Book Review: Efuru

in Speak Peace4 years ago

🇳🇬 Book~Review 🇳🇬⁣
IMG_20200727_152712_317.jpg

Efuru is a book that reminds of the good old days of listening to good stories and reads, in traditional settings (sorry I'm sounding like someone in his 40s, but I feel that way 😹).⁣

The themes, cut across Motherhood, culture and tradition, female circumcision, marriage, patriarchy, gender roles, sexism, colonialism, ignorance, human behavioral and religion.⁣

On the aspect of religion, it reminds me of the conversation I had with my dad on the aspect of how crime was minimal back in the olden days due to the fear and anger of their deity. And to be frank, I wish that fully exist in this Abrahamic religion era.⁣

This read, reminds me of the issue I have with churches organizing programs and crusade for women, forgetting it's not all about them (impotent men are there too), we don't get to see that regularly.⁣

PicsArt_072712.44.42.jpg

📖⁣
From the foeward, it was written that Flora Nwapa did not subscribe to the Western label of feminism.⁣
And one of the reason am happy to read this female African literature was because, it was published at the period in which male African lit was dominated.⁣

🦋Efuru gave a beautiful representation, that been a woman is more than just getting married and housing babies.⁣

Ratings;⁣
4 🌟 was it but the ending made it 3.5 🌟.⁣

📖⁣
📖⁣
Efuru by Flora Nwapa is the book of the month for Indulgentbibliophile bookckub.⁣

Photos Edited By Me