HIVE OPEN MIC WEEK #119 - CHANGES BY TUPAC SHAKUR

in Hive Open Mic2 years ago

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Hive open mic community, here’s my cover of a classic hit song by Tupac Shakur titled Changes. In line with the week’s theme “Prejudice”

This song is about the racial issues on the streets, and how everyone knows that it will never change; there will always be poverty and homeless people and violence on the streets, "Some things will never change."
I personally feel the song (Changes) have a unique sound and a perfect message that express over things that matters to everyday life.

Also, I want to use this opportunity
To appreciate the love and warm reception y’all showed me just on my introductory post, Thank you!

I hope you guys enjoy my entry.

VOCALS

That's just the way it is
Things'll never be the same
That's just the way it is
Aww yeah
That's just the way it is
Things'll never be the same
That's just the way it is
Aww yeah

LYRICS

I see no changes, wake up in the morning and I ask myself:
"Is life worth living? Should I blast myself?"
I'm tired of being poor and, even worse, I'm black
My stomach hurts so I'm looking for a purse to snatch
Cops give a damn about a negro
Pull the trigger, kill a nigga, he's a hero
"Give the crack to the kids: who the hell cares?
One less hungry mouth on the welfare!"
First ship 'em dope and let 'em deal to brothers
Give 'em guns, step back, watch 'em kill each other
"It's time to fight back," that's what Huey said
Two shots in the dark, now Huey's dead
I got love for my brother
But we can never go nowhere unless we share with each other
We gotta start making changes
Learn to see me as a brother instead of two distant strangers
And that's how it's supposed to be
How can the Devil take a brother if he's close to me?
I'd love to go back to when we played as kids
But things change... and that's the way it is

That's just the way it is
Things'll never be the same
That's just the way it is
Aww yeah
That's just the way it is
Things'll never be the same
That's just the way it is
Aww yeah

I see no changes, all I see is racist faces
Misplaced hate makes disgrace to races
We under, I wonder what it takes to make this
One better place, let's erase the wasted
Take the evil out the people, they'll be acting right
'Cause both Black and White are smoking crack tonight
And the only time we chill is when we kill each other
It takes skill to be real, time to heal each other
And although it seems heaven-sent
We ain't ready to see a black president
It ain't a secret, don't conceal the fact:
The penitentiary's packed, and it's filled with blacks
But some things will never change
Try to show another way, but you staying in the dope game
Now tell me, what's a mother to do?
Being real don't appeal to the brother in you
You gotta operate the easy way
"I made a G today," but you made it in a sleazy way
Selling crack to the kids
"I gotta get paid!", well hey, but that's the way it is

That's just the way it is
Things'll never be the same
That's just the way it is
Aww yeah
That's just the way it is
Things'll never be the same
That's just the way it is
Aww yeah

We gotta make a change
It's time for us as a people to start making some changes
Let's change the way we eat, let's change the way we live
And let's change the way we treat each other
You see the old way wasn't working
So it's on us to do what we gotta do to survive

And still I see no changes
Can't a brother get a little peace?
It's war on the streets and a war in the Middle East
Instead of war on poverty
They got a war on drugs so the police can bother me
And I ain't never did a crime I ain't have to do
But now I'm back with the facts giving it back to you
Don't let 'em jack you up, back you up
Crack you up and pimp-smack you up
You gotta learn to hold your own
They get jealous when they see you with your mobile phone
But tell the cops they can't touch this
I don't trust this, when they try to rush I bust this
That's the sound of my tool
You say it ain't cool, my mama didn't raise no fool
And as long as I stay black, I gotta stay strapped
And I never get to lay back
'Cause I always got to worry 'bout the payback
Some buck that I roughed up way back
Coming back after all these years
"Rat-a-tat-tat-tat-tat!" That's the way it is

That's just the way it is
Things'll never be the same
That's just the way it is
Aww yeah
(You're my brother, you're my sister)
That's just the way it is
Things'll never be the same
That's just the way it is
Aww yeah

Some things'll never change

SOURCE

https://www.songfacts.com/facts/2pac/changes

https://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/2pac/changes.html


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Super smooth 🤍✨

I appreciate bruv ✊🏿

Hola, @paulzeks, tocas muy bien el piano, y la melodía de esa canción es muy bella. La letra es muy fuerte, la denuncia de una pesadilla que ojalá fuera solo un mal sueño y no estuviera ocurriendo en la realidad. Las cosas sí pueden cambiar para bien, pero todos tenemos qué poner de nuestra parte para que esto ocurra. Gracias por regalarnos ese sonido maravilloso de tu piano. Cierto que la letra de esta canción está muy acorde con el tema de la semana. Saludos desde Venezuela. Éxito en el evento.

