🎵 “Still With You” (Original) - Live Music for Hive Open Mic 93

in Hive Open Mic2 years ago (edited)

Hive Open Mic ( #openmic ) is a global community celebrating live music on Hive. Each week is a new event, encouraging musicians to share songs with an international audience.


1L9A6611-web.jpg

Yesterday turned out to be an exciting day for me, and its story relates nicely with our Hive Open Mic theme: “Amor a Escondidas". In English, these words translate to "Hidden Love". I'd like to share about the various ways love is showing up in my life lately, and the fact that my love life rocked my world just yesterday. The song I'm sharing is a new one, written for a friend I'll mention in the story. Shhh. It's a secret.

The backstory, for anyone who doesn't know me yet, is that my present life situation involves three kids who live with me half of the time, and their mom is a close friend of mine, even though we completed our marriage contract a year ago. Going through a marriage separation hasn't always been easy, and it's a bit taboo to talk about too, so I usually just keep it on the down-low. Here's a rare chance to let it off my chest, and lift it up.

I like to take special notice of the times when life feels like heaven, or home, because I believe this is my highest pursuit in life: being home in the present moment. On Monday night's full moon, I found myself with friends making music in the countryside, by a bonfire. For me, music is like a key to the kingdom of heaven. I imagine every musician can relate with the thought that our musical gifts get us there sometimes.

Tuesday evening, still beaming from the previous night's full moon, I said a flirtatious remark to a friend of mine. Let's call her Knoxy for the purposes of this story, because when I'm with her it feels like I'm knock, knock, knocking on heaven's door. I told her I'd like to team up with her to visualize and manifest a home where we could live in the country. She told me she wasn't ready.

Energetically, I suddenly felt deflated. At first, I couldn't tell if I was experiencing a sting of rejection, or whatever else, but I felt slightly embarrassed and physically exhausted as the energy moved through me. The next day, we went hiking, and she told me it felt like a dark cloud, which makes sense. She handed me a rock and invited me to express my pain and then let it go by tossing the rock into the water.

I told the stone, "I love you, Cabe, exactly as I am. I love you together. I love you alone. In all the ways you are, I love and accept you." When I watched the stone drop, I saw the water rippling in all directions. Then I laid down and looked up at the sky, all white, with sparkling lights like stars, while my joy flooded back into my mind.

Vocalizing these sensations with Knoxy, I discovered a sadness that is related with a fear of abandonment. I got myself off balance by looking too far into the future, seeing myself alone, losing her. That fear of abandonment is a serious force, and in fact I have some trauma from my past to justify that fear. However, I also have some aptitudes, energetic tools, and allies, to guide me through the darkness, home to love.

Thankfully, I had a four-hour drive ahead of me that day, picking up my kids from their grandma's house, far from Austin. The spaciousness gave me a chance to check in with my body, heart, and mind, in order to see what's resonating. Knoxy is resonating. My kids are resonating. My entire life situation is resonating, really. I made it to heaven with the kids before sundown. We laughed and played, and made time for a rad family portrait.

That's me with Rosalie, Daniel, and Gabriel.


Still With You

A song about being still

Chords:

Em------C---Am--

Lyrics:

Still with you
I can feel you in the countryside
When the horses run wild

Still with you
I can feel you in the firelight
When it warms up the night

Still with you
I can feel you in the wind
When it brushes my skin

Still with you
I can feel you in cacao
When it kisses my mouth

Still with you
I can feel you in guitar strings
When my heart sings

Hive-Open-Mic-93d.png


Acknowledgements

Hive-Open-Mic-93b.png

Hive Open Mic - Week 93 is underway right now, with the current theme: “Amor a Escondidas". We introduce new themes every Sunday, inviting musicians to share a common current. Musicians always have full freedom to bring whatever music feels inspired in the moment. There is still time to jump in and enjoy this week's Hive Open Mic event!

💛

Enjoy? Join in.
🌟

Sort:  

You have very normal feelings for all you have been through, especially the last year, but I always admire your ability to analyze yourself and heal your mind and spirit to yourself. I wouldn't stop dwelling on it, but I wouldn't be so intense either. In fact Jhoxiris rejected me the first time and four years later I found out she loved me and here we are. But life takes care of itself to put all the pieces in place.

You are a great songwriter, the lyrics don't talk specifically about what happened to you, but they do let us know what you have inside. In fact, I think it's excellent therapy that you express everything through your songs. This sound feels different from the rest of your music (in my opinion). There is a restlessness and it doesn't transmit me the same peace as other of your melodies. And now that I know a little of the story behind the song I understand what a great artist you are...

Openmic in English.jfif

I'm grateful for your thoughtful words, brother. Yes, this one does carry a different kind of energy in it. To me, it is holds some melancholy feelings, like a longing to be together despite a distance that keeps us physically apart. And then the words shape it up to be a story about togetherness in Spirit.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

I love the chording
Nice plày...

I'm happy the chording resonates with you. Wishing you peace, comfort and joy.

Greetings my friend, whenever I see you in this community participating it fills me with a lot of motivation, you are very good on the guitar and you sing very well. The lyrics of the song are perfect, a fraternal embrace.
Source translator

Thank you, Willy. I sure appreciate your kind words. This community is helping me to show up and express myself, which really benefits me in various areas of life. I'm glad to be here, and grateful for your presence too.

You have the quality of turning simple things into beautiful things, those 3 chords transmit in an ideal way the message of your song, I think everything meshed perfectly. We could feel the love in your presentation.

I'm happy you can feel the love. It's really interesting what can be achieved with three chords becoming a hypnotic riff, moving through space and traveling in the mind.

Ooh
So lovely
Thank you for sharing @cabelindsay

Such a pleasure to share. Thank you for being here and offering your encouragement.

