You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: When The Boys Are On Parade - Hive Open Mic Week 163

in Hive Open Miclast year (edited)

Yeah I played around with C,G,D and A minor chords but couldn't get the A minor part to fit even tho it usually works to use Am,C G for folk songs. In the end this C,G,C,G,C,G,C,D,G progression worked with the capo on the 6th fret so I just went with that after a morning of trying to find something to accompany the lyrics.

The recording took several takes and still isn't perfect,I feel I can do it better now after seeing the flaws in the recording and spending another hour or so ironing them out.

I've only ever seen Andy Irvine play it on his Bouzouki with a harmonica accompaniment but yeah, good luck figuring out what chords he's using for it :).

Id love to see how you approach the song and what your rendition sounds like, its still some of the best lyrical work I have found in a folk song, rivaling the best I've heard from Dylan and from many a traditional folk song.