leaves on the surrounding trees and the weather was better. It was December after all.

26_IMG_6232_26.jpg

...'St Thomas Church, (December 2021 cover shot), and October 2020 (here). Can you see any difference?...'

Like last time, the grounds were simple to access and I noted the back entrance had been sealed. Someone was looking after it.

38_IMG_1533_38.jpg

36_IMG_1530_36.jpg

“It’s down there”. My comrade was pointing in a severe downward direction over some very spiky blue railings.

Getting down there might be fine, but getting back up? There appeared to be no steps or gently inclining ramp, it was a case of a jump or abort.

33_IMG_1526_33.jpg

Church gutters I call them. Full of leaves, shit, and junk and somewhere I would rather not be.

@anidiotexplores was through the gap quickly with me as usual struggling with the nailed board that kept banging on my back and making a few holes at the same time.

32_IMG_1525_32.jpg

You don’t remove boards that would be vandalism. If they drop off well that’s a different story though I would prefer otherwise.

Sweating but otherwise unscathed I was initially grateful for the receptacle placed on the other side which was a very wobbly chair.

"Woah... Woah… wooooaaahhh.....", the chair went over and crashed to the floor with me barely keeping my balance.

You would think the Urbex community could place some decent things for us to stand on?

1_IMG_1493_1.jpg

I found myself in the same dingy dungeon as last time. The door to the main church on that occasion was sealed tight and I remembered the way.

2_IMG_1494_2.jpg

Not so much now, and current intelligence had informed us beforehand that this once solid door was now swinging open and welcoming visitors.

3_IMG_1495_3.jpg

As churches go it was in remarkably good condition, vast and gloomy.

had we managed to get in before the arseholes?

Dead pigeons don’t turn bright green once deceased. Someone had sprayed this unfortunate flying rat with what looked like spray paint.

4_IMG_1497_4.jpg

Nevertheless, the painters had not marked 'St Thomas’ Church’ as yet, and it was looking decent but quite bare.

5_IMG_1498_5.jpg

6_IMG_1499_6.jpg

Those nice glass windows had not completely remained unscathed. If you can't get in, smash the windows won't you?

7_IMG_1500_7.jpg

That is not the remains of someone’s piss, but water damage. You can’t expect it to remain dry within for long.

8_IMG_1501_8.jpg

A souvenir from the outside world, it's generally the other way around, but there was little of value inside 'St Thomas’ Church’.

9_IMG_1502_9.jpg

Miraculously the windows have not been put through. The local dickheads must have morals?

10_IMG_1503_10.jpg

I would like to think it was the original church organ but my mind kept telling me ‘cheap Casio’.

11_IMG_1504_11.jpg

Ransacked but nothing to take; not even a rubber wrapper to be seen.

12_IMG_1505_12.jpg

Burning the evidence? Some electrical gear has gone forever.

13_IMG_1506_13.jpg

Lovely as they are in most churches that have not been desecrated.

14_IMG_1507_14.jpg

I can’t say the same for everything, through the door was yet another hole.

15_IMG_1508_15.jpg

Owww.., my balls don’t half get some stick.

16_IMG_1509_16.jpg

Beyond the medieval solid studded white door, which used to be green and before that… brown, lay a tight staircase.

17_IMG_1510_17.jpg

18_IMG_1511_18.jpg

It went up quite a way and afforded us some views of the surrounding area. I am not one for heights so did not step onto the roof tiles.

19_IMG_1512_19.jpg

The stairway was not as infested by spiders as the other staircase that takes you to the bell tower. Someone else had been here before us.

20_IMG_1513_20.jpg

21_IMG_1514_21.jpg

22_IMG_1515_22.jpg

At least some of the pews had been left behind. I have done several churches and this one has survived better than any of the others.

23_IMG_1516_23.jpg

Many keys used to be hung here.

24_IMG_1517_24.jpg

Let's take a closer look. The crypt key is missing as are the rest of them. We could not find the crypt unless it was that boring dungeon where we entered.

I would expect to find the living dead down there, zombies, skeletons, and ghouls. It was most disappointing.

25_IMG_1518_25.jpg

We exited the church area, down the stairs, and back to I guess what was the very unexciting crypt.

26_IMG_1519_26.jpg

One room had escaped my attention; it looked like some kind of office. Those rusty filing cabinets held nothing of interest but beyond, an office lay… a very soaked office.

27_IMG_1520_27_censored.jpg

A meeting of the church council from 1986; it was just as well it was in this position and I could snap it, the rest of the documents in there were so wet I could do little.

28_IMG_1521_28.jpg

29_IMG_1522_29.jpg

If only the damn water had stayed out of this room, this was likely full of scandal.

30_IMG_1523_30.jpg

I tried to uncover more paperwork but they were falling apart in my hands. Yuck…, shitty and horrible to touch as well.

