Hive Open Mic Week 174 'Run'

in Hive Open Mic9 months ago

Hello Hivers, I hope you're all having a good week.

The theme 'Beacon of Light' had me feeling a bit concerned because I didn't think I knew any songs about light...but actually when I started looking through some songs, I found several.

The one I settled on is 'Run' originally sung by British band Snow Patrol. It was released in 2004 and is probably one of their best known songs.

The story of the song being written isn't a romantic one. Gary lightbody, the lead singer and also the writer of this song, said he wrote it shortly after falling down a flight of stairs whilst drunk. He injured himself and and knocked some of his teeth out. He says the words 'light up light up' in the chorus were supposed to give a sense of a beacon.

The song was covered in 2007 by British singer Leona Lewis. I think this is a good example of when the cover was actually better than the original. I've included the links so you can judge for yourself.

Here is the Snow Patrol version

And the Leona Lewis' version

Sort:  

Aww I love this toon -- your voice really does it justice 💙 💗 💖

Nice presentation
Well-done 👏

Thank you so much

You're welcome

Hmm beautiful song dear
This is my first time of hearing this but you made it more interesting to hear
You did a great job on the presentation

Thank you so much for listening to my recording and stopping by to leave a kind comment.

You're welcome 🤗

Beautiful voice. I wish I could sing one day. You sing with your soul! 😻🐈🐈

Thank you for listening and leaving your kind comment.

This is amazing Barbara!:) Such wonderful playing... amazing skills!:) Absolutely love your voice too!:) I will say hello over on YouTube :)

Thank you so much for listening and leaving such a lovely comment.

Congratulations @purplesinger! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 1000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Be ready for the October edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - October 1st 2023