HIVE OPEN MIC WEEK 121- DAUGHTERS BY JOHN MAYER(A COVER)

in Hive Open Mic2 years ago

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Good day, fellow hivers.

This is Hive Open Mic 121 and the theme is Love for family.

I'd been busy this whole week and just got to picking a song till this evening. Hence, why the video is slightly dark.

I selected this song because the chorus talks about fathers and mothers living their daughters unequivocally. Daughters will fall in love and raise the next generation of children, so the way they are raised is highly important.

This song is one of my favorite John Mayer songs and I am absolutely pleased that I get to record it for you guys.

Here are the lyrics
I know a girl
She puts the color inside of my world
She's just like a maze
Where all of the walls all continually change
And I've done all I can
To stand on her steps with my heart in my hands
Now I'm starting to see
Maybe it's got nothing to do with me
Fathers be good to your daughters
Daughters will love like you do
Girls become lovers who turn into mothers
So mothers be good to your daughters too...
Oh, you see that skin?
It's the same she's been standing in
Since the day she saw him walking away
Now she's left cleaning up the mess he made
So fathers be good to your daughters
Daughters will love like you do
Girls become lovers who turn into mothers
So mothers be good to your daughters too
Boys, you can break
You'll find out how much they can take
Boys will be strong and boys soldier on
But boys would be gone without warmth from a woman's good, good heart...
On behalf of every man
Looking out for every girl
You are the guide and the weight of her world
So fathers be good to your daughters
Daughters will love like you do
Girls become lovers who turn into mothers
So mothers be good to your daughters, too
So mothers be good to your daughters, too
So mothers be good to your daughters, too
Source: Musixmatch
Songwriters: Mayer John Clayton

Here is a link to the video of the original song.


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

wow! I love this song, it sounds so good, and I must recommend your effort in playing the guitar along side with your nice voice😊

Thank you so much for your nice comment.
It is truly no small feat to sing along while playing the guitar.
I'm glad you liked it.

one of my favorite themes of this great artist...well executed...greetings

Wow. You know John Mayer. That's wonderful.
You're welcome.

What a great entry dear friend, this song is beautiful and your way of expressing it was great, we give a standing ovation for your presentation. Thanks for participating in this edition of the Hive Open Mic. Greetings!!!

WhatsApp Image 2022-06-08 at 10.21.54 PM (1).jpeg

Thank you very much for your kind comment.
It is always my pleasure to perform in this awesome weekly challenge.

Wow man! This is amazing! John Mayer is such a great guitarist/musician - huge respect for covering this awesome tune. You've done an amazing job, and what an incredible voice you have, it really suits this style of emotive blues rock! Awesome man!

Anyone that knows and appreciates John Mayer has a taste for good music in my opinion.
Thanks for the compliments. They are much appreciated.
I shall endeavour to drop more videos that will be to my audience's liking.
Thanks again.

Awesome cover @emmaba1 I enjoyed a lot reading lyrics while you tuned your voice and that was a great job from you although... did I miss something or you didn't sing the last two paragraphs? ... I'm asking cos I was enjoying the full song a lot and you jumped unexpectedy to the last chorus hahaha
Keep on doing such great stuff!

Thank you very much @drakernoise for your amazing compliments.
Indeed, I skipped the bridge of the song. This was majorly because I made the video in a hurry and was worried my phone's storage space couldn't take the extra length. I'll take my time with it in the future to ensure I deliver only full and awesome material!
Thank you so much for taking the time to visit an enjoy my blog.