31_IMG_1524_31.jpg

…’there is little you can do with this besides walk away and say… fuck it’…

We exited, me hoping that stupid chair would not collapse under my feet. Getting out was proving just as cumbersome.

Climbing the wall… even worse. I did need a slight hand from @anidiotexplores to haul me up.

34_IMG_1527_34.jpg

Pulling yourself up a wall that is at the level of your head is not easy anymore. Another one fully explored. I am not fond of re-visits.

RedLine.png

Do you like posting your Urbex content and photography for FREE on Facebook and YouTube? I like to get some form of reward for my work and every time I create I do just that. Take a look at The Urbex Community on HIVE.

If you want to keep creating for FREE then ignore what you are reading. If you want to be like me and gain something other than BUGGER ALL for your work then click here and learn about posting on the HIVE blockchain.

RedLine.png

TalesLogo.JPG

RedLine.png


CurieCurator.jpg

RedLine.png

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, rehive, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

Even before I saw you mention the windows, I thought to myself how interesting and surprising that the beautiful stained glass windows seem to be intact. Maybe dickheads like pretty things too!

The church part had been sealed for the longest time. @anidiotexplores calls me and tells me 'we must go now'. It's likely sealed again now, this was 7 months ago. I know it's maintained, and we were lucky to get in. Not many dickheads have walked the halls.

Stain glass windows always fantastic to look through, dreary place otherwise, except the redbrick structure with black trim another remarkable explore on a bright sunny day for December!

Don't you love how it rains up there, like all the time, water gets in everywhere those documents may have contained some good descriptive writings....

!BEER

That's what I go for.., the documents, the drama! I ended up with soggy, filthy fingers which is a bad in freezing December.

Blackened Popsicle fingers added to the adventure... I suppose, secrets remain within the mushy writings under the eaves of the church.

That's a cool location. A bit different than the usual it seems. The bricks are so bright. Very cool.

Painting a dead pigeon is such a weird thing to do. Lol.

Painting a dead pigeon is such a weird thing to do. Lol.

Nothing surprises me anymore. I have seen the poor birds strung up and obviously tortured to death. There are some bastards out there.

Eurgh I don't like that 🤬
Yeah some people are real assholes.

Looks like a lot of people are surprised that the stained glass windows were still okay. I see a couple where rocks might have been thrown through and that one that is completely demolished, maybe they got lead poisoning as payback for that! Exciting stuff!

They were mostly intact. Even at some of the other more derpy churches I have done, they appear to survive quite well. The Tabernacle was an example of that.

People must really be afraid of going to hell :)

Wow near the last half of the post I swear I could smell the nasty and old mildew smell on those papers and such.

Out of that whole darn building, a single piece of RAM. Such a weird sight for the only tech-like thing that was shown in this post.

Good pictures on the stained glass! I feel like that would be #1 for most rebellious kids to ruin.

Wow near the last half of the post I swear I could smell the nasty and old mildew smell on those papers and such.

I can't remember anything in particular but then again I am probably nose-blind to such things.

It's been a while - what a trip! I am surprised that the windows had not been salvaged. I could see one like that built into a modern mansion as a focal point, like a bar or pool area. https://stained-glass-window.us/repurposing-antique-stained-glass/
maybe a little far away, but here a example from England, refurbished and for sale:
https://www.englishsalvage.co.uk/last-supper-religious-stained-glass-panels_item_29486

Jeez, a snip at £12,000! Hope they stay that way.

thats nice, windows in tact and tHe time on the clock is different!

time on the clock is different!

I had not noticed.., it is. The clock surely was bust when we did it in 2020. So what's going on there then?

What a powerful post! As usual! I enjoyed a lot your pictures!

That's a pretty impressive building for an abandoned one; still in pretty decent shape. I'm sure, though, time will put an end to that.

What a cool spot to throw a party at.

Are arseholes like ice holes or not really?

Steined glass is my favorite one. Its fun to watch because of dazzling lumminescence also love the mixture of abstract and geometric details.

Yes, they are always the highlight of a church.

Another remarkable building, and still in decent condition inside - you think it could be put to some kind of use, but the problem with churches in the expensive running costs including the roof work Nice explore though !
!ALIVE

@slobberchops! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @hoosie. (4/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

There's one close to me that the missus used to attend. It's been closed since COVID. It was always cold inside even when heated. In our times today? more will be closing. I should pay it a visit!

Woooo, this place is so amazing. I like the photos

Glad you got out again… great location @slobberchops 😎
The windows are stunning.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

I see something RAMmed in the font? 🤣

I don't think we are on the same wavelength today.

There's a stick of RAM in the font. 🤦‍♂️

You guys see more than me, I see it.


Hey @slobberchops, here is a little bit of BEER from @joanstewart for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.