You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hive-Naija Weekend Engagement #38 - "Paradigm Shift"

in Speak Peace • 2 years ago

I'm a big advocate of a better Nigeria but I'm a bigger advocate of the japa sect😂.

As trivial as this may sound, I believe Nigeria can be a better place right from correcting the little things we do wrong, similar to what @blackavalon explained.

I make it a point never to dispose my waste anyhow. Even to the littlest water sachet or biscuits nylon or whatever. Many people around me think it's excessive but really, I find it barbaric. I especially hate it when people dispose stuff from a moving vehicle. Now they're no longer just throwing nylon and food remnants, some people now legit take their household waste to dump on their way out. It's uncool.

I don't want to japa tomorrow and go and embarrass myself and my family (in fact, my country at large) by throwing a nylon in the wrong place, make one oyinbo come dey follow me yarn nonsense 😂.

Gradually, people around me are starting to behave the same because when I insist they don't, they eventually get used to it. I even offer to keep it till I sight a waste bin.

Also, relieving yourself in an open place, oh my, I hate this very much 😂. These things are just basic moralities. Things we should imbibe in our personal lives. They don't just help the country, they reflect in our personalities and even globally because pollution is a global thingy, it's aggregating.

Sort:  

Wow, I love how you are doing things differently in the aspect of keeping your environment clean. While reading through this an idea just came to my mind when you talked about waiting till you see a waste bin before throwing away your dirt. I think we can supply waste bin in some places where people pass so they can dump their refuge, just thinking out loud.

Thank you so much for contributing in such a beautiful way to our beloved country, I think that's something we all can do to bring about change.