Hive Open Mic #127 - I'll stand by you (The Pretenders)

in Hive Open Mic2 years ago

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Being there for others when they are in need of help is a form of humbleness, being able to show empathy, to offer a hand and advice if needed. Most of the time all it takes is listening, a skill that many have lost in our busy world where a lot of people are mostly concerned with moving on in life.

The song I'll stand by you by The Pretenders is simply a beautiful song, first released in 1994. It has a powerful message sung with an equally powerful voice as expected by Chrissie Hynde.

This is a fairly new addition to my repertoire and I still have to work out the little instrumental bit.

I humbly hope, that I do it justice. Thanks for listening!

Lyrics

Oh, why you look so sad?
Tears are in your eyes
Come on and come to me now
Don't be ashamed to cry
Let me see you through
'cause I've seen the dark side too
When the night falls on you
You don't know what to do
Nothing you confess
Could make me love you less

I'll stand by you
I'll stand by you
Won't let nobody hurt you
I'll stand by you

So if you're mad, get mad
Don't hold it all inside
Come on and talk to me now
Hey, what you got to hide?
I get angry too
Well I'm a lot like you
When you're standing at the crossroads
And don't know which path to choose
Let me come along
'cause even if you're wrong

I'll stand by you
I'll stand by you
Won't let nobody hurt you
I'll stand by you
Take me in, into your darkest hour
And I'll never desert you
I'll stand by you

And when...
When the night falls on you, baby
You're feeling all alone
You won't be on your own

I'll stand by you
I'll stand by you
Won't let nobody hurt you

I'll stand by you
Take me in, into your darkest hour
And I'll never desert you
I'll stand by you
I'll stand by you
Won't let nobody hurt you
I'll stand by you
Won't let nobody hurt you
I'll stand by you
Source


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Hi @anna-newkey,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Simply beautiful. I love everything about this. 🥰😍❤️

Oh, thank you so much!!
I love this song! It's so intense!
Glad, that you like it!

This song is really beautiful and expressive in the interpretation.

Thank you so much!
That coming from the man who is the most expressive of all! haha
So glad you like it, my friend!

Hermosa presentación amiga, me encantó , tocas y cantas muy bien 🥰

Thank you so much!
I'm still waiting for your own entry.. :)

Anke 😍

Oh, what a great song! I am really enjoying the choices you make for the hive open mic entries! 👏

8DAuGnTQCLptZgjHUrRAJGcW4y1D4A5QVJJ7zjzqqKdfVHSS6NapSCC6bvUjhMGdKnEbbkETmG3bm2b97QQsMXNmkqicP7WhF24WxD5LhagPSStWBYCZsKaFx6GVj83MwvKZ5z4xdLei6uK99Kx9W1vPXE6QcV57NehrY5RQ9ie.png

Ah, thank you so much!
I'm feeling a little short of time lately..
I do hope this will improve soon.. haha
Hope, you're doing well!

Another fantastic song for you Anke. A great choice for this week. That tricky little key change was nicely executed. I thought the instrumental bit was good actually. No need to do anything else with it.

Aah, thank you, Barbara!
It doesn't need it? Cool, I'll carry on trying though.. haha
See you tomorrow! :)

I'm totally impressed by this beautiful presentation, but I did enjoy the guitar lines more because it seems like you are feeling a bit tired and it did kind of affected your voice but over all the song is beautiful.

Wow, you can hear that? I have been tired lately indeed..
Too much going on right now, but I couldn't match your own beautiful voice anyhow, no matter how hard I try.. ;)
Glad you like it anyhow.. haha

Yes I heard it and I could understand how hard it must have been for you. I really hope everything gets better Anna.

I do not think I'm much of a good singer as you put it, I'm only learning to sing and I just love singing, that's all.

I loved your performance, it was really beautiful like I said before, you are really creative musician and I can see you have so many types of guitar, that's really nice.

You have, and a great expressive nature to go along with it! :)

That's really so sweet and encouraging of you to say Anna, I'm honored 🙏🙌.

Thank you my dear friend for your beautiful music and your valuable participation this week. I wish you a week full of music.👏👏👏

Thank you so much!
I love the theme! :)

Pues sí, le hace justicia.
Te quedo muy pero muy bonita

¡Oh, qué maravilloso!
¡Gracias, eso me hace feliz!

Hello mother, The song you sing is very good and melodious. Introducing, I am Theophilus. I'm new here and I like your post.

Beautifully sung and played. You always bring brilliant songs each week. It's a real pleasure to see your entries. 👏👏👏

Thank you so very much, Rosana!!

Bella canción,amiga @anna-newkey, hermosa presentación, cantada con mucho sentimiento. Me gusta mucho tu manera de tocar la guitarra. Un placer siempre pasar por tus posts. Mil bendiciones.

Beautiful song, friend @anna-newkey, beautiful presentation, sung with a lot of feeling. I really like your way of playing the guitar. Always a pleasure to go through your publications. A thousand blessings.

Thank you, my friend!
It's a treasure of a song and I was in the moment! :)
Lovely that you gave it a listen!!

This song was my first dance with my wife in my wedding party! You make me go back to this day! Thanks 🙏

Oh, wow, that's amazing!
Yes, it makes a great choice for a wedding dance..
How wonderful!

Congratulations @anna-newkey! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 1000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 2000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Balls of Steel - HiveFest⁷ Petanque Tournament Results
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!