🎵 Hive Open Mic 46 - “Ho'oponopono” - A Study In Forgiveness

in Hive Open Mic3 years ago

Hive Open Mic ( #openmic ) is a global community celebrating live music on Hive. Each week is a new event, inviting creative expression and genuine connection.


Hive Open Mic - Highlights

Week 46: February 21 - 27, 2021

Just the two of us at Kate's country home, while the kids are with friends

Something mystical is happening in my life. I started a practice of pre-forgiveness, inspired by a book called The Disappearance of the Universe, written by Gary Renard. Interestingly, this book arrived in my mailbox without any note to tell me who sent it. Then I got trapped in my car for a few days when an ice storm froze and flooded my home, and so I did a lot of reading.

What is pre-forgiveness? It's an attitude of freely forgiving everything and everyone, even before any feeling of wrong-doing. I believe I'm creating a default pattern of forgiveness that will guide my re-actions to various life events. Mostly, I am forgiving myself. In fact, only in my ego-centered worldview do I even see anyone else's error. Seeing errors in others is really an opportunity to heal the errors in myself. So I forgive myself.

I forgive myself if this sounds flippant, or arrogant, or errant. I'm new at this study, and I forgive myself for the part of me that doesn't fully understand it, and doesn't exactly know how to explain it, and doesn't really need to know. I'm doing it anyway, because it feels inspired, and I forgive myself.

This simple fireplace is a steady source of comfort

These past few weeks were unbelievable. I lost electricity for four days in an ice storm. I lost my home to a flood and lived in a car, stuck in a parking lot. And so much more! And it was perfect timing for a study in forgiveness. I could speak on this for hours, because it feels profound to me, but instead I will summarize by saying: Forgiveness is freedom.

In perfect parallel to this, I've had the pleasure of spending this past week in the countryside, with the woman I walk with: Kate, who joins me here for a song. She and I have been married nine years, and our tribe of five includes the three coolest kids I've ever met. Kate and I separated several months ago, and this week's time together is our first big attempt at reconciliation. Whatever happens next, it feels clear that we will always be closely connected.

Kate's home is filled with beauty

The song we're sharing here is called Ho'oponopono. According to Wikipedia, Ho'oponopono is a Hawaiian practice of reconciliation and forgiveness. Similar traditions are found in islands of the South Pacific including Samoa, Tahiti, and New Zealand. I've searched many times for the origin of the song's melody and words, and I believe it is ancient. There are countless variations. The way I currently sing it is one traditional way, of many. Our kids originally introduced this song to us.

In the way I learned this song, it is ideal to repeat the pattern 10 times. I often lose track, although I usually do intend to complete the whole decade, which feels like a full circle. These are the words we say: "I embrace you. I love you. Please forgive me. I thank you." These sentiments are all encompassed in the expression: "Ho'oponopono."

HiveOpenMic46d.png


Acknowledgements

HiveOpenMic46b.png

Hive Open Mic - Week 46 is underway now.
This week's invitation is: “Forgiveness.”


🎵

Hive Open Mic - Status Report

Cherishing Our Growing Community

Hopefully everyone had a chance to see the awesome Hive Open Mic 45 - "LOVE" Highlights that @mipiano curated for our community. I asked her to help with this, because our community is growing quickly, and I just wanted to make sure every musician had a chance to be heard and honored. And then, when I encountered a natural disaster, she stepped right up and kept our community alive by being the voice of genuine connection. Bravo!

My offering here is a brief addition to her curated list, highlighting this great week in Hive Open Mic history. The perfect theme: “Love”, was chosen by Spotlight Artist @edwardstobia.


🌟

Spotlight

Love Me Again (Cover) by @mipiano


View the Original Post

In my opinion, the 45th week's Spotlight Artist is @mipiano. Not only did she support our community amazingly well as a listener and curator, she also demonstrated awe-inspiring artistry. She gives a powerful performance here. Check out the part at 0:53, when she strikes these rapidly descending notes—brilliant. Her entire body is rocking as she plays, gracefully pounding the piano keys like a velvet hammer. I cherish the goodness in this. Song by John Newman


More Highlights

Amor Robado / Stolen Love (Cover) by @armandolnrs


View the Original Post

This man's mighty voice sounds like a gentle giant, powerful and beautiful. Hearing him, I witness total composure, through his dynamic range of softness to loudness, with finesse, firmness, and flexibility. I call that: Firmeza! Music composed by Esteban Taronji.


Excess Love (Cover) by @holuseyi


View the Original Post

Goodness, this song is delightful to me. The way this artist sings it gives me a warm fuzzy feeling inside. I feel there is heart-soothing medicine in her music. This is her first live music entry in our Hive Open Mic community, so I hope everyone will join me in welcoming @holuseyi. I'm so glad she's here. Music composed by Mercy Chinwo.


