🎵 “Mm Hm” (Original) - Live Music for Hive Open Mic 77

in Hive Open Mic3 years ago

Hive Open Mic ( #openmic ) is a global community celebrating live music on Hive. Each week is a new event, encouraging musicians to share songs with an international audience.


HiveOpenMic77-Cabe-Lindsay01.jpg

Joy and more joy. This is the change I wish to see in the world. Recently, I crafted a mantra: “I am making joyful choices.” These words support me in everyday life by affirming that my willpower brings me where I want to be. In this way, I believe I am able to handle the hard parts with grace, possibly even with a smile on my face.

This week's Hive Open Mic theme is “Joie de Vivre” (Joy of Living). I love this invitation to sing a song that lights me up. The one I'm sharing here is a new song. I think it originated when I was at a social gathering, feeling connection, and I introduced myself by the name: Mm Hm. The resulting song is an expression of joy, short and sweet.

I think the world needs my smile right now. And yours too, friend. I understand we can't paint the gray sky pink with our smiles, but I think we can choose joy in any situation. What if a smile is our natural state of being? What if happiness is the truest part of who we are? What if making joyful choices is as easy as flipping a switch on and off? I believe it is.

Honestly, focusing on my Joie de Vivre is saving my life. On a surface level, I am at an awkward stage, recently receiving braces in order to address my teeth grinding, with tension headaches that I wake up with every morning. My companion of 10 years is dating someone new. My necessary expenses often overshadow my income, even though I'm often overwhelmed with work. And yet, I am dominated by thoughts and feelings of joy, because I am abundantly happy on the inside.


Mm Hm

A new song about simple pleasures

Mm hm

Peaches and cinnamon
Fill a home with aroma
Life is sweet and savory
Like a warm piece of pie

Mm hm

Flowers and honeybees
Paint a field colorful
Simple glimpses of everyday
Heaven here on the earth

Mm hm

Hive-Open-Mic-77d.png


Mm Hm

Simple glimpses of everyday heaven

My son and daughter gifted me these stuffed animals to comfort me at bedtime.

My brother created this eagle, which I position as the centerpiece of my living room.

My uncle gave me this goose feather, which I like to see standing in a living plant.

My dad painted these watercolor ducks and their violet environment.

This book brings me joy as an everyday source of divine reminding: I am home.

Graceful swans give me reminders of my earthly heritage, with a rainbow flash.

Our tribe of five is still intact as I maintain friendship with the kids' mom.


Acknowledgements

Hive-Open-Mic-77b.png

Hive Open Mic - Week 77 is underway right now, with the current theme: “Joie de Vivre.” We introduce new themes every Sunday, inviting musicians to share a common current. Musicians always have full freedom to bring whatever music feels inspired in the moment. There is still time to jump in and enjoy this week's Hive Open Mic event!

💛

Enjoy? Join in.
🌟

Sort:  

What if happiness is the truest part of who we are? What if making joyful choices is as easy as flipping a switch on and off? I believe it is.

Yes, it should be like this. Maybe not always easy to achieve, but it IS actually just a click in our mind. And if we can control it, even better :)

Loved your song, calm and just pure! Reflecting the simple and joyful truth. And how nice details from your home and gifts you have to remind you of the love all the family members gave you. I feel for you, still know how you feel for your headaches, expenses, emotional struggles, but as you said, focusing on the joy of living, focusing on small, simple everyday joy is saving your life!! 🙌 💛

You are so kind to empathize with me. I can feel your care. It means a lot to me that you read the words and see the pictures I'm sharing here. Thank you so much. Holding a happy attitude something that I think about a lot. Over and over, I experience the joys that come when I put a smile on my face, and laugh with the kids, and let myself be light-hearted in my conversations. And other times, I find myself feeling stressed, driving in traffic, rushing around... And where's my smile? I wish to develop a talent for smiling, and laughing, and other forms of joyful expression, because I feel like these are tools that can be practiced. Deep down, I do feel joy in my life, and I want to open the doors to it flowing outward more freely.

Yeah, I can see the source of your joy. And to maintain a joyful attitude, empowered by essential things from life, such as laughter and joy shared with children or friends. Having hopes, desires, plans, and work towards achieving them... all this strengthens happiness, which we must first awaken in ourselves and give good ground for everything else that comes in life. Also, important, to open and share the same joy, yes. I remember the week when I have chosen the topic, happiness :) I took a photo at the street, a mural, with inscription Happiness real only when shared. It is my driving power :D

Beautiful words. I am so glad we have this place to share. I'm not sure where else I would share these joyful expressions at the moment. Sure is nice to express my heart in this way, generating joy.

