Lake's Of Pontchartrain - HIVE Open 72

in Hive Open Mic3 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Hey Folks

This is my song for week 72 of Hive open Mic.

I tried the simply melody/global harmony song but I couldnt get it to sound right.

I dont want a week to pass where I dont upload a song so this morning I learned a new song called The Lake's Of Ponchartrain and I thought I would post it here this week for you guys to hear.

Its a song thats associated with Irish folk musicians like Paul Brady and Christy Moore but its originaly a ballad from the United States about a man who is given shelter by a Louisiana Creole woman. He falls in love with her and asks her to marry him, but she is already promised to a sailor and declines.

Im singing Paul Bradys version of the Lyrics but I added my own 7th verse in an attempt to come up a version that is unique to me.

"The Lakes of Pontchartrain"

T'was on one bright March morning I bid New Orleans adieu
And I took the rode to Jackson town, me fortune to renew
I cursed all foreign money, no credit could I gain
Which set me heart to longin' for the Lakes of Pontchartain.

I stepped on board of a railroad car beneath the pouring rain
And I rode the rails 'til evening and I laid me down again
No friends to me ,all strangers here, 'til a dark girl towards me came
And I fell in love with a Creole girl from the Lakes of Pontchartrain.

I said my pretty Creole girl, me money here's no good
If it weren't for the alligators I'd sleep out in the wood
You're welcome here kind stranger, our house it's very plain
But we never turn a stranger away by Lakes of Pontchartrain.

She took me to her mammy's house and she treated me quite well
The hair upon her shoulders in jet black ringlets fell
To try and paint her beauty I'm sure t'would be in vain
So handsome was my Creole girl by the Lakes of Pontchartrain.

I asked her if she'd marry me, she'd said it could never be
For she had got a lover and he was far at sea
She said that she would wait for him and true she would remain
'Til he returned for his Creole girl by the Lakes of Pontchartrain.

So fair thee well me Creole girl may I see thee never more
But I'll ne'er forget your kindness and the cottage by the shore
And at each social gathering a flowin' glass I'll drain
And drink a health to me Creole girl from the Lakes of Pontchartrain.

Twas on one bright May mornin I bid Ponchartrain adieu
And I headed back to Erins Isle ,my fortunes now renewed.
Ill take with me sweet memory which ever shall remain.
As I bid farewell to my Creole girl and The Lakes of
Pontchartrain


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

You sound great. I admire the way your voice lands in the low notes, and this song lets you sustain those notes in a lovely airy way. Cool song.

Thanks for joining in and enjoying Hive Open Mic

What a relaxing song my friend, the interpretation made me feel peace, I congratulate you, greetings from Colombia 👊😎🔥