You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tales of the Urban Explorer: Tilstone House

Wow, what a beautiful old building! And that mahogany china cabinet is drop-dead gorgeous as well.

Those things you asked about on the worktable in the kitchen looked suspiciously like can lights to me, so I looked up the patent number printed on them. Sure enough, they're lights, though they're supposed to be a fire resistant type. Guess they didn't fare too well under real fire conditions, eh?

Did you by any chance get pics of the inside of any of the octagonal turret rooms? Those are my favorite things about Victorian architecture. swoon

Thank you for sharing!

!PIZZA

Sort:  

Part of Tilstone escaped the fire, so it's a two picture story depending on which part are you are.

Did you by any chance get pics of the inside of any of the octagonal turret rooms?

I posted ALL the pics I have so I guess not. It was over a year ago, and the memories are fading a little.

Today's Tilstone could be a lot different, I have seen boarded up respectable houses decimated in just 2 years.

Aye. Once the moisture incursion begins, it doesn't take long at all. Sad story, but, 'tis the way of the world. It's also one of the reasons the places I've visited in the deserts over here are so remarkably well-preserved. Never ceases to amaze me how long something can last (over 100 years in some cases, including wood and fabrics) when there's no precipitation and very dry air.