Kerr County Dopesick Blues - Hill Country Devil Cover - HIVE Open Mic 153

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Hi Everyone

For this weeks theme of "Tú Estás Conmigo" which translates to "You are with me" I want to take a shot at singing "Kerr Country Dopesick Blues" by the Hill Country Devil.

Hayden Karchmer is the artist real name , he wrote this song after losing a friend to " a single hit of fent dope" which is heroin cut with fentanyl, a substance 10 times stronger than heroin.

The song carries the themes of addiction, loss, and the subsequent grief that results from losing a close friend.

As is the case with all of Hayden Karchmers work, the songwriting here is incredibly well-crafted and powerful.

The lyrics paint powerful images in the theatre of my mind, I figured it would be perfect for this weeks theme.

I hope you guys enjoy my version.

"Kerr County Dopesick Blues
The Hill Country Devil"

It's my fourth day awake
Dallas is behind us, but I’ll pay for that mistake
And be swallowed by the shadow of the east
Picture postcards on the dresser reflect the flashing from the street
As the hounds start a-catching up to me

In a cloak of sheets on the cold concrete
I tremble before defeat
And that golden script from my back pocket
Ain't worth a God damn thing
'Cause the judge won’t grant me bail, what's another month in jail
While you sleep well wrapped in someone else's arms

No matter what I choose
I'm forced to pay my dues
And dream of you in the Kerr county dopesick blues

It's my fourth day awake
And the nights are getting longer yet I flinch when morning breaks
I wonder if you long for me at all
As I trace the cracking stone that's stretching tears across these walls
And I hope that the whole damn thing will fall

And the sky will bruise in blinding hues
If god is good it'll fall down too
And the world will turn as the idols burn
With steadfast follow through
But the ledger spells my name and that stone won't ever break
So onward now through the never ending ache
No matter what I choose
I’m forced to pay my dues
And dream of you in the Kerr county dopesick blues

No matter what I choose
I’m forced to pay my dues
And dream of you in the Kerr county dopesick blues


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Hi @celticheartbeat,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

It is a song with very emotional lyrics.

In life we get to experience the different phases of life and grief is one phase that is inevitable but what is important is being able to surmount the depressions and move one.
You did well presenting this man.
Very lovely

Thanks very much for the kind comments. Yeah, this one is very emotional and written from the heart. Im glad you enjoyed it.

You are welcome friend

I love the way you express music without stress this is so cool and very nice. This is a great entry for me

Thanks for listening to my song bro , I appreciate your feedback. Im looking forward to seeing what song you bring to this week's theme.

I will definitely bring mine soon

Those lyrics are amazing!
A sad song with a sad story, but I really like the angle you've got on the theme and your voice suits the song hauntingly well!
Lovely job! 👏👏

Thanks alot for the kind words Anna :D. Yeah this guys lyrics never fail to impress me, I guess they come from a life of hard times. I found him on the Gemsonvhs youtube channel a few years ago, that channel is always a good source of inspiration.

 last year  

Thanks for Joining in and Enjoying Hive Open Mic (Official).jpg

This song is both beautiful and sad. The story behind these lyrics is very hard. It's very unfortunate to lose someone loved in such circumstances.

Your singing and guitar playing were great. Great cover! 👏👏👏

Thanks so much for listening and commenting Rosana :D

A soulful piece with an enormous wave of emotional impact amigo...
This is such a beautiful presentation friend

Well-done!!!

A big hug

Thanks for this,I really appreciate reading these words.It is a very emotional piece with some of the most beautiful lyrics I have found so far.I really enjoy singing this one.

Very good your interpretation brother, I enjoyed it a lot, you have a lot of talent!

Thanks bro , Im really glad you enjoyed it!