Yes, so good we have this space and support each other with words and encouragement 😇

Brother, your composition is great, I like both the lyrics and the melody. This song brought a lot of joy and excitement to my day. Thank you for sharing your great talents with the Hive Open Mic family. Blessings! 🤗

I'm happy you feel the joy in it. Thank you for being a sister to me, and for being a steady source of encouragement, inspiration, and friendship too. 🤗

 3 years ago (edited) 

Cabe this song is like a lullaby, so relaxing, I felt that the song reached my inner child, where happiness is 🙏🔥❤️🎙️🎸🎶

What a beautiful thing to say. I'm so glad you're holding a space of awareness for your inner child. May your inner child be forever safe, strong, and happy, living well.

Thanks Brother, daily, I keep in contact with him to have peace, he has awakened my wisdom progressively 🙏❤️ ... but yesterday you helped me with this song, I send you a warm embrace 👊😎🔥

I witness your wisdom wide awake! Rock on brother. Keep on shining, please, and lighten up this world. 💛🌟

I will Brother 🤜🤛🔥🌍🌎🌏🌟💫❤️

Tienes razón en decir que a pesar de todas las dificultades, debemos estar agradecidos con la vida, te leo y me parece que estoy viendo en el escrito al pensamiento de mi pareja @alinares, que siempre le busca lo positivo a las situaciones.

Comprendo tus molestias dentales y dolores, ya que años atrás tuve mis aparatos de ortodoncia y eran muy incomodos, además de que no podía comer muchas comidas que me agradaban, pero debía evitarlas. También estamos como dice tu eclipsados financieramente, ya que rescatamos a un gato y una perrita y traen gastos, pero la alegría que ellos nos producen borra todo.

Como siempre es un gusto escuchar la suave música que esta semana compartes, me llevaste a un estado de paz y alegría y aunque no entiendo ingles, tu buena vibra transmite positivismo y sin entender me agrada la melodía. Bendiciones @cabelinsay🙏🏻🤗🎶🎵

You are right in saying that despite all the difficulties, we must be grateful to life, I read you and it seems to me that I am seeing in the writing the thought of my partner @alinares, who always looks for the positive in situations.

I understand your dental aches and pains, Since years ago I had my braces and they were very uncomfortable, besides that I could not eat many foods that I liked, but I had to avoid them. We are also financially eclipsed as you say, since we rescued a cat and a dog and they bring expenses, but the joy they produce erases everything.

As it is always a pleasure to listen to the soft music that you share this week, you brought me to a state of peace and joy and although I do not understand English, your good vibes transmit positivism and without understanding I like the melody. Blessings @ cabelinsay🙏🏻🤗🎶🎵

Aw, thank you for such a meaningful comment. It is good of you and your companion to take care of the little ones in your life. I'm sure your home would be a cozy home for furry friends. This song is about simple pleasures in life, such as a warm slice of pie. Glad you could feel the good vibes in it.

Aw, gracias por un comentario tan significativo. Es bueno de tu parte y de tu acompañante cuidar a los pequeños de tu vida. Estoy seguro de que su hogar sería un hogar acogedor para amigos peludos. Esta canción trata sobre los placeres simples de la vida, como un trozo de tarta caliente. Me alegro de que puedas sentir las buenas vibraciones en él.

Money when it is not enough always wants to steal our joy and tarnish our life, a way to make it flow is to bless its energy to keep us cheerful, as well as your mantra that comes from a moment of inspiration, a sigh of the soul.

All your music is soft and soothing, what beautiful objects surround you, I really liked that you shared some of your space and thoughts. Thank you

Nice of you to notice the items in my home space. I feel so cozy here at home, with these artworks accompanying me, reminding me of the animals. I appreciate your encouraging words about prosperity. Yes, I am with you in bringing in financial flow with an attitude of gratitude.

Es amable de su parte notar los artículos en el espacio de mi hogar. Me siento tan cómodo aquí en casa, con estas obras de arte acompañándome, recordándome a los animales. Agradezco sus palabras de aliento sobre la prosperidad. Sí, estoy contigo para traer flujo financiero con una actitud de gratitud.

Dear @cabelindsay, first of all we want to express our joy to hear you back after several days.

This week is special because the theme that brings us here must be a philosophy in our lives. Stones in our path are the order of the day to try to trip us up and it's something we can't avoid, we will always stumble. However, we should always keep in mind that just living is a gift, which added to the fact of perhaps having stable health is priceless.