Hello @paulzeks, you play the piano very well, and the melody of that song is very beautiful. The lyrics are very strong, the denunciation of a nightmare that hopefully was just a bad dream and wasn't happening in reality. Things can change for the better, but we all have to do our part to make this happen. Thank you for giving us that wonderful sound of your piano. It is true that the lyrics of this song are very much in keeping with the theme of the week. Greetings from Venezuela. Success in the event.

Thank you 🙏🏿

genial tus dedos se mueven con gran tecnica excellente song

Gracias 🙏🏿

Qué hermoso suena! Me encantó tu forma de tocar 😍 es la primera vez que escucho un arreglo así 😍

Gracias 😊

This is so smooth....
Sincerely, you are a badass pianist boss...

I appreciate mehn! ✊🏿

Wow brother! I love this song! Detailing the keyboard notes of your wonderful melody is extremely rewarding. Excellent cover, thanks for the great music. 🙏🎆✨👊😃🎼🤩🎵🎵🍻💯🎶💥🎊⭐😎🎉👏👏

I love it, thanks mehn! ✊🏿

Hola, @paulzeks, me hubiera gustado mucho escucharte tocar el piano, por los comentarios puedo apreciar que lo hiciste muy bien. Y la canción está muy dentro dela temática exigida. Lamentablemente en la laptop donde publico no se abre 3speak porque el internet necesita ser mejor. Acá solo me abre youtube. De todas formas te deseo éxito en el evento. Saludos desde Venezuela donde también necesitamos que cambien muchas cosas (Una de ellas, la calidad de internet en la zona en que vivo)

Hello @paulzeks, I would have liked very much to hear you play the piano, I can see from the comments that you did very well. And the song is very much within the required theme. Unfortunately, on the laptop where I publish, 3speak does not open because the internet needs to be better. Here only youtube opens for me. Anyway, I wish you success in the event. Greetings from Venezuela where we also need many things to change (One of them, the quality of the internet in the area where I live)

It will be on my YouTube channel soon, I’m sorry for that. Thank you!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @daniel2001 ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

wow! incredible piano melody friend, I'm also a pianist and I really loved it, I use a program to transfer the piano audio directly to the computer to avoid external noise. Really, that style of making arpeggios and the subtlety with which you play is very similar to the style that I usually have, to that sound essence that is very pleasant. Keep making good content.

I appreciate!

Wow🤩 amigo exelente tocas muy bien me gustó escucharte 🥰 saludos

Congratulations @paulzeks! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 400 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.
You made more than 10 comments.
Your next target is to reach 50 comments.
You got more than 10 replies.
Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Oh wow brother, what a splendid presentation, first of all we want to welcome you to our global Harmony, we are sure you will be delighted, here we support each other, valuing each other's work.

It's a masterful entry to start your beginning, we are anxious to see your next entries! please don't stop! hugs! thank you.😇

img_0.6274940769417099

Thank you, I appreciate!

Wow this song it's very good because the message. I like a Lot your interpretation and cover of this song clássic. You play very well the piano. I like too much this cover!
Blessings and all the Best for you

Thank you, I appreciate! ✊🏿

🙏☺️👏

Nice presentation...... and great choice of song too

I appreciate

such a fresh and deep vibes, I loved the arrangement and the harmony, you play beautifully, thanks for sharing.

Thank you 🙏🏿

Wow, you play beautifully!
And that's a great tune for sure!
Thanks for sharing!

Thank You! 😊

Oh my @paulzeks this is super cool.

I loved every bit of it.

Thank you @bernice001 i preciate

Greetings friend, receive a big greeting from me!!!

We welcome you to this beautiful community where you can show us your great talent.

You play the piano magnificently and I love it! Keep on bringing us good music through your instrument as you do it excellently well Ok!!!

My recommendation is that you can also support the other users because in this way you will encourage and create many bonds of friendship that will help you in some way or another to grow even more!

Blessings, a giant hug!

Greetings… thank you

Fantastic Bro 🥳👍🏻 you have a wonderful talent with the keyboard, and good theme for the week

I appreciate ✊🏿

I love this, it is so beautiful.

You are so good with the piano man, the song choice is perfect for me.

Thank you 🙏🏿

You're welcome :)

Wow, this is great performance
I totally love it

wonderful entry, I enjoyed it immensely, congratulations!

I join to say no to racism.
Thanks for performing with this great song.
!ALIVE

@paulzeks! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ddn688. (3/20)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Thank you for the support