Three things can be learned from last night's BBN horror show.

in Speak Peace2 years ago

image.png
Source

The depressing memory of Hermes' surprise elimination from the game on yesterday night's eviction episode has been difficult to get rid of.

In a way, I feel personally accountable, and it's times like this when I find the Big Brother Show fascinating. There is something to be learned about life, living, and people even from seemingly little events.

Here are the three challenging lessons I chose from last night.

#1 - Assumption is deadly! Never assume.

You make an ass out of you and me when you assume. Despite often reading these words, we continue to assume incorrectly. That's what occurred last week to me (and a lot of other people). I opted to vote for someone else because I believed Hermes had a large following. In the end, Hermes is kicked out because I was mistaken.

#2 - Don't completely ignore the big picture in your quest for instant gratification. You'll drop both.

Since week 4, I have determined that Hermes and Adekunle are my two favorite housemates. Hermes was my favorite to win, but I wanted Adekunle to place in the top 5. They were both up the previous week, and I figured Hermes was strong enough, so I concentrated all of my votes on Adekunle to bring him into the top 5 (and embarrass Sheggz in particular), so this week can be focused entirely on sending Hermes to the finish line. In the end, it turned out that my calculations were inaccurate. I lost sight of the bigger picture while trying to outwit Sheggz for a week. When Hermes was kicked out, my joy at Adekunle's victory and Sheggz's departure disappeared!

#3 - Setbacks are not a permanent tattoo; they are transient happenings.

The good news and main takeaway from this incident is that Hermes has just suffered a setback. That person is too talented to remain unnoticed. Even though he didn't win, he is still a superstar. I recognize in him the brilliance and work ethic of individuals like Elozonam, Tobi, and Ebuka. All three of them lost the competition, but they are currently succeeding tremendously. I shall be present to see all of Hermes' great deeds, and I'm sure they will be great.

I'd like to wish luck to whoever wins on Sunday, but in my opinion Hermes is the real victor.


How does this manifest itself for us in the world of today?

#1 - You should never assume that your 2023 candidate is a lock. Put in the required effort. Grab some PVC. Be a voice for those you can. Vote in person.

#2 - The 2023 elections will determine more than who will be President. Show interest in the Senate and House of Representatives candidates, the Governor, and the person who will chair your Local Government. Each of these roles has an impact on the overall picture. Maintain your attention!

#3 - We must maintain faith if events don't go as planned and our candidate loses. We attempt again. But most significantly, we have to start by paving the way for Nigeria's development.

Have a fantastic week and luck to everyone.

Sort:  

I don't follow BBN but the way you contrast and compare it to today's world is really fascinating. I found myself enthralled by it all. Even feeling bad for the person in question. Hehe. Thank you for posting in the HiveNaija Community

Thank you very much for reading...the eviction really got to me and in the moment of brooding on it, the comparison came about.

I Already said he would be the winner 🏆🙏 of the show I never saw the eviction coming but all the Best for him 🙏.
This is how things also concerns us in our Lives Assuming can sometimes go wrong .
Thanks for sharing

Same here...we can only wish others the very best.

Indeed 🙏

At first I didn't like Hermes because of his scary look...
But I couldn't help to like his personality.

Was sad when he got evicted

I believe there's a lot for him in the real world...