You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HIVE OPEN MIC Week 124 (Theme: Moonshine): Cover Song "Moonshiner" (Traditional / Bob Dylan)

in Hive Open Mic2 years ago

Hello! Thank you for all your compliments! I liked your song, and had never heard it before, so I'm glad you chose it!

The Clancy Brothers and Tommy Makem - that rings a bell! Oh yes, my parents have a copy of the Bob Dylan documentary movie "No Direction Home" which is wonderful and describes a lot of the music scene that Bob Dylan arrived into in Greenwhich Village. What a time to be alive - do you think more people had an appetite for folk/blues, and a greater attention span for new songs in those days, or do you think that we look back with rose-coloured glasses, and most people were just listening to "Top of the Pops" in a similar way to today?

Here's the Clancy brothers song they featured on that documentary! Try and find it if you can?

Yes, I'm already trying to think of ideas for next week's theme... I will have to record it early as I have to travel for work next week!

Sort:  

Yeah I have seen the documentary "No Direction Home" it was directed by Martin Scorsese and was one of the things that made me start buying Bob Dylan CDs back in 2005 in a time before Youtube and Spotify when we had to physically buy music :)

Yeah Greenwich village in the early 60s must have been a wonderful scene to be apart of. The Clanys left Ireland in the late 1950s I believe , they had originally planned to be actors and to put on plays in New York .When that didn't work out they decided to give folk music a try ,their thinking was something along the lines of "we'll give it 6 months and if it doesn't work we have no choice but to head back to Ireland"

Before that 6 months period was over they made a appearance on the Ed Sullivan show and quickly became overnight superstars. Here are a couple of songs from the show.

There is a wonderful documentary about their story which I believe was filmed in the late 80s

The Clanys and Makem along with the Dubliners and Planxty were huge sources of inspiration for me.Back in 2019 I was doing my first year of musical college , we had a module called musical appreciation where we had to pick 2 genres of music to study for around 4 months before giving a power point presentation on each of them.

I choose to study folk music and celtic music which meant every Friday at the college I got to spend hours watching documentaries and listening to old folk songs, I learned dozens of songs and stories that will stay with me for a life time :).