Hive Open Mic | Week 51 | We Are The World (Piano Cover)

in Hive Open Mic3 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak

Hive Open Mic Week 51 - Theme - Unity

Greetings community members!

There's one song that came to mind as soon as I thought of 'Unity' and that was 'We are the world'

Some fun facts about the song :

  1. This is a charity single originally recorded by the supergroup USA for Africa in 1985
  2. It was written by Michael Jackson and Lionel Richie and produced by Quincy Jones and Michael Omartian.
  3. It sold over 20 million copies making it the eighth best-selling physical single of all time.
  4. Lionel Richie, Stevie Wonder, Kenny Rogers, Tina Turner, Billy Joel, Michael Jackson, Diana Ross, Bruce Springsteen and Bob Dylan were some of the big names involved in this project.
  5. The song raised over $63 million for humanitarian aid in Africa and the US.

**Song Lyrics **

There comes a time
When we heed a certain call
When the world must come together as one
There are people dying
Oh, and it's time to lend a hand to life
The greatest gift of all

We can't go on
Pretending day-by-day
That someone, somewhere soon make a change
We're all a part of God's great big family
And the truth, you know, love is all we need

We are the world
We are the children
We are the ones who make a brighter day, so let's start giving
There's a choice we're making
We're saving our own lives
It's true we'll make a better day, just you and me

Oh, send them your heart
So they know that someone cares
And their lives will be stronger and free
As God has shown us by turning stones to bread
And so we all must lend a helping hand

When you're down and out, there seems no hope at all
But if you just believe there's no way we can fall
Well, well, well, well let us realize
Oh, that a change can only come
When we stand together as one, yeah, yeah, yeah


This is my first entry to Hive Open Mic and I hope you like this piano rendition of the song.



▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Hello @nithwit

You play very nicely, the song by itself is very nice too, and your cover is beautiful. It was a pleasure to listen to it.

Can you tell us a bit more about you or describe your choice of song, we would appreciate it. Thank you in advance 🎶

Hi @mipiano
Thank you so much for your kind words. Really appreciate it :)
Apologies for not adding a description to the video earlier. I had uploaded it via 3speak and wasn't able to edit it later due to resource credits. I'm new to the platform and I'm still figuring out how to go about the basics.

That being said - Your page was probably one of the first ones I came across here.
Your music videos have inspired me to record and put up regular videos of playing the keyboard.

Thank you once again @mipiano !

You are welcome :)

I am glad that my videos inspired you, wow that is just great!!

I see you added the description now, that is great too. When you upload to 3speak, you can write in the description field, so you don't have to edit later.
How I do lately is that I first write a draft (I am using PeakD) and copy that with all the links if I want to add (like a photo or another video or whatever) to the description in 3speak and publish there.

I wish you all the best here and waiting for more great piano playing 👌 🎵

This is a very lovely instrumental cover of this song. You play very well, it was a joy to listen to you. Thank you for sharing. 💚

Thank you so much @holisticmom 😄
I appreciate you taking the time out to listen to this. It was my first entry for Hive Open Mic Week and I hope to continue participating and contributing here.

Congratulations @nithwit! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 300 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 400 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the April 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Day - April 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

Me encantó felicidades

Gracias @diosmarymaiz1
Thank you so much! 😄

Yay! 🤗
Your post has been boosted with Ecency Points.
Continue earning Points just by using https://ecency.com, every action is rewarded (being online, posting, commenting, reblog, vote and more).

Support Ecency, check our proposal:
Ecency: https://ecency.com/proposals/141
Hivesigner: Vote for Proposal

Buen cover...

Thank you so much @nelsonnils 😄

Thank you for joining in and enjoying Hive Open Mic

Oh fun, I feel so happy hearing this song, perfectly fitting of this week's "Unity" theme, presented in such a good way. The sound you're achieving is incredible. I hope you'll come again and share more of your musical gifts with the Hive Open Mic community. We welcome you.

Thank you so much for listening and your kind words @cabelindsay 😄
I must say I'm really enjoying the kind of artists you've brought together under this amazing community, and it's all credit to you! Thank you for welcoming me and I definitely hope to be a regular contributor to the Hive Open Mic Community 🙏

Where are you now?

Found you by accident and came to find out more...

Hey Nicky, Glad you stumbled upon my videos by accident. Thank you for leaving me messages as well. You must have figured out that I haven't posted anything for about two years now. Your notifications got me back onto the platform :)

Oh... I'm sorry to drag you back onto social media if you found another way to create and be joyful. Do tell where you've been, please?

I loved your posts and vibe :)

You seem like a really gentle, genuine human and we have very similar ethos and tastes in music as well!

Hello 👋