Hive Open Mic Week 63 "Storyteller".....The Blacksmith

This is a cover of a Steeleye Span version of this old English folk song, I thought it fitted perfectly with the theme of Storyteller as the song is being sung by a woman telling the story of how she came to be pregnant by a man she loved, but who was actually two timing her, some women's stories just never change through the anuls of time.

I have loved Steeleye Span for at least 20 years after I heard Two Butchers on the radio once and it was like a switch had been flicked on inside me to not just them as a band but folk music in general.

It's not such a cool thing to admit to, that you love folk music, but some of the melodies are just so beautiful they can't be ignored and The Blacksmith is the perfect example of this, I think it's so beautiful and mournful.

I was so blessed to have my wonderful friends help me record this, please pop over to @queenoftheworld @audiohive-me and @holisticmom and check out their entries too!

Here are the lyrics to the song:

A blacksmith courted me nine months or better
He fairly won my heart, wrote me a letter
With his hammer in his hand he looked so clever
And if I were with my love I would live forever

Oh where has my love gone with his cheeks like roses
He is gone across the sea gathering primroses
I'm afraid the shining sun might burn and scorch his beauty
And if I were with my love I would do my duty

Strange news is a-come to town, strange news is carried
Strange news flies up and down that my love is married
Oh I wish them both great joy, though they don't hear me
And if I were with my love I would do my duty

What did you promise me when you lay beside me
You said you'd marry me and not deny me
If I said I'd marry you twas only to try you
So bring your witness love and I'll not deny you

O, witness have I none save God Almighty
And may He reward you well for the slighting of me
Her lips grew pale and wan; it made her poor heart tremble
For to think she had loved one, and he proved deceitful

A blacksmith courted me, nine months and better
He fairly won my heart; he wrote me a letter
With his hammer in his hand, he looked so clever
And if I were with my love, I would live forever

Sort:  

Are there enough hearts I could sent your way? Let us try:

💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚

Ow, Beautiful !!!

Thank you so much 💓💗💛

Beautiful!...I got excited when I saw the title of this post....

I am familiar with this tune because of Andy Irvine and Planxty...One of these days I will by a Bouzouki and learn it.

One of my favourite female singers also has a fantastic version of it....

Wow such beautiful versions! A close friend of mine plays the bazouki, maybe I can get him to play it for me!

I'm visiting you after seeing that you are the spotlight video for this week! Congratulations hehehe

and my goodness - you guys all did wonderfully!

I love the mixture of all the instruments!! and your voice ties it all together so wonderfully!! I can't pick a favorite person to listen to hehehe
every time i think - ooooh i love this - then I hear another instrument - another accent - and I'm just loving the whole mix!!!

Can't wait to hear more from you!!! :)

Thank you so much, I'm very lucky to have such talented friends that can help me out, I dont know what I'd do without them ❤

hehehe definitely making music with friends is one of the greatest combination of gifts we have!!! music - and friends!!! :)

You sing so beautifully Anna. I really love this song too and have now unashamedly saved this in my "folk playlist" on YouTube 🤗😁

I had heaps of fun practicing and putting these together with you all. Big hugs and I hope you managed to get some sleep after posting this 💚🤗🤗💚

Whoa, what a pleasant surprise seeing (and hearing) the four of you making music together. How fun! Each of you brings abundant talent to the mix. I feel like I'm right there with you, shaking a maraca or something. This song feels perfectly fitting of our "Storyteller" theme, of course. "Beautiful and mournful" sums it up nicely. Well played everyone! Wonderful.

Thank you for joining in and enjoying Hive Open Mic

Thank you so much, we have had such a wonderful time this week practicing then recording together.

Logo-comments2.pngYour post was reblogged by us and received a (still) small vote from the Music community on Hive.

Do you want to get involved? Do you want to support music and this project? Follow us to keep you updated and read our Introduction post!

Congratulations @thecryptidcrone! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 1250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP