My journey into the crypto world.

in Speak Peace3 years ago

Hello Hive Nigeria.

So um, i saw this post made by @hive-naija where he encouraged everyone interested to make a video or write on the topic ''my experencie" so i decided to jump on it with this entry.

INTRODUCTION

'Change is the only constant thing in this world'. My father had told me this when i was a boy. Now i have grown up to become a man and i have found that statement to be the absolute truth. We live in a world where things are constantly changing and they're changing fast. Man is constantly looking for ways to make life easier and faster, therefore the constant effort into inventing new things.

Even the way we see money has evolved. Who would have believed that a thousand years ago we used the trade by barter system where a man had to probably walk thousands of miles to exchange yam for bread. Now from the comfort of my home i can purchase a product from Italy and have them delivered to my door step.
Man has moved from trade by barter system to paper money and now cryptocurriencies are the new rave in town and everyone is talking about it.

What are Cryptocurriencies

images (14).jpeg

Source

cryptocurrency is a digital or virtual currency that is secured by cryptography, which makes it nearly impossible to counterfeit or double-spend. Many cryptocurrencies are decentralized networks based on blockchain technology—a distributed ledger enforced by a disparate network of computers. A defining feature of cryptocurrencies is that they are generally not issued by any central authority, rendering them theoretically immune to government interference or manipulation.

In a more simpler term cryto currency are digital money that exists only eletronically.

MY OVERALL EXPERENCIE IN THE CRYPTO SPACE

I would like to think my experience in the crypto space has been in stages. i went from been a naive teenager who just wanted to be rich by mining bitcoins on some fake website to becoming a Crypto guru and expert, though I'm still learning.

But actually, i first got to know about Bitcoin through a friend of mine in 2016 during my first year in the university. My friend introduced me to a website where we could mine Bitcoins. We loved the idea of becoming rich by clicking a button on our phone so we did it with our whole heart punching the calculator and calculating our millions of naira. I got to find out later that the bitcoin mining website was a huge scam and a big waste of time how heart broken i felt then.

The second phase of my journey into the Crypto world was during the lockdown. A couple of then big brother Naija house mates where discussing about Bitcoins and Ethereum and how much potential it had in changing the narrative of the monetary system. They did a task on this app known as 'Luno'. Alarmed with this piece of information i decided to do my own research.

images.png

Source

After a quick research, i found that the 'Luno' app serves as an exchange and also a wallet, and that i could easily purchase coins from them using my ATM card.

That night i created my first ever Crypto wallet and account with 'Luno', stole my Mums Atm card and bought a coin known as Ripple(XRP) the price as of then was 80naira per one.

Currently, the worth of my one Xrp more than a dollar plus, and analysist belives that the price could tripple in a few years to come. So I'm really glad i took the risk.

XRP.jpg

Source

Currently there is a ban on crypto currencies by the Nigerian government but that has not in any way hindered my progress. I have continued to learn and educate myself more on crypto i have also learnt to buy and hold coins like Ethereum, XRP, litecoin, shiba inu and lot's more. I have also teamed up with a couple of my friends who together we're looking forward to building ourselves out of financial obscurity by learning how to trade crypto.

Sort:  

This ban is just nonsense and can't stop the progress. Comman guru me sensei...lol

True. When one door closes another will surely open.

Congratulations @kingkenny44! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 400 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

😂 You took mummy's Atm card to purchase a coin on luno? Now that was a really big risk and I'm glad it paid off for you... Did mum later found out about it or you both shared the outcome reward? 🙄😂

Thinking how the world is changing thanks to crypto is really amazing, I never imagined but I keep being grateful for everything.

The ban in Nigeria is for their own headache 😏🤨 we mueve...

She owns a master card, while i own a verve card. And in the app you can only use a master card so i bought the coin and transfered back the money to her and deleted the whole transcation history.

Oh great, I understand now
It was a great experience all the same. Thanks for sharing 🙂

Thanks. I appreciate.

Nice post my brother ✔✔