Melon Melocotón by @palimanali


View the Original Post

Music and movement and motorcycle... mmm. Superb! I enjoy this pleasantly playful entry, full of energy. Even though these two friends are new to me, I believe they embody many facets of the divine diamond that is love. Their various angles of love are clear to see, and I'm grateful to witness it in this way.


HiveOpenMic45d.png

Enjoy Live Music? Subscribe to Hive Open Mic.

Sort:  

You are such a beautiful couple thanks for sharing these moments of joy

Aw, it's a pleasure sharing, and thank you for your sweet words.

I am listening to this with tears in my eyes. From the very beginning, from the first sound that the guitar announced the song. And your voices just made my eyes full of tears.. The chirping of birds, fire in the fireplace, the dog, ho'oponopono, "I embrace you. I love you. Please forgive me. I thank you."... some other dimension is present here. The hug in the end made the tears rolled down my cheek.

I can not come back to reality. But I have to. Thank you for the spotlight :) and again for appreciating me.

You said in your text "forgive myself" This is my thought as well, forgiving myself. We all have to learn it.
If someone hurts us, and asks for forgiveness....there is a process and we forgive.
If someone hurts us, and doesn't ask for forgiveness... there is a bit longer process and we forgive.
If we hurt (unconsciously) ourselves... we forget to forgive ourself. But we can not move and live in joy if not. this is the first step of healing...

Thank you again for this amazing song you and Kate are amazing, you two opened your soul here for each other and for us. I see just love, forgiveness and deep deep connection. 💗

Happy tears are such a delight. Thank you for witnessing two hearts connecting in a good way, expressing a song together. Thank you for your wonderful words.

Ooh, and will you please choose the Hive Open Mic theme for week 48?

You are welcome Cabe, it was an experience to listen to this 💙

Yes 😇, let me think just a little bit, and I want to check the previous ones before I joined to #hiveopenmic, not to repeat :)

Thank you! Good idea to try for something fresh. Here's the full list of our former themes. Weeks 1-20: Sweeter Than Honey, Golden Sun, Open Path, Song of the Sea, Hum, Rainbow Warrior, Ultimate Freedom, Infinity, Wake Up, Slow Down, Ask, New World, Awe Inspiring, Fire Starter, Key Of C, Dream On, Reach Out, Signs, Four Directions, and Smell the Roses.

Weeks 21-47: Unity, Death, Spirit, Rebirth, Family, Guardian Angel, Who, I Am, Yum, Truth, As Above So Below, Starlight, Moonrise, Hands On, Looking Up, Evergreen, Divine Alignment, Solo, Drop, Hold On, Go, Soar, Purr, Four, Love, Forgiveness, Faith.

I wrote down my possible topic in discord message. Let me know if you don't see it, so I will write it here :)

Muy buena referencia en la nueva ocasión. Felicidades y feñicitaciones. Que Dios les siga bendiciendo.

English: Yes! Feeling so very blessed, brother.

Spanish: ¡Sí! Me siento tan bendecido, hermano.

Without a doubt, we were born to improve and forgive ourselves and forgive others for mistakes and for every opportunity we have lost, a lot of peace for you, and may everything be better in your life. Thank you for this you give us today.

Yes, absolutely. Well said. Thank you for sharing the energetic wave of forgiveness, and enjoying the peace and gratitude and freedom that come with that action.

Like a year or two years ago, i was introduced to this practice by someone i met on the street, while i was having particularly difficult times, difficult days, i use to think of this woman like an angel put by god on my way to show me this valuable knowledge, in the moment i needed it the most. It is indeed a beautiful practice, tradition and i can feel once again universal, endless connection of love here with both of you singing, it's really nice that both of you decided to embrace this practice and sang this together, made me very emotional as i'm walking a healing process myself. The words in spanish for "ho'oponopono" mantra are: I am sorry, forgive me, i love you, thank you! :) greetings cabe! a big hug for you brother, keep sharing that beautiful energy you always transmit!

Hace como uno o dos años, alguien que conocí en la calle me presentó esta práctica, mientras estaba pasando por momentos particularmente difíciles, días difíciles, solía pensar en esta mujer como un ángel puesto por dios en mi camino a mostrarme este valioso conocimiento, en el momento en que más lo necesitaba. De hecho, es una práctica hermosa, una tradición y puedo sentir una vez más una conexión universal e infinita de amor aquí con ustedes dos cantando, es realmente bueno que ambos decidieran abrazar esta práctica y cantar esto juntos, me emocionó mucho cuando Yo mismo estoy siguiendo un proceso de curación. Las palabras en español para el mantra "ho'oponopono" son: Lo siento mucho, perdóname, te amo, gracias! :) saludos cabe! un gran abrazo para ti hermano, sigue compartiendo esa hermosa energía que siempre transmites!