Masters Of War - Bob Dylan Cover HIVE Open Mic 129.

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Hi Everyone

Im back this week after a 2 week break from HIVE and social media in general.

I was inspired to return to the open mic community to take a shot at singing Bob Dyalns Masters of War.

Around a month ago @jasperdick played this song as part of his anti-war three tune tuesday set.

The version Jasper played was inspired by Eddie Veder from the band Pearl Jam playing this song at a concert in 1992 which celebrated 30 years of Bob Dylans music.

I figure this one is a good one for the "Trust" theme as theres noone in the world I would trust less than a Master of War.

I hope you guys enjoy my version of the song and many thanks agian to @jasperdick for helping me find the motivation to come back to HIVE open mic.

"Masters Of War"
Bob Dylan

Come, you masters of war
You that build the big guns
You that build the death planes
You that build all the bombs

You that hide behind walls
You that hide behind desks
I just want you to know
I can see through your masks

You that never done nothin'
But build to destroy
You play with my world
Like it's your little toy

You put a gun in my hand
And you hide from my eyes
And you turn and run farther
When the fast bullets fly

Like Judas of old
You lie and deceive
A world war can be won
You want me to believe

But I see through your eyes
And I see through your brain
Like I see through the water
That runs down my drain

You fasten all the triggers
For the others to fire
Then you sit back and watch
While the death count gets higher

You hide in your mansion
While the young peoples' blood
Flows out of their bodies
And into the mud

You've thrown the worst fear
That can ever be hurled
Fear to bring children
Into the world

For threatenin' my baby
Unborn and unnamed
You ain't worth the blood
That runs in your veins

How much do I know
To talk out of turn?
You might say that I'm young
You might say I'm unlearned

But there's one thing I know
Though I'm younger than you
That even Jesus would never
Forgive what you do

Let me ask you one question
Is your money that good?
Will it buy you forgiveness?
Do you think that it could?

I think you will find
When your death takes its toll
All the money you made
Will never buy back your soul

And I hope that you die
And your death will come soon
I'll follow your casket
On a pale afternoon

I'll watch while you're lowered
Down to your deathbed
And I'll stand over your grave
'Til I'm sure that you're dead


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Really good to have you back! I wouldn't know the general rules of any of these weekly challenges if you hadn't been kind enough to help me!

I decided to throw the dice of fate...if this makes less than $3.33 I'm not doing another open mic or TTT ever...I will however sing Christmas songs each December and accept that as my fate :)... But on a more serious note what do you think of my interpretation of the song? I love collecting Dylan songs and wouldn't have this one in my repertoire if you hadn't inspired it , did I do it any justice?

Oh dear - and do you mean before or after the curator's get their half? What can I do to help? Hmmm. :)

Ok seriously. This version of Masters of War by Eddie Vedder was so special because he was able to portray his anger and disgust so very well. I think it was a very special performance if I'm honest.

Somebody found some recordings of me from over 10 years ago, and forced me to listen to them in the car today. To be honest I sound pretty good technically and hit all the notes like a bit of a choir boy, but I'm being too careful and sacrificing too much to sound perfect... and I think maybe that's you as well on this song?

It's very scary, but I find it pays off to try and forget about trying to sound perfect, and rather start to connect to the story and emotion of the song. In this case... look angry, sound angry, take risks. Tell those fuckers! In the end you might only get 9/10 for technicality, but you land up gaining a lot more - whoever is listening actually believes you feel what you are saying and might feel it too.

This is what I tell myself... this is what I tell my friend @clairemobey who sings with me... this is my goal for how I see myself attaining the "Next Level"... where you're not just singing and playing a song in tune anymore, but becoming something electric that conveys emotion to people and makes them feel it too...

Basically there comes a time when the guitar playing is coming naturally enough, that you can trust yourself to sing or play harmonica at the same time... in a similar way, trust the right notes will come out when you sing, and focus on acting out the emotion of the song.

Does that make any sense? In a single sentence - convince me you hate those fucking masters of war... in a whisper... and a roar.

I will get there!!! Eventually! ❤️😂

It's a lot to ask of an artist - become so confident that even a mistake is not a mistake anymore, it is just your humanity showing... or a mistake is jazz and you meant to do it...

With that much confidence maybe you can flip it back into being vulnerable and bare your soul. I wish! Maybe I get a glimpse of this "Next Level" every now and then... but I can easily revert back to hiding my true self on stage.

That's absolutely beautiful Jasper ❤️ thank you

Woo hoo hoo , thats powerful words right there amigo , very well said. I wish I read that before recording it ,it would have lit a fire in my heart...Now every time I play it I will hear these words..."convince me you hate those fucking masters of war... in a whisper... and a roar."

The $3.33 is before the curation , I dare not dream the HIVE gods deem me worthy of that much after curation in this god forsaken year of our lord late 2022... :).

The dice of fate have been rolled , let us await the outcome.... I'm already practicing "Have Your Self A Merry Little Christmas" by Ole Blue Eyes for December 1st :D...

Su participación de esta semana estuvo genial amigo gracias por estar aquí 😃☺️ saludos

Muchas gracias, me alegro de que hayas disfrutado de la canción :)

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @jasperdick.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

As much as I know.. you did so well on this. Looked like a lamentation

The point wh3e you said even Jesus woulv never forgive what they did.. hehe

Got me really thinking.. buts it's a song right..

Good to have you back.

Im glad you liked the song , its a fun one to sing. Do you know any Bob Dylan songs?

Yeah it is..No I don't know any.

If you find the time try a cover of this one ,It would be interesting to see how it sounds with your vocals.

I ll have to check the lyrics to know if I can render it hehe
It sounds like a funny song.

I m kinda choosing to do much of Christian songs lately.

If your doing Christian songs maybe try "The Sweet By And By"

Yeah.. I m coming through with this one for sure.. hehe

Really cool sound, and powerful message by Bob. I love your rendition!

Thanks so much man , its great to hear from you.