Boogie Woogie Bugler HOM #131

in Hive Open Mic2 years ago (edited)


This has been a crazy day, and I had the idea to try this recording late in the day.
Of course the high dollar microphone wouldn't work for a live recording, so I had to resort to my headset mic, and still with no one to mix and/or listen and tell me what needed adjusting, this was VERY much a winging it recording.
Still. I am Jerry Tsu Seer (@jerrytsuseer) with a live recording done about an hour ago (that is to say, that is where I stopped trying and settled for this)
The Andrews Sisters were a big deal back in the days of WWII, movies, live acts and performances for the soldiers etc.
This song Boogie Woogie Bugle Boy was one of their biggest hits.
I hope you enjoy this rendition. I play it much better live


This image was from Memorial Day 2016

Memorial day, 2016.jpg

"Hive Openmic Week 131"

Boogie Woogie Bugle Boy
by

Jerry E Smith
©10/11/2022
Images and videos are original





image.png


Self Portrait from about 1978

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @jerrytsuseer ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Oh my, this genuinely makes me dance, and my head can't stop shaking! You make our day! 😍

Good Morning @littlebeatle , comment like this make my day. I'm just getting started this morning.
1 cup of coffee, got my dentures in, but still have to get my meds, so thank you for helping me make a positive beginning to my day

Sorry, but the Andrews Sisters have you beat in the vocals department.

Well of course, they have better "Lungs"


Ha ha ha 🤣👿
Thank you so much for commenting. I couldn't do 3 part harmony anyway

woo hello sir @jerrytsuseer nice tecnique in the you keyboard<3

Hello to you @jesusmedit
I've been playing a very long time, but have not played almost any since 2020, just getting back into the 'swing of things'
Thanks Bro Medina♫♪

You are so cool! I love the vibe @jerrytsuseer

Thank you @chichi18 , I hope I can continue to entertain

What a tasty rhythm! 🤟🏼🎸 I must honestly say that I love this kind of music, it has a kind of rock and roll 🤟🏼🙌🏼👏🏼👏🏼 better impossible!!!! Nice rock and that self portrait is great too!!!! 🎸🎤🎙️ Best wishes that you can get your meds very soon! 😇 I hope I can continue to see you more on Openmic! @jerrytsuseer

Hi @jaredkhamanah , not sure where you stepped into the comment thread, but I take meds morning and evening. I try to be consistent, but I am also cutting WAY back.
I don't take everything they tell me I should be taking. I know me better than they do.

Thanks for the compliments on the music and the sketch.

This is beautiful.
You settled for an amazing one.
This is cool.

Thank you very much @jmis101
I'm trying to get my "juju" back in form. This Open mic is giving me motivation to start back practicing.

😂😂😂😂😂
Glad it's coming back gently.

wow, your keyboard playing is very good sir. the music is also very nice to listen to it makes me want to dance.
Boogie woogie yeahh.

Thank you very much @laviesta , from what I can see in your avatar thumbnail, looks like you play keys as well? Oops! I see now you are at some sort of desk ha ha ha
I play some ragtime, some old standards like "The Maple Lear Rag, Alexander's Ragtime Band," and one of my favorites "Yes! We have no bananas" ha ha ha, but I'm really more of a love song guy.

Take 9257, huh? 😂😂💔That cracked me up Sir. The song is even more funny. I'd never heard of it until just now. You played it beautifully though. I see that this community is filled with a lot of people that can sing and play at the same time. Definitely still a high hurdle for me to cross 😅.

Nice one ✨🔥.

Hi there @drstrings ( does the name imply you are a violinist? Guitarist? ha ha ha)
I've met other musicians during the 56 yrs since I started taking lessons, who
A. could not play without the music in front of them (couldn't memorize)
B. couldn't sing along with themselves playing
These things always baffled me, because it comes so natural to me.

@purplesinger was saying I must be a perfectionist, which I deny, but later it reminded me that WAY back in the beginning of my lessons, (Insultingly simple stuff to me now) I would go home and practice the lessons (both reading the music and playing the songs) but when I got back to the next lesson with my teacher, my 11 yr old hands would fumble and I would get SO MAD that I would strike the keyboard out of frustration. Even cry real tears.
To this day I can't stand watching Jerry Lee Lewis because of the way he pounds on the piano with his feet, butt etc.

Wow my friend, we haven't had the honor of listening to you! we love your good vibes, your style! this song is without a doubt very catchy and you have given it an incredible personal touch, you have talent to spare! and the truth is how fascinating this has been, I enjoyed it from beginning to end. Bravoo! thank you for your participation!😇

jpg.png

Thank you for this lavish praise, I'm not, accustomed to it (but it is appreciated nonetheless)
I've only recently started back to practicing and I can't get all my equipment working right but I'll keep trying

You are doing a great job dear friend, we hope to see you week after week in this community that welcomes great artists like you with open arms. And don't worry, for sure you will soon find the sound you are looking for with your equipment. See you soon!

Thanks again

Well done!...not an easy song at all.

Thank you, I did not do a good job on it after all the time spent trying to get the sound right I was frustrated and tired

I think maybe you are a perfectionist...perhaps cut yourself some slack. I enjoyed listening.

Maybe not a perfectionist, but I know how I used to be able to get it out, which was better.
You hang on and watch, these weekly videos are giving me the impetus to get back on the horse.

I need to revive that income stream, as well as have that emotional lift and outlet I got from performing for the old folks.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @jerrytsuseer.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more