Locked in a Bank after hours,

in Silver Bloggerslast year (edited)

I couldn't think of a subject to write about in my post this week. Then while chatting to my dear friend @lizelle the other day, she reminded me of the time I was locked inside the Bank.

Omg!...that was a day and a half, I laugh about it now, but at the time, it was a very unpleasant experience.
So I thought I'd share my hair raising story with you.

I was employed as a Banking Clerk for seventeen years before retiring a few years ago.

I had this terrible phobia of being locked inside the Bank after hours.

So the story goes like this.

It was just the beginning of the Summer rains around the month of October in which we experienced some unusual rain falls in Kwa Zulu Natal South Africa.

Some how, with all the rain the Bank got flooded in the teller area and back office where I had my desk.

There was talk of closing the bank early that day, I didn't take much notice as I was concentrating on catching up on my backlog of work due to my weeks leave.

While my Manager was deciding whether to close the Bank for business or not, as the tellers couldn't operate and service the clients.
Well... I decided to continue with my work in another empty office on the other side of the Banking Hall.

engin-akyurt-q7lwESiO71E-unsplash.jpg
Source of image: Engin Akyurt - Unsplash

I closed the office door so not to be disturbed by the customers drifting in looking for a Consultant.
Anyway, oblivious to what was happening outside my little den a couple of hours had passed by.

Suddenly I felt uneasy, I could hear the phones ringing continuously in the distance, but couldn't hear the normal chatter, of people or staff members, just the phones ringing continuously. It seemed everyone was so excited to leave early, that they'd forgotten about me in the other office.
Suddenly I felt my automatic nervous system move into overdrive...Oh yes!, panic stations.

I opened the door of the office and looked across the hall, it was deserted, my worst nightmare had suddenly materialized.

alexander-krivitskiy-lotr1HIu_O8-unsplash.jpg
Source of Image: Alexander Krivitskiy - Unsplash

I knew if I stepped out of the office I would set the alarms off and I'd have security here in no time...being in the Banking environment and having security procedures rammed down one's throat, I was quite aware what could happen, it could turn out quite dramatically for me.

The security phone numbers were pasted on the wall in the back office. I had to get there to phone the key holder and the person with the code to stop the alarms and let me out.

I felt panic rise up inside me, my mouth was dry and my heart felt like it was going to pop out my mouth at anytime.

I had to make a dash for it I had no option, but I would have to be fast... I mean really fast.

As I stepped out of the office space, the alarms went off, I could feel them vibrating in my ears, I've never moved so fast in my entire life, I think Usain Bolt would've been in competition with me that day.

The list of numbers on the wall suddenly looked foreign to me, I just couldn't comprehend what I was looking at, there wasn't time to have a panic attack now I thought taking a deep breath, then nervously dialed the first number on the list.

lisa-gageler-4mpdsBQ8hSI-unsplash.jpg
Source of Image: Lisa Gageler - Unsplash

I grabbed my handbag and went and sat in the middle of the banking hall where everyone could see me.
I was sure the security would be the first to arrive, I wanted to be visible, so that I wasn't shot at by any officer who might've thought I was a miscreant or bank robber.

Fortunately, the key holder and person with the code arrived first, laughing their heads off at the sight of me.
Well!...the next morning an urgent staff meeting was called, some heads rolled including my Supervisor, because the security officer on duty didn't check all the offices like he should've and she was supposed to check with him , especially the ones with closed doors.

After that day, I made sure I was the first one out of the office, I wasn't ever going to be locked in again.
Not a pleasant experience at all.

untitled.gif
Don't get locked inside a Bank after hours Hehe!

image.png

HIVE SILVER BLOGGERS SUBSCRIPTION LINK:

If you're between the ages of 40 and 100 and have a passion for blogging and cryptocurrency plus have some wisdom to share, please stop by and subscribe to the new exciting Hive Silver Bloggers Community that is already attracting some of the best talent here on Hive.

