Princes and Princesses / #BOM

in Silver Bloggers2 years ago (edited)

It's that time of the month again #BOM, and the New theme for Tuesday 20th September is!
"Where were you when they happened?".

Well!... I can think of a good few events that took place and made National News over the years.

For instance...JF Kennedy the 35th president of the United State's assassination in 1963, the sad event happened on my 10th birthday, we heard it over the radio as we didn't have the privilege of television in South Africa back then.
That event had the old folk talking and exchanging views for months on end.

Then there was the Moon landing on July 29th 1969 when Niel Armstrong and Edwin Aldrin became the first humans to land on the moon, I remember the excitement very well amongst the youth.

Then in 1994, Nelson Mandela became our president until 1999. that was a very exciting day for most South Africans.

And the most recent event of course, Queen Elizabeth's passing away. Very sad indeed, my condolences to all British people and all those who loved the Queen, may she R.I.P.

Any way!....the most prevalent event that springs to my mind is, the day Prince Charles and Princess Diana got married on the 29th July 1981.
I remember that day sooo well!...my oldest daughter Celeste, six at the time, had a big role to play in this story on that day.

untitled.gif
Image Source:media.tenor.com

There was a lot of excitement for a good few months amongst different households in South Africa, leading up to this event, especially ours...well!...it seemed so anyway. Lol!

Celeste was a very imaginative child, being the eldest of two other siblings, she would always have them on a roll, pretending to be a queen and they would have no option but to be either a princess, or the queens maid, it depended how her imagination directed her that day.

She even had an imaginary friend called Joey, Joey would get blamed for anything that went wrong, it was never Celeste's fault, Joey did it, and that was that.

celeste.jpg
She was so obsessed with Lady Diana at the time, she wanted us to change her name to Diana, it took a great deal of explaining on why it wasn't possible to do that.

ornimants.jpg
Even my ornaments took the brunt of the nostalgia of the Royal Wedding pretending they were Prince Charles and Lady Diana...fortunately these two in the picture were saved from the fate of having to be turfed into the bin after the cracks and breakages were to take its toll.
annie-spratt-_queN6oXK4k-unsplash.jpg
Source Image: Annie Spratt - Unsplash

The day of the Royal wedding arrived.

Oh boy!...did we have trouble that morning getting Celeste ready for school.
She knew the event was going to be broadcast on TV that morning, and wasn't going to miss it for the world.
She had stomachache then toothache, a long list of serious ailments, some of which I've never heard of, was added to her list.
Eventually, we got her to school under a great deal of duress.

charles.jpg
Photo taken with my cellphone from my Television screen.

I had just got Angela, the youngest daughter down for a nap. Candice, then 4 years old, sat with me on the couch waiting in anticipation for the great event to begin, when the phone rang.

It was the Head Mistress of Parkside School, Mss Randle.
"Mrs Wink", I heard her say, "I have Celeste with me in my office, she has been complaining of stomachache all morning and seems quite distressed...the School nurse has checked her out...she doesn't seem to have a temperature at all".
I knew exactly what the problem was, feeling quite guilty that I hadn't let her stay home that day, I decided to play along with Celeste's little charade.
"Yes, she wasn't feeling too good this morning", I replied trying my best to sound convincing, "I think I'll fetch her if you don't mind Mss Randle, what ever it is she's coming down with, I'd rather nip it in the bud".

After the conversation with the School Head Mistress, I fetched Celeste from School and we watched the wedding of Prince Charles and lady Diana.

prinesesses.jpg
Ten years later, Celeste never gave up playing the Queen, she won first prize, Queen of Modeling, and her sibling, Candice on the right of her, 1st Princess.
My girls are all grown up now, after finding their Prince Charming, they're happily raising their own little Princesses and Princes.

Well!...that is my contribution to #bom. I hope you have enjoyed it as much as I did sharing it with you.

HIVE SILVER BLOGGERS SUBSCRIPTION LINK:

If you're between the ages of 40 and 100 and have a passion for blogging and cryptocurrency plus have some wisdom to share, please stop by and subscribe to the new exciting Hive Silver Bloggers Community that is already attracting some of the best talent here on Hive.

Hive animated divider 1.gif

Thank you for stopping by.

All photos property of @artywink
Original content by @artywink

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @artywink ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

What a good family anecdote. I have a vague memory of that wedding day although I remember watching it on TV, I was very young.
Thank you for joining the BOM :)

 2 years ago  

Thank you so much @coquicoin for giving me the opportunity.

😊🤗

Hello @artywink

This is @coquicoin, and I'm part of the Silver Bloggers’ Community Team.

Thank you for sharing your excellent post in the Silver Bloggers community! As a special "token" of appreciation for this contribution to our community, it has been upvoted and curated.

 2 years ago  

Thank you @coquicoin much appreciated.

Such sweet memories of your girls @artywink. My memories of my kids always make me smile and thank goodness we have them to keep forever as they grow up so quickly. Mothering is gone in a flash.

 2 years ago  

You are so right @angiemitchell , we must cherish every moment we have with them.Thanks for stopping by.

😆

You, mama bear, are a legend of a mom! Boom 💥

Lucky Celeste!

We were lucky enough for them to bring tv's into our school classroom that day :)

I also remember this one well!

We girls thought that dress so spectacular.And it was such a lead up to actually seeing the thing.

She was an amazing woman, Diana. Such absolute respect for her honesty, grace and strength.

Well remembered ❤️

 2 years ago  

Diana was awesome, my girls still talk about her, she was a true Princess.
Thank you @nickydee for your kind words and taking the time to read my post.
Have an awesome wonderful day, stay safe.

Although they have done their good works and should not be left aside, I think this huge family has so many events that you can even make a book out of them.

Excellent anecdote, I did not stop reading, your writing is very interesting.

 2 years ago  

Thank you @bleuclair you are so kind. Thank you for taking the time to read my post.
Have an awesome weekend.