Brian of London Will be Brian in Mexico: Going to HiveFest!

in HiveFest8 months ago

hivebuzz-orca-120.png

Support Proposal 265 on PeakD
Support Proposal 265 with Hivesigner
Support Proposal 265 on Ecency
Vote for Brianoflondon's Witness KeyChain or HiveSigner

This is a value for value post: see the explanation in the footer.


I pulled the trigger on a pretty epic flight to get to Rosarito!

Tel Aviv to Frankfurt, Frankfurt to Mexico City and the Mexico City to Tiujana.

All in all Google records that 14,800km or 9,200 miles. You can't even see I'm leaving from Israel because it's off the side of the globe.

image.png

Travel

I'm leaving Israel (and thanks to the magic of time zones) arriving in Tiujana on Tuesday 19th Sept. It's more than 24 hours each way and that's with minimal lay overs of 2 to 3 hours.

Speaking

I've asked to be a speaker... now I just have to settle on what I want to say but it'll probably involve v4v.app, Podcast 2.0 and Hive in general.

Sponsorship

Last year, because Amsterdam was pretty cheap for me, I actually gave a Gold sponsorship. This year, if you'll excuse me, I don't have the financial capacity for that as these flights and the hotel are pretty high end from this far away!

Let's make sure we meet!

If you are specifically interested in meeting me and you're going to be there, make sure to get in touch! I'm in the HiveFest group on Telegram so you can find me from there.

Coming Soon: Point of Sale POS on v4v.app

I'm working on an upgrade to v4v.app and a major new POS - Point of Sale page.

Anyone (without being logged in) can ask for an amount in Hive or HBD and it will show a QR code:

image.png

You can chose to accept Hive, HBD or Lightning (which pays to HBD) and show either a QR for Hive or Lightning.

The other person needs to have Hive Keychain installed and this will open up and ask the payer to confirm to pay with Hive or HBD.

If the other person has a Lightning wallet, you can accept Lightning with just a tap on the selector at the top of the screen!

This will be available as a web app: nothing to install, nothing to be blocked, no keys stored and very simple to use.


Value for Value

For the last few months while building @v4vapp I was generously supported by the DHF. Going forward I have a much more modest support which covers direct server costs and a little of my time.

If you appreciate the work I do on and around Hive, you can express this directly: upvoting posts on Hive is great. Also consider a direct donation (there's a Tip button on Hive or a Lightning Address) on all my posts.

Support Proposal 265 on PeakD
Support Proposal 265 with Hivesigner
Support Proposal 265 on Ecency
Vote for Brianoflondon's Witness KeyChain or HiveSigner


Send Lightning to Me!

Sort:  

Holy crap Brian! A PoS for v4v...would there be a way to...inject this code into a website, say on a Store page to accept those payments for merch/goods/services?

If so, this will be huge for helping enable easier adoption of Hive payments, similarly to how Hive Keychain is pushing their "Store" feature!

For a website i've already built the API to do this. In fact v4v.app is just using my own API behind the scenes. Look back at old posts of mind for API.v4v.app/docs and you'll find instructions for doing the Lightning. It can be added so easily to any website.

I'm thinking now that I can also add the Hive QR generation to the API but the base code for that is Javascript. If I can somehow do that in Python I can add it to my API.

We need to connect to Shopify.
If Hive had a Shopify APP that would be cool

Since Amazon just announced they're introducing their logistics integration with Shopify, they will have the biggest and most extensive e-commerce suite of services offered by any single entity, in the world.

I agree, having an open-source Hive integration with Shopify (or Amazon) would be huge!

Like BTCPayServer, but for Hive!

👍🏻 Great to hear you will be present with „Hive Podcasting“ on Hivefest, Brian! There is certainly a lot to talk about. In my view this whole V4V podcasting is growing steadily. Personally I only listen to podcasts via FountainApp, will do a post about it the coming weeks since the Sats you get there are nicely adding up over time, even though you stream and boost some away.

And hey, if you have a longer stopover in Frankfurt, we maybe could meet for a coffee there at the airport. It’s about 1,5 hours from where I live. What day is that you are there?

I'm sorry I really only have a couple of hours stop in each direction. The trip is so long I really tried to minimize layovers!

That’s fine. If it doesn’t work we will certainly meet some other day.
Not in Mexico though. Doesn’t fit in my working schedule and also would stretch my budget quite a lot. 🤷🏼‍♂️
We will see where and when next Hivefest 2024 will take place.

so you also can't go US :) that would get my price down for almost 50%. had no idea Mexico would be so complicated and expensive for me.

Have fun, maybe we cross paths on the next one. @lordbutterfly organizing one somewhere at the sea in Croatia? 👀

I'd definitely find Croatia easier to get to!

We shall see. :)

Glad to hear this. You are very talented man. I myself am very fond of going to such events where we can meet people with whom we have been working for a long time, but due to the deteriorating situation in Pakistan, I have not been able to do so yet. I could not go, but my effort is that I must go to the upcoming events and meet the people because the inflation has become very high in Pakistan today and there is no job at all.

Wow. That’s like half way around the world. Wish I could be there. Maybe next year when Bitcoin hits 1,000,000

This is great to hear. I am still hoping to attend my first hive meetup someday 🥺

Good luck to you at HiveFest and hope it brings good things to Hive.

Señor Brian de Londres, see you there

Good for the Hive community! ❤

Can't wait to hear you on hivefest.

Have fun and wishing you all the best there!
Unable to go once again. Miss everyone there.

If anyone wants to try the new Point of Sale option:

https://dev.v4v.app/pos

It's highly experimental and the input screens are slowly improving. There's kind of a calculator vibe if you use it on desktop but on mobile I let the phone's keyboard do the work.

can say that it works.

i see there is a "countdown" on the QR code, i assume it is for lightning?

for hive/hbd is just a QR code for transaction on the chain? so it should work forever?

Absolutely right, the countdown is really for Lightning invoices which are limited.

For the Hive ones I just adopt the same idea so that if they aren't paid it just reverts back to the original screen. Nothing really happens.

Congratulations @brianoflondon! You received a personal badge!

Thank you for donating to the Travel Reimbursement Fund and demonstrating that community support truly exists on Hive.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Be ready for the September edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - September 1st 2023

That's a great one. I hope you enjoyed your stay in Isreal. Also, how can I join the Hivefest telegram group

Congratulations @brianoflondon! You received a personal badge!

You raised your Hive Power every day of the month! Enjoy better curation reward and more to say in governance.
Participate in the next Power Up month to get another one!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Be ready for the September edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - September 1st 2023

Congratulations @brianoflondon! Your post has been a top performer on the Hive blockchain and you have been rewarded with this rare badge

Post with the highest payout of the day.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Be ready for the September edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - September 1st 2023

Congratulations @brianoflondon! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - August 2023 Winners List
Be ready for the September edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - September 1st 2023

Good for you. I won't be going, but then I just did a trip to Canada and USA so my bank account needs to recover. I hope there will be future events in Europe.

Do you have any feel for how Hive does in Israel? Is there any buzz about it?

Unfortunately there's not much Hive here in Israel besides myself and @apshamilton (who brought me in!).

There actually are about 3 other Israelis that I follow on Hive.