Exodus - Bob Marley Cover - HIVE Open Mic 135 - Fight Oppression.

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Hi Everyone

When I saw that this weeks open mic theme is "Fight Opression" I knew I had to take a shot at a Bob Marley song.

I imagine this week will see at least a few of Bob's song trending in the open mic community.

As I read the theme "Fight Opression" the first lyric that popped into my head was

" Jah come to break downpression
Rule equality
Wipe away transgression
Set the captives free."

So I figure I would take a shot at coming up with a version of "Exodus"

I feel it fits the theme pretty well, I hope some of you enjoy what I came up with for this song.

"Exodus"
Bob Marley

Exodus ,movement of Jah people!
Exodus , alright ,movement of Jah people.

Men and people will fight ya down
When ya see jah light
Let me tell you that when you're not wrong
Everything is all right
So we gonna walk
Through the roads of creation
We the generation
Trod through great tribulation

In this Exodus, movement of jah people!
In this Exodus , whoa Lord! Movement of Jah people, yeah

Open your eyes and look within
Tell me are you satisfied now ,with the life you're living?
We know where we're going,
We know where we're from.
We're leaving babylon,yall
We're going to our father land.

In this Exodus, alright movement of jah people!
In this Exodus movement of jah people!

Jah come to break downpression,
Rule equality,yeah
Wipe away transgression,
Set the captives free.
Set the captives free
Set the captives free now
Set the captives free!

In this Exodus, alright movement of jah people!
Singing Exodus, alright movement of jah people!


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

I'm a bob marley fan, I think almost every song he sings is about fighting oppression for peace. I'm so glad you played it.

Yeah I knew as soon as I saw this weeks theme there will be some Bob Marley songs. Im glad you enjoyed this one.

Saludos @celticheartbeat

Es una increíble interpretación del mayor icono de la historia de la música reggea ! Me encantó desde la voz hasta la ejecución de la guitarra.

Un abrazo fraternal.

Muchas gracias por las amables y alentadoras palabras! Estoy muy contento de que hayas disfrutado escuchando esto. Un abrazo fraterno para ti :).

Very good your version!. I liked the swing you gave it.👏👏👏🎼

Thanks I am really glad you enjoyed it :)

Open your eyes and look within
Tell me are you satisfied now ,with the life you're living?

Excelente tu elección de la canción, amigo @celticheartbeat, y excelente interpretación. Me gusta su voz, el sentimiento con el que canta y su forma de tocar la guitarra. Muchas gracias por compartir. Saludos desde Venezuela. Mil bendiciones y éxito en todo.

Excellent your choice of song, my friend @celticheartbeat, and excellent interpretation. I like his voice, the feeling with which he sings and his way of playing the guitar. Thank you very much for sharing. Greetings from Venezuela. A thousand blessings and success in everything.

Thank you so much for these very kind and encouraging words. It always makes me feel humble to read such thoughtful feedback.

Muchas gracias por estas palabras tan amables y alentadoras. Siempre me hace sentir humilde leer comentarios tan reflexivos.

 2 years ago  

Cool guitar Rhythm with your right hand 👍

Thanks , I thought it would be fun to try that .I can get away with doing that kind of rhythm on an A minor chord shape but I would probably struggle to do it on any other shape.

This is excellent. What a fantastic interpretation. I love your subtle guitar playing.

Thanks so much ,this was my first time trying the song. I already knew most of the words , I had one quick run through before recording then just went for it. Im pretty happy with how it turned out. Im glad you enjoyed it.

Wow, you seem like a great lover of raggae nd you killed it. Great job friend

I like Bob Marley's dimension of songs. He made me like reggae men...But your guitar work here really challenged me and wished I could play like this. I enjoyed every beat.

You chose a good song and you did well.

Thanks for the kind complement bro :). Yeah keeping this rhythm is not to hard using only the Am minor shape as this song does. If the song had many chords I would struggle to play it like this :).

Hello brother, what a song, i love raggea, hahahah, i love bob marley as well, do you love ganja? Marijuana i mean, i have a lot here from aceh indonesia

Hehe I dont really smoke Ganja much these days. Im glad you enjoyed the song! :)

Okay
I love everything little piece of your performance.
From the start of your introduction, using the singing and your guitar to do it and gently entering the song is so cool.

Thanks so much for the kind words. I did enjoy this one very much ,it was alot of fun to sing.

So glad to know.
Keep being awesome.