Let's eat a few peaches with a smile on our faces and take it one day at a time. We love you very much my friend!

Aw, your comment is peachy-sweet. What wonderful friends you are. I feel so lucky to know you. Blessed by the kindness you show to me. I love the two of you!!

Congratulations! You've been awarded with an upvote from
The Creative Coin Fund

Copy of Copy of Freewrite 40Day 1100 (1).png

Manual selection by @andrewmusic.

Aw, wonderful! Thank you @andrewmusic. You're such a sweet friend. I'm honored to stand beside you in the creative spirit, bringing new brilliance and beauty into the world through the songs we share.

What is in you is reflected in this song, I love the lyrics, and the melody accompanies it perfectly, it has caused me joy to read you, it has caused me joy to listen to you and I even felt like I was in your living room with every piece you showed us, thank you for that Cabe, thank you for bringing this to each of us, every word recharges me with joy, and I am glad I see my name written everywhere hehehehe, and remember.... After the storm, always comes the calm. I hug you Cabe.

I am with you in feeling glad to see your name written everywhere! 🤗 You are my guiding light, Joy, and I'm calling in more of you. 😊

☺️☺️😊😊😊😊Law of attraction and focus on it, you will see that you can have it, smiling is free, and fills the soul, and it is also a super power, I hug you Cabe, Don't worry, be happy.

You are adorable. I send you a big wave of my love.

If I am adorable it is because I have absorbed it from you, what you bring in each interpretation is pure and unique and it is impossible not to keep it in your mind and soul, what you emanate is incredible, I receive your wave of love with great affection and I send you one back with a double portion. 💜😊

Well then I am happy we can be adorable for each other. I'm glad we can bring each other you: Joy! I'm happy we can send and receive waves of love, and may it ripple out!! May we always be blessed by knowing each other.

You are extremely adorable, more people like you in the world please 💜

how good it was to listen to you and read your post,
And a great teaching that we are going through this way, because of what we are going through, we must always have that joy and smile on our face, thank you for sharing, God bless you 😀

que bueno fue escucharte y leer tu post,
y una gran enseñanza que asi estemos pasando, por lo que estemos pasando, siempre debemos tener esa alegria y sonrrisa en nuestro rostro, gracias por compartir, Dios te bendiga 😀

Bless you too. It's a supportive reflection you bring, thank you very much. Yes, I think something as simple as a smile can be big enough to spread like a wildfire of love.

Te bendiga también. Es una reflexión de apoyo que traes, muchas gracias. Sí, creo que algo tan simple como una sonrisa puede ser lo suficientemente grande como para extenderse como un incendio forestal de amor.

Que agradable sonido nos traes hermano, muy relajante escucharlo temprano en la mañana para comenzar un nuevo día lleno de alegría apreciando todo lo bonito que nos puede suceder, gracias por traernos esta joya, espero sinceramente que tu situación mejore y que puedas continuar con esa alegría que te caracteriza

What a pleasant sound you bring us brother, very relaxing to listen to it early in the morning to start a new day full of joy appreciating everything beautiful that can happen to us, thank you for bringing us this jewel, I sincerely hope that your situation improves and that you can continue with that joy what characterizes you

I feel your sincerity, thank you for that. You're a good friend to me, and a steady source of familiarity - a brother. I sure appreciate your support.

Siento tu sinceridad, gracias por eso. Eres un buen amigo para mí y una fuente constante de familiaridad: un hermano. Aprecio mucho tu apoyo.

Hola amiguito disfruté mucho al escucharte!

Thank you auntie. It's so good we have this place to share the sweetness of our music. I sure am happy hearing your voice week after week, and learning through witnessing you.

Gracias tia. Es tan bueno que tengamos este lugar para compartir la dulzura de nuestra música. Estoy seguro de que estoy feliz de escuchar tu voz semana tras semana y de aprender al ser testigo de ti.

The slow dance shows so much of the joy too.

Good of you to notice that detail. Yeah, joy, wow! It shows up in my life through singing, dancing, smiling... some of the finest experiences, and the simplest.

This song is sublime and beautiful, it moves the senses to some place of tranquility and peace, greetings dear brother, you are special

It is so kind of you to offer such beautiful words. Thank you brother. You're one wonderful man.

Love your post. to think that you wrote the son also makes me so happy.

I lope the paintings and gifts from your kids...

Keep on being amazing boss!