What I love the most about being Nigerian

Honestly, I have this opinion that a lot of Nigerians love being Nigerian. We're really an interesting sort. The world knows this.

Nigerian artists; musicians and the lot are some of the best around the world. Our dance steps are also known to be one of the most exciting. Nigerians prosper globally in a variety of fields, we're knowledgeable and I guess our environment helps us build a kind of tenacity that most parts of the world are yet to experience.

k_Edit_endsars2.jpg

Nigerian food is amazing in comparison to other cultures. While we may not be able to boast of a vast variety of dishes made from our local farms, our food has a unique taste in comparison to other parts of the world. And I say this with confidence because I have some experience.

Then, we have African skin and African hair. This is one general aspect about us that really ought to get the rest of the world envious. Our skin is easily adaptable to different climates.

I have this joke I tell about how I have beautiful skin already, however, when I leave the country, my skin gets prettier. The same goes for my tough African Virgin hair. The humidity of our environment sometimes limits the growth of our hair. Yet, even with this, we're still able to grow beautiful hair.

Being exposed to a different environment and climate usually just helps our hair grow better and to its best potential.

Then, we have tradition. This is also an aspect that catches the attention of many foreigners. We have a variety of traditions. I find it funny when I hear foreigners discuss our country because really, they don't even know half of it.

There are so many ancient traditions today that even we don't even know. There's so much art, so many languages and so many distinct dressing patterns.

These are general things to love about Nigeria. Getting into society would introduce you to a few norms that you probably can't get anywhere else. I'm talking about our unique personalities, our funny slang and our daily habits.

What I love the most about being Nigerian

While there's a lot to love about being Nigerian, what I love the most is what we call our "VIBE". There's so much energy in us that our country can never contain.

endsars-protest-43-autojosh.jpg

We have this ability to turn a sad situation into a party. It's like going to a funeral to enjoy a hot plate of jollof rice.

I think I officially fell in love with the Nigerian vibe during the #endsars protests last year. There was the cause being fought for but during the process, there was just so much to enjoy during the protest.

My favourite vibe had to be the time where a major expressway was blocked and a group of protesters started cooking in the middle of the road. You can't see such amusing behaviour anywhere else but here. To me, it's the best part about being Nigerian.

endsars-cooking.png

There's this vibe that just comes with connecting with the people around you. I fear I might not be able to get this anywhere else. This understanding.

Asides from the different television show the majority of Nigerian youth watched while growing up, there's also a lot of similarity in the way our parents raised us. Every Nigerian of a certain age has one similarity in terms of what their parents would always say or what their siblings did or a game that was played or something.

It's the most amusing and connecting factor about being Nigerian. I have this fear of being unable to relate properly with foreigners whenever I finally leave the country. However, it's a fear I'm willing to face.

Asides from the dying state of most Nigerian systems, Nigeria would have been an amazing place to remain. There's a lot of potential in many people, that's why we record positive progress when we become a part of some other sane society.

However, if you can make it in Nigeria, you can make it anywhere else.


Check out my Freelance Gigs

Contact and Support:

Sort:  

Congratulations @young-boss-karin! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 20000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 25000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the September 1st Hive Power Up Day
Introducing the Hive Power Up Month - Let's grow every day!

Yeaaaaah,we got the vibessssss,no dull moment with us. I like the part where you said "we have the ability to turn a bad situation into a party".That's true in every sense.
Proudly Nigerian!