🎵 “Ancient Spirit of the Desert” (Original) - Live Music for Hive Open Mic 56

in Hive Open Mic3 years ago

Hive Open Mic ( #openmic ) is a global community celebrating live music on Hive. Each week is a new event, encouraging musicians to share songs with an international audience.


Cabe-Lindsay-Hive-Open-Mic-56f.jpg

Some of you know I'm learning to use a looping station, and so these songs I carry are taking some exciting new shapes. I'm happy with the way this one sounds, with some subtle percussion elements in a maraca and hoop drum, plus some reverb and enhanced vocals.

This song runs with our Hive Open Mic theme: "Quiet Desert," recalling the experience of being in that landscape and experiencing the mystical, mysterious nature of it. I want to dedicate it to my friend and fellow musician @rezasofyan, who is a brother to me.


Ancient Spirit of the Desert

A song about divine alignment

Ancient spirit of the desert
Return us to the canyon
Where we walk with our ancestors
Appearing in the stone

You who saw the waterfall
Carve the marble walls
You who heard the stories told
Two thousand years ago

Ancient spirit of the desert
Return us to the stars
Where we find Orion
Centered in the sky

You who saw the constellations
Spinning into place
You who heard the first percussion
Fill the open space

Ancient spirit of the desert
Return us to the tipi
Where we sing as a battalion
Around a sacred fire

You who saw White Buffalo Woman
Carry her canupa
You who heard Santa Maria
Serenade her children

Ancient spirit of the desert
Return us to the inipi
Where we sit with the Creator
Around the lava stones

You who saw us turn to jewels
Remind us of our colors
You who heard us harmonize
Remind us to return

Hive-Open-Mic-56c.png


Acknowledgements

Hive-Open-Mic-56b.png

Hive Open Mic - Week 56 is underway right now, with the current theme: “Quiet Desert.” We introduce new themes every Sunday, inviting musicians to share a common current. Musicians always have full freedom to bring whatever music feels inspired in the moment. There is still time to jump in and enjoy this week's Hive Open Mic event!

💛

Enjoy Live Music? Subscribe to Hive Open Mic.

🌟


About Me

I am a star child, ultra-fly and down-to-earth. I am an artist, making films with Arise and songs with Cosmic Butterflies. My latest completion is a Rock album called "Colors Flying," to be released this Spring. My greatest achievement is my role as a rad daddy to three incredible kids.

Sort:  

Brother @cabelindsay, It's an honor to know that the song is dedicated to me. I feel your great spirit through the song. The way you compose it also amaze me a lot. Listen to the free music you bring here is an unbelievable experience for me. Hope you always have a good time in every occasion. A 🤗!!!

Actually, my song was really out of theme this week. We have no desert here. In tropical country and consis of many islands, my land is mostly cover by water of the sea..🤭🤭. You know, when I listen to your song here, it just flash me back to my childhood while I bloody love to watch Indian movie. I think they are special indeed. Sorry if I go too far...😁

Thanks for feeling the spirit through the song. I'm really glad for our brotherhood. Here in Texas, we have a vast desert space where I go sometimes with some other brothers, and we sing songs and basically just try our best to survive the harshness of the elements. Brutal winds, hot sun, dry earth... I definitely find more enjoyment in the tropical island scene you're describing, and yet the desert setting is just the reset I need sometimes.

Suppose you gonna be here one day...🤗🤗🤗

Good work boss @cabelindsay. The song is full of life... Full of inspiration. I hope for more of you boss

Thank you for seeing the life in this song, brother. I'm glad I could carry the torch of inspiration - that same torch you often hold for me.

Great instrumentation mate. First time we're crossing paths here on Hive. Appreciate what you do!

Oh fun, thanks for saying hi. It's a pleasure to meet you this way.

I love your voice, delighting in it is one of the most rewarding things about this platform. The way you mix the sounds, it's not just coincidence. Thanks for this, a real gem.

Aw, your delight is such a joy to witness. Thank you for sharing it with me, through your comment here, through your sisterhood, and through the songs you offer to all of us.

Wao excellent song, I love the energy of your interpretation. Congratulations

Happy to hear from you, thanks a lot.

Me gusta mucho tu forma de interpretar...tienes un gran timbre de voz. Felicidades amigo

English: Very much appreciate your compliments about my voice, brother. I'm working on it, and seeing improvement all the time. Means a lot to me, coming from such a wonderful singer.

Spanish: Aprecio mucho tus cumplidos por mi voz, hermano. Estoy trabajando en ello y veo mejoras todo el tiempo. Significa mucho para mí, viniendo de una cantante tan maravillosa.

I really enjoyed this song. With the whistling and the cadence of the melody it kind of turned into an earworm and now it’s stuck repeating in my head, uplifting my mood. Great job.

Hopefully it's a pleasant repetition in your ear. I know how sticky some songs can be. Thanks brother, I appreciate you.

Hey bro. Good to hear from you again.
I really like how you did to put everything together.
I'm heading down that path and it's fun how creativity flows.

regards!.