🎵 Hive Open Mic Week 39 - “In The Now” (Original Song)

in Hive Open Mic3 years ago

Hive Open Mic ( #openmic ) is a global community of music lovers, for music fans and musicians. Each week is a live music invitation for expression and connection.


HiveOpenMic39CabeLindsay2.jpg

This is my first medicine song. I say that because it is like medicine to me, helping me to feel healthy and well in my heart and mind. It came to me as a remedy for a sad state of mind, at a time when I was feeling lost and alone. I discovered that I was worrying for the future, and suffering for the past, and the natural cure was the presence - holding my attention in the present moment.

"The gift of the present" is here, now. That means I'm bringing my awareness inward, where there are myriad miracles happening at every moment. My lungs are breathing. My heart is beating. My blood is pumping. My brain is delivering the right message at the right time. Something divine is caring for me all the time. Now I know I'm not alone. Here I see I am held in a loving embrace.

Thinking back to the origin of this song, it was 2002. I moved to Las Vegas to try to start my career in advertising, fresh out of college, and I couldn't find a job. I loved a girl in Montana, and I thought I might not ever see her again. All I had going for me was a cousin who opened her home to me, and a guitar to accompany me. This song was my expression and connection, the way to harmony.


In The Now

A song in Drop-D tuning, for this week's "Drop" theme

I've been waiting for the moonlight
To flicker out of sight and a new moon to come
I've been looking for a new sun
To replace the old one
I've been listening for a new song
So I can sing along
I've been living for the future

I'm in the now now
This music that I hear is coming from me
And I'm singing because I'm satisfied with the now now
I'm in the now now

There was a time when
I used to wonder who I will become
Now that I am him
I'm still wondering
I used to wonder if it was too late
To start over again
I was living in the past then

I'm in the now now...

Now I'm not going far or near
I'm staying right here
I'm not going back or forward
I'm going up
Now I'm living for the moment
In the present
I'm in the now now

I'm in the now now...

HiveOpenMic39c.png


Acknowledgements

HiveOpenMic39b.png

Hive Open Mic - Week 39 is underway right now, with the current theme: “Drop.” We introduce new themes every Sunday, encouraging us to share a common ground with the community. Musicians always have full freedom to bring whatever music feels inspired in the moment. There is still time to jump in and enjoy this week's Hive Open Mic event! Look and listen for the highlights to be released on Tuesday.

🌞 🌜 🌟 ✨

Enjoy Live Music - Subscribe to Hive Open Mic.

🦢 🕊️ 🌿 🌸


About Me

I am a star child, ultra-fly and down-to-earth. I make movies with Arise and music with Butterflies. My work includes films: Voices of the Grandmothers, Wild Family... books: Brave Spirit, Be Well Bee, WYLD, Big Idea Patterns... and songs: Brave Spirit, Home, Colors Flying... My greatest achievement is my role as a rad daddy to three incredible kids.

Sort:  

and the natural cure was the presence - holding my attention in the present moment.

👌

New style of song, a bit melancholic, but concentrating to the lyrics it is pure optimistic 😇

Thanks for noticing the difference in the song style here. Yeah, it's a different vibe for a different state of mind than my usual. Felt good to explore another flavor, as I could still feel the energy in it. One time I played this song to the kids at bedtime, and they said, "That's a sad song, daddy. I like your other ones better." lol.

 3 years ago (edited) 

"That's a sad song, daddy. I like your other ones better." lol.

😂

As soon as they still ask you for something to play them, it is good. Believe me, enjoy! (a mom of a teenager speaks to you hahaha 🤦🏻‍♀️😂)

i actually liked the "melancholic" feeling of the guitar, i think the message of your song is beautiful, and you pulled it out nicely! looking forward to hear more, i send you a musical hug cabe :) rock on!

Hey thanks so much. This one was a stretch for me, and it felt good to give it a try. I appreciate your encouragement.

Es una verdadera lindura este tema original, Cab. Dios bendiga tu vida y talento éxitos

Spanish: Eres un alma tan dulce. Gracias por tus cálidas palabras.

English: You're such a sweet soul. Thank you for your warm words.