😍😍😍❤❤🌹❤

Congratulations! You've been awarded with an upvote from
The Creative Coin Fund

Copy of Copy of Freewrite 40Day 1100 (1).png

Manual selection by @andrewmusic.

Wonderful. Thank you. I appreciate you for supporting the arts!

 2 years ago (edited) 

I have so much to say about this post Cabe, I really loved it and enjoyed it too much... your song brother, wow, it sounds like a movie or tv series soundtrack; while I was listening to it I felt so many things: your voice resonated so much that during the 1st stanza I felt the breeze with the sound of the device that sounded, those that are placed in the entrances of the houses and sounds with the wind, however it was more EPIC when between the 2nd stanza and the 3rd that sounds louder. .. it's no coincidence, I don't believe in them, your words carried with them the magic of your soul when playing a song... and in the 4th stanza it sounded again, I'm sure it wasn't something you put in the song, the truth is that was amazing bro!!!!

When I heard it my mind was transported to that place where you are with your children and I don't know why, but I visualized a river nearby... the picture looks spectacular and that will always be your best and most sacred place: your home. Your moment of lasting love will come again, and yes, sometimes the fear of being alone can tuck us in, but that is temporary, the good thing about it all is that you can thank Knoxy for her sincerity, another would have ventured with you and then when you are at your best could leave you back where you started, no doubt, something to be thankful for brother!!!!!

How frustrating that can be, I lived it a few years ago with a divorced woman, in her case, she was not sincere hehe, but well, learnings and knowledge, sometimes synchronicity can be circumstantial... in my presentation this week I talk a little bit about that story that I see that several of us were inspired by the theme to tell ours!!!!

I just have to tell you how great what I felt and saw through your song and that photo that is really very beautiful, a hug dear brother, thank you for this experience 🙏🙂🔥🎙️🎸🎶❤️🌟🍻💥💫💯

Your words are precious to me. I cherish them. Thank you so much. I'm so happy you can hear the sweet wind chimes - I just got that for Christmas from the kid's mom, so it's a very meaningful gift. I think that's what you're hearing. I'm touched you felt something mystical in it.

🙌😀🔥🎸🎶❤️🌟🍻💥💫💯

That was amazing.

Thanks for saying so. I hope you enjoy your day.

Welcome! I did

Me encantó la música amigo te felicito, en ella se puede sentir ese sentimiento que te atrapa y te lleva a buscar en el amor un nuevo horizonte. La vida nos enseña muchas cosas interesantes y de cada momento aprendemos lecciones distintas, unas nos hace sufrir, otras nos hace reflexionar y otras nos hace madurar. El verdadero amor llega en el momento que menos lo esperes, mientras tanto sigue amando, sigue riendo y sigue disfrutando en cada segundo de tu vida el sonido de la sonrisa de tus hijos, ese sonido te hará muy feliz. Dios te recompensará con un gran amor y podrás disfrurar a su lado el brillo de las estrellas con dulces melodías y el calor de la fogata será tu gran energía para seguir escribiendo estas canciones tan hermosas. Tus hijos son tu mayor fortaleza, Dios los bendiga, un abrazo.

Your words are like a nice warming campfire. Just delightful. Thank you. Yes, I am learning to keep my heart open to life, just like the kids do. It feels safe enough to love a little more now, and hopefully radiate out some extra love for someone in need of some sunshine. 💛🌟

Tus palabras son como una agradable fogata que se calienta. simplemente encantador Gracias. Sí, estoy aprendiendo a mantener mi corazón abierto a la vida, como lo hacen los niños. Se siente lo suficientemente seguro como para amar un poco más ahora y, con suerte, irradiar un poco más de amor por alguien que necesita un poco de sol. 💛🌟

Woow 🥺✨ impresionante como siempre me gustó mucho🥺🤗✨.. muchas felicitaciones cabenlindsay🥰👍

It touches my heart to feel your encouragement way across the world. Thank you, friend, for listening and commenting.

Me toca el corazón sentir tu aliento en todo el mundo. Gracias amiga por escuchar y comentar.

I am extremely moved by you, by your story and by this creation. Three chords to make us travel, to bring us back and reconnect with you, incredible what you can do with a feeling, three chords and a story. I admire you, and I admire the way you go through the world.

You have beautiful children, who show their souls in their beautiful smiles.

Mmm. Your words bring such sweet blessings, thank you. I feel so lucky to know a sister-friend in you. The admiration is mutual, you know.

I like it very very much. Congra, hugs 💜

Warm and cozy hugs right back to you, friend.

This is the music you will hear when you are floating up to be with the angels.

"I love you, Cabe, exactly as I am. I love you together. I love you alone. In all the ways you are, I love and accept you." those words it moves me to tears somehow. Thank u for exist :) thanks for sharing with us your love and passion for music. The song is so lovely, so wonderful, so blissful, emotional and personal.

Greetings from Venezuela. A hug.

Aw, thank you so much. It fills me up with joy to receive your wonderful words of encouragement. I am with you, friend, and I'm grateful. Hugs.

Maybe she just wants to give you time to heal the wound from your recent separation, it may be a see you later, continue to love yourself in solitude.

Beautiful family photo and the music is another level, very nice. @cabelindsay 😊

Thanks for the reflection you bring. Yes, I like the idea of a "See you later," instead of a goodbye, especially in this circumstance. Hugs.

Logo-comments2.pngYour post was reblogged by us and received an upvote from the Music community on Hive.

Do you want to get involved? Do you want to support music and this project? Follow us to keep you updated and read our Introduction post!

🎶 Join us on our Discord Server! 🎵

maaaan Loved this oneee really man i dig it. I need this on spotify or something like that jajaja