HIVE OPEN MIC WEEK 156 - " I Have Never Paid For This Old Train Journey!" - Finger Picked on Guitalele

in Hive Open Miclast year (edited)

Hey @hiveopenmic and fellow Musicians! Danaidh B here, with my entry for @hiveopenmic week 156.

This is my Original Song called " I HAVE NEVER PAID FOR THIS OLD TRAIN JOURNEY "

It's a song about when I was kicked off of a train late at night after a battle-of-the-bands gig and I lost my ticket.

So basically I had to sneak on with my guitar and then ""fell asleep"" (or that's what the conductor thought), but when he came back after he had seen me awake... he asked for my ticket, I said I have NO money. So he stopped the train at the closest stop and kicked me off..
but luckily I was kicked off in my city and the conductor didn't know!

I got a free ride for about 30 miles and was so happy to be at my stop in my city, unscathed, unharmed, and on route home :)

In this video I have been enjoying a nice strong Scottish beer (7.2%) McEwans Champion... I closed my eyes for most of it with pure enjoyment ((so please mind my little finger mistakes)) hahaha.

The song has very fast finger-picking, with quite slow singing (which is really hard btw!).

Lyrics:

I am on the night train, I am dreaming of you,

And when I reach my destination, I'm still dreaming of you,

I am on the night train, I am sitting with you,

But when I reach my destination I'm still dreaming of you,

I have never paid for this old train journey,

I told you, I could not, 'cause I had no money,

I have never paid for this old dear train journey,

I told you I could not,

'cause I had no money,

'cause I had no money,

'cause i had no money.

(Instrumental)

Now I'm moving, moving slowly,

Through the night track, the moon was showing,**

Now I'm broken, broken-hearted,

Empty pockets, my train's departed.

(Outro)

Many Thanks,
Danaidh B,
Scotland!!!

#teamuk #music #ocd #creativecoin #curie #vyb #hive #proofofbrain #hivemusic

Sort:  

Wow man this was absolutely great! i loved every part of it, beginning with the story of the song wich is very fun, and then when i play the video im like whoa that sounds amazing! loving that country-folk sound and dude those arpeggios are really fast! i enjoyed this a lot, congratulations friend! this a good piece of original music, im glad i came across this post, it´s nice to know you on this platform, my best wishes for you!

@juliopalomo we should try and raise the cash to get you to Scotland to tour ,gig and busk, you would make a ton of money here and you and Danaidhbee would work really well together. Maybe when hive's value starts rising again we can get money like that :).

Man you dont imagine how you made my mind fly and my heart jumped of happiness to just think about something like that, i dont want to be a crybaby but the struggle here is intense and lately i´ve been very frustrated and depressed mostly due to economic limitations ... "you would make a ton of money here" dude, that hits hard hehe, well i have been told things like that before, so i guess you´re probably right, well i hope my destiny takes me where i should be, im trying my best to not give up, greetings bro your comment really made my afternoon

Many musicians from all over the world come here to be part of the month-long party that is the Edinburgh Fringe Festival . It is held every August in our capital city Edinburgh, I covered some of the madness here on hive last year ..https://hive.blog/hive-163772/@celticheartbeat/dltmmgjk If you busk or gig somewhere in Edinburgh at that time you will make a small fortune, its nuts, every time I go there I am blown away by the number of people and the atmosphere. The population of the city grows 4 or 5 times in size for that month and so much money comes into the city its just nuts. Street performers don't need a license unless its for some sort of theatrical performance .If we can get you a ticket over here you would do well. Danaidhbee lives in Dundee another of our best musical cities, many live music venues would be thrilled to have a talented musician who can speak and sing Spanish, that city actually has a strong Spanish population because of the University there. Do some research, find out what requirements you need and we can make it a project to work to get you over here , when your here you could even document your journey on Hive to make extra cash, I am a film/videography student as well as a musician, I am always looking for exciting projects to get involved in, bringing a talented Venezuelan musician to the UK could be a great project . If you can figure out what you need I'm serious, we would help you :).

man im really mindblown by all that, can you please send me ur discord so we can write to each other, it sounds like a dream but i would love to make it true, to go to that festival on Edinburgh :)

Im not on Discord right now I should probably sort something out but for now, you can use my email if you want. [email protected].

I guess the first thing you need to learn about is what you need for a UK Visa , you can find that info here
https://www.gov.uk/government/news/changes-to-uk-visa-requirements-for-venezuelan-nationals#:~:text=Currently%2C%20all%20Venezuelans%20travelling%20to,to%20apply%20for%20a%20visa.&text=On%205%20May%202014%2C%20the,before%20travelling%20to%20the%20UK.

:) thank you very much my friend, I was a little tipsy when i recorded it but that just adds to it for me haha..
its good to be appreciated on here, I'm getting some good receptions, so thanks again!! much love..
Stay tune for more daily/weekly :)
Peace

 last year  

8DAuGnTQCLptZgjHUrRAJGcW4y1D4A5QVJJ7zjzqqKdfVHSS6NapSCC6bvUjhMGdKnEbbkETmG3bm2b97QQsMXNmkqicP7WhF24WxD5LhagPSStWBYCZsKaFx6GVj83MwvKZ5z4xdLei6uK99Kx9W1vPXE6QcV57NehrY5RQ9ie.png

Thank you for having me 🙏✌🏼

This has that bluegrass /Appalachian sound , you'll need to show me how to play in open tuning, the guitele sounds banging in that open G tuning!

Yeah? Nice one man, thanks, was kinda the style I was aiming at, could do a better much video
if I didn’t have those McEwans champions (7.2%) 🫶🏼👌🏼🔥haha
Sooo tasty tho

McEwans Champions my friend.... they'll keep you fighting til the end! Hahaha that's how they should advertise them , Freddy would probably be fine with it :).

Aw man champs are the one!!! Haha
Freddy??? Who’s Freddy?

Hahaha Mercury...

Currently drinking grapefruit juice + polish beer listening to Davy Graham ✌🏼

Get of The Davy Graham and on The Berty Jansch...


Ill give you a hundred quid if you get this one, Irish whistle solo and all...

Haha yeah I had a wee listen last night, he’s similar to Davy Graham’s but not as sketchy sounding haha, but I like that sketchy roughness, sometimes if it’s too tight And neat it’s no fun, haha, a little ruff round the edges ;)

Hi @danaidhbee,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am