Hive animated divider 1.gif

Thank you for stopping by.

All photos property of @artywink / Unless otherwise stated.
Original content by @artywink

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @artywink ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Oh my God! It might be a bit funny while reading it now but I'm sure it was not a pleasant experience. I never liked being the last one to leave the office when I worked, but being almost stuck in an empty bank is quite a nightmare.

 last year  

It was at the time, my colleagues thought it was very funny, when I think about it now, it's very funny and I can at least laugh about it.

Hello @artywink

I'm part of the Silver Bloggers’ Community Team.

Thank you for sharing your excellent post in the Silver Bloggers community! As a special "token" of appreciation for this contribution to our community, it has been upvoted, reblogged, and curated.

Cheers!
@coquicoin

silver_blogsilver_white.png

 last year  

Thank you so much @hive-106316 and @coquicoin, for all your support. Much appreciated.
Thank you so much for stopping by.

It must not have been pleasant to stay there, I have been alone in the office and it usually feels a little scary, plus I learned some time ago that sometimes working overtime is not recognized you can do 999 things right and you do one wrong and that is the one that has more weight is amazing how they forget everything else, fortunately you had how to solve to get out of there, or you would have had to sleep in the bench, hahahaha.

 last year  

Yes you're right @actioncats, sleeping in the office did cross my mind, but alls well that ends well. Lol
Thanks for stopping by.

OMG! That totally beats my getting locked in the lavatory!

So glad you can laugh about it now. It must have been very scary.

 last year  

It was at the time @fionasfavourites, I wonder though, which is worse getting locked in the lavatory or a bank.Lol.
Thanks for passing by, have a great day.

I don't think either is good. I think if nobody knew I was there, I'd be very concerned...

Happy Monday!

 last year  

I shudder to think what would've happened either way. Have a great Monday and rest of the week, go well @fionasfavourites.
God bless.

Oh @artywink, I could feel your stress as I read along and certainly an uncomfortable experience never to be forgotten. I am thinking that after your little trauma, the bank's improved security steps were updated and never left any worker stranded in the bank ever again. 💚

 last year  

A lot of heads rolled that day, the security was most definitely tightened up after that.
Not a nice experience at all.
Thank you @angiemitchell for stopping by.
Have a wonderful week.

 last year  

I remember when that happened, I would most definitely have had a major panic attack!
Isn't it great that we can share our life experiences (good/bad/fun) here on Hive 🤗

 last year  

Oh yes, absolutely, that's why I love Hive, it's not about making dollars although that helps too, but it's about having fun and sharing our experiences, happy or sad with others.
Have a great week my friend.

That is not something anyone would enjoy living through, locked in a place unable to move around, encounters of the worst kind!

!LUV

 last year  

Sending much love back.
Thanks for stopping by.

 last year  

It was for sure @joanstewart something I don't want to experience again.
Thank you so much for stopping by...have a great day.

Not pleasant, sure you checked out slightly earlier after that ☺️, my phobia is with lifts being stuck between floors, hence I prefer to walk stairs to avoid them completely where possible.

You popped into my head today while I was out walking. I'm not sure what I was even thinking about because open skies and beautiful landscapes...

So I came to say hello (because I do try to stay connected to good people!) and found this 😁

What a cool story! Isn't always the ones that never worked out as planned that make the best ones? And isn't strange that your worst fear happened? I bet it isn't your worst fer anymore. Is it? Do tell!

 last year  

Aww...thank you @nickydee, you always have such kind words to say. Yep, it was an unpleasant experience, but... at least I can look back and chuckle about it.
An no, it's not my worst nightmare anymore Lol!
Thank you so much for taking the time to read my post.
Have the best day ever.

Glad to hear it :) You made it out.

My pleasure. It was a good story and I'm going to be telling it to people for sure!

Happy days to you too 😘🌺

 last year  

untitled.gif