Someone Damaged My Address Label On The Parcel and Resend To Japan 郵送物の住所ラベル何者かにはがされて日本に送り返されました [English and Japanese]

in Hive JP9 months ago

IMG_2557.jpeg

Someone Damaged My Address Label On The Parcel and Resent It To Japan

I was so disappointed. As I mentioned in the title, my mother sent a parcel from Japan to Canada last month. Shockingly, someone ripped and destroyed my address tag. Despite my attempts to contact the post office, nobody reached out to me. The parcel was eventually sent back to Japan.

This was an odd experience considering the digital registration process. The Canada Post Service Centre lady advised me to monitor the shipment myself. She advised me that after customs clearance, I should’ve contacted them to confirm my address, which had been damaged.

How can I be sure that my address label was damaged either at customs, the airport, or the Canada Post office? This isn't the first time; a previous incident occurred where the sender received a notification that I had rejected the package, even though I hadn't. The sender was rightfully upset.

My mother, too, was disappointed in Japan because she had included many important items for me and my husband. She had prepared extensively.

Upon receiving the returned parcel, she was surprised and sent me a photo of the box. The address and name label had been completely ripped off from the special waterproof plastic envelope. This is puzzling, as the envelope is quite durable. How could it have been damaged so severely?

At the Japan Post office near my mother's house, the chief personally apologized and assured us they would treat this as an incident case. They'll refund the EMS shipping fee once the process is complete. Interestingly, the chief, with over 30 years at Japan Post, admitted he had never encountered such a case before.

I contacted Canada Post again to share this unfortunate outcome. However, their response was that such incidents can occasionally happen. This was surprising to me. I had never heard of a professional worker damaging an address on a parcel and not even replacing the paper in the plastic envelope. Strangely, the box remained unopened; someone just tore off the address paper, causing it to vanish.

I had a simple question: "How did they manage to return it to Japan?" They located my mother's post office but failed to identify my address in Canada, despite the postal code on the box. They could have used the postal code to redirect it.

Over a month passed while we waited and checked our post box multiple times, all without any knowledge that the address had been torn off at customs.

I meticulously verified my address registration with Canada Post this time, and there were no errors. I hope that next time my address label won't be tampered with.

I wish that postal workers would understand that the boxes they handle aren't their property to damage. Customers follow the rules, investing time and effort to send parcels containing important items. I hope they take pride in their important positions and act responsibly, as people eagerly await their packages and letters at home.

IMG_2555.jpeg
The box was returned by Canada Post. The address label was completely torn off from the top left corner. Despite various stickers and information passing through customs, the box remained unopened.

Japanese 日本語
IMG_2557.jpeg

郵送物の住所ラベルが何者かにはがされて、日本に送り返されました。

ガッカリです。先月、母が日本からカナダに荷物を送ってくれました。タイトル通り、驚くことに私の住所ラベルがすべてはがされ消え去りました。郵便局にも連絡しましたが、一度も問い合わせなどの連絡は来ませんでした。そして、日本に送り返されました。

デジタルですべて登録されているはずなのに、こんなことがあるのですね。カナダ郵便局のサービスセンターの女性いわく、自分で追跡ナンバーを逐一チェックして、税関を出たら瞬時にサービスセンターに連絡し、ダメージのあった住所を確認するべきだったと言われました。

税関、空港、またはカナダ郵便局のどこかで自分の住所ラベルが破損されているだなんて、普通誰が察知できるものでしょうか?今回が初めてではありません。前回は私が受け取り拒否をしたと送り主の元へ荷物が送り返されたそうです。一度もそんな連絡は来ていません。送り主は相当怒っていました。

日本の母も落ち込んでいます。私や主人にとって、たくさん大事なものを入れてくれたようです。かなり準備をしてくれたようです。

さて、日本に送り返された荷物ですが、母が驚いて荷物の写真を送ってくれました。防水用の透明のプラスチックの封筒が破られて中に貼り付けてある住所ラベルが完全にありませんでした。おかしいです。こんなに頑丈なプラスチックのラベルがどうやったら破れるのでしょうか。

母の家の近所の日本郵便の局長さんが、母の家を訪れて謝罪をしてくれたそうです。事故として取り扱い、EMSの料金は返金する手続きをとってくださるそうです。その局長さんは勤続30年以上で、こんなことが起こったのは初めてのケースだと言っていたようです。

私はもう一度カナダ郵便局に連絡し、状況を報告しました。ところが、センターの女性は、そういうのはよくあることだと言いました。よくあること?とはびっくりです。プロの職員が荷物の住所ラベルを破壊して、確認した住所の紙を荷物に戻さないことなんて聞いたことがありません。おかしなことに、荷物は開封されていませんでした。

単純な疑問なのですが、いったいどうやって日本に戻せたのでしょうか?箱の情報で母が送った郵便局の名前がわかったとのことでしたが、カナダでの郵便番号がわかっているのに、なぜ国内に送らずにわざわざ日本へ送り返したのでしょうか。

1ヶ月以上も待ち、配達知らせがこないかどうかポストを何度もチェックしたり、追跡番号を見たり、郵便局にも確認をしていました。まさか税関で住所ラベルがはがされていたとは知らずに。

今回は住所がきちんと登録されているか再確認しましたが、住所登録には全く問題がありませんでした。次回は住所ラベルが破壊されないことを願います。

荷物は、担当された職員の方の所有物ではないですし、勝手に破壊していいものではないことを理解してほしいです。ほとんどの送り主は税関の決まりにきちんと従って、時間を費やし努力をして荷物を送っていることをきちんとわかってほしいです。家で荷物や手紙を待っている人たちに届ける大事な任務に、プライドと責任を持ってほしいです。

IMG_2555.jpeg
これがカナダ郵便局から戻された荷物です。住所ラベルが完全にはがされて消えています。箱にはたくさんのラベルや税関通過のシールがはってあります。

IMG_0997.jpeg
https://koto-art.wixsite.com/mysite-1

Sort:  

Wow. That’s strange. It’s hard to imagine anything other than that somebody tore the label off intentionally. But why would someone do something like that?

Yeah…, I don’t know why they ripped off my address like this. No meaning! They will have issues as well.

Japan Post was very kind to solve this issue for my mother in Japan though.

「よくあること」で済まされるなんて… 悲しいし、がっかりだし、腹が立ちますね。この記事を読むと、日本の郵便局はしっかりしているのかなと思ってしまいましたが、それが当然の対応だと思います。
なぜこのようなことがおこったのか、調査と報告までしてもらいたいですよね。。

ありがとうございます。読んでもらえて共感してもらえただけで、楽になります〜☺️

まったくもう!ですよね。笑
そうなんです。日本の郵便局が神対応に見えますが、実は保険も加入していますし、当然なのですよね。でも、言葉や態度って大事だと改めて思います。

被害を起こした方が、送り先の日本にやってもらって当然みたいな態度だったのがムカッとしました。謝らないし、改善する気もない。よくあることなのよ〜で仕事ができちゃうところが大きな疑問です。母がいちばんかわいそうなので、切ないと思います。次は届くまで目を光らせて電話をしなければならないだなんて、EMSにしている意味がないですよね。やれやれ〜。