You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hive Open Mic 120th Week - Bir Derdim Var (I have a Problem) - Cover by @veliozdemiroglu

in Hive Open Mic2 years ago

Another great video, my friend. There something mystic about this kind of music. It lays between the lyrics and the sound. I wouldn't know if it's an Arabic thing since I remember that kind of music has this fixed harmonies with lots of quarter tones where all the music is made. It isn't so different from our traditional music which uses equal temperament and fixed forms to let musicians improvise.

The lyrics carry great value and I also feel identified with the dies of being happy while playing my instrument. Music is very dear to me and it for sure makes me happy whether I'm the one making it or just listening to it.

Sort:  

Hi @bertrayo. To be honest, I don't know Arabic music very well either. On the other hand, it is a fact that too many quarter tones are used in Turkish music.

By the way, this comment was one of the best comments I've ever received here. I felt that you are a quality listener with a very strong sense. Music unites us. I am so happy.

Thank you @veliozdemiroglu

It was just something that cane to mind with the references that I have. There's a lot of similarities between some types of music. Turkish music is a while new world for my ears, but I know a bit of Arabic music because I love the sound of the Oud. It seems these two types are connected in some way.

I agree, you're right @bertrayo