Ashling - Shane McGowan/Christy Moore Cover - HIVE Open Mic Week 156

in Hive Open Miclast year (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Greetings Open Mic Family

Ive just returned from a week long holiday in the city of Ripon in North Yorkshire .
Im still kinda tired from all the traveling and a whole week of filming but I couldn't let this week pass without recording something for the 3rd anniversary of HIVE Open Mic.

This is a song I have picked up recently, its called Ashling which is an Irish girl's name but also means something like "Dream Girl".A girl so impossibly beautiful you only see her in your dreams.

The song was written by Shane McGowan of The Pogues but its most famously performed by Christy Moore , another Irish Musician.

I have come up with my own little version of the tune,hopefully, you guys will enjoy what I have.

"Ashling"
Shane McGowan.

See the bright new moon a rising
Above the land of black and green
Hear the rebels voice is calling
"I will not die, though you bury me!"

Faded pictures in the hallway
Which one of these brown ghosts is he?
The Aunt upstairs in bed's a calling
"Why has he forsaken me?"

Bless the wind that shakes the barley
Curse the spade and curse the plough
Ive counted years and weeks and days
I wish to god I was with you now

Fare thee well my black haired darlin
Fare thee well my own Aisling
At night fond dreams of you still haunt me
Far across the Grey North Sea

And the wind it blows
From the North and from the South
To the East and West
I'll be like that wind my love
For I will have no rest

Rains a lashing ,suns a rising
Winds a hollowing through the trees
Madness Crawling through the mountians
And I will not rest til your here with me.

Bless the wind that shakes the barley
Curse the spade and curse the plough
Ive counted years and weeks and days
I wish to god I was with you now

Fare thee well my black haired darlin
Fare thee well my own Aisling
At night fond dreams of you still haunt me
Far across the Grey North Sea

Fare thee well my black haired darlin
Fare thee well my own Aisling
At night fond dreams of you still haunt me
Far across the Grey North Sea

Bless the wind that shakes the barley
Curse the spade and curse the plough
Ive counted years and weeks and days
I wish to god you were with me now

I wish to god you were with me now


▶️ 3Speak

Snapshot_135.png

Sort:  

Hi @celticheartbeat,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Yay, I'm back on track... 😄
Another great one! And this time I even know both artists.. 😂
Great cover, very catchy and definitely foot tapping!!

Hope, you get some rest after that long journey down South.. lol
Catch you later.. 👋

Im finally rested up and ready to start working through the 17 gigs of footage I shot in Ripon, some great places to see there, Fountains Abbey and The Royal water gardens is a must-visit site, I've never been anywhere quite like it.

Thanks so much for the kind words,Im glad you liked this one :)

I looked that up... it's near the Yorkshire Dales which I've been to a few times, a lovely area!
I don't know Ripton though, something to check that out!
Looking forward to seeing your photos!!

 last year  

NTy4GV6ooFRmaCXZ8UYgPhoud1kjiNX8QokLEZtbBKLuLWQ9yt7K3o4LTwcQPAHPPHJkzBxDPQBNdsqsJ4Bqi5TMyf4itew5mViRr7P4Sm9S5fRwb5uEuqy8giY2rEkiQXcBP8yCdYw2Kr1pENJoS2VFZgQe1JXUXsFqD6CN.png

I liked everything in this participation. Your voice, the music, the light in your room. Everything has been a perfect combination and I see that the community has noticed and enjoyed it as much as I did. Bravo brother, definitely one of your best works...

Thanks so much bro , yeah this one is fun I will likely keep it in my repertoire. The lighting did work pretty well , sometimes half of my face is in the light and sometimes half in dark,it looks pretty cool.

I'm glad you enjoyed this one :)

What a great energy brother! I can see that you are passionate about the guitar old man! I don't know the type of musical genre of this song, but this excellent structure and composition Congratulations brother God bless you!!!

This is an Irish Folk song but I made it my own version by changing up some of the words ,using the capo on the 3rd fret and using my own chord progression. Its a fun one to sing and one that will likely stay with me for a long time.

Im glad you enjoyed it and thanks so much for taking the time to give me some feedback ,it is much appreciated!

@celticheartbeat
You have a lovely voice,i admire your passion dear friend

Thanks so much ,I really appreciate you listening to my song and leaving such a kind comment.

Nicely played, cool guitar picking style! :)