I Must Be Silver

in Silver Bloggers2 months ago

IMG_2330.jpeg

I Can No Longer Deny I Am Old ..

But I do like the term Silver better .. I see the differences in the generations everyday. At the store, at Sunday dinners with the family or friends, at work and even on TV. I have entered my Silver Years and am slowly learning to accept that as a good thing. I still have some living to do and some silver to stack.


Speaking of silver to stack, check out that photo above.. My very first silver piece - A Silver Relic! Like me.. A Relic!!! hehehe.. Obviously I am joking. I placed that 1 oz Monarch Egyptian Relic Silver Bar on top of that photo to look like I was holding it. I guess the fact that I think I need to explain that makes me old.

IMG_2331.jpeg

See.. I am not holding a silver bar .. But rather a round plastic ball toy. If I remember right, it had yellow shapes you had to fit into the same shaped slots on the side of the ball. Then the whole thing would pull apart and dump out the pieces so you could have fun fitting them in again. Fun, fun, fun! It was fun, but then again I was 11 months old and it was December of 1975.. No Smart devices.

IMG_2328.jpeg

What do you think of the silver bar? I only bought one of them a long while ago. I paid about $20.00 USD at the time and now I see these for roughly $40.00 on eBay and Etsy. Should have picked up a few more, but then again.. an ounce of silver is an ounce of silver. The cheaper you can get it the better I suppose. At least when it comes to general stacking.

IMG_2329.jpeg

IMG_2327.jpeg

It has a nice feel to it. Nice and shinny and a bit chunky too. Cool design as well.


Pepper's Sympathy Orchid ..


IMG_2332.jpeg

The Orchid is in full bloom now.. The last of the 7 flowers opened a few days ago. We are just loving it! Even though the flowers are white, they are beautiful and remind of us Pepper. That's the best part.. We really miss that little fella. He would have been on my lap right now as I am typing this post. That's one of the big things we miss about him. He LOVED to snuggle up with you. Molly was a more stand off, close by but not on top of you, kind of pup. Pepper was full on in your business. He lover to get picked up off the floor.

IMG_2333.jpeg

The Thanksgiving Cactus is also in bloom .. It started producing another round of buds a few weeks ago, and not a few of them are starting to open up. I moved it to the center of our breakfast table, near the kitchen. We can appreciate those blooms more there then where it was placed before. Furthermore we needed the room. After our most recent trip to the Orchid farm, we had to locate some more sunny spots.. more about that in another post. Time for another Orchid Update post SOON I think. Very exciting stuff.


Don't Deny That Silver Feeling ..


IMG_9374.JPG

I guess that's the point of my ramble tonight.. Not to deny my feelings, and all of those things that drift through my head about being in my silver years. Those I've lost. The memories I've gained. The wisdom.. The would haves, could haves, should haves. The Love of my life aging more beautifully than myself. We've seen a lot so far. We are truly blessed to have had those wonderful furbabies, those years of bliss and those sad times that brought us closer together. The years go by so fast.. but we did enjoy them all.

IMG_2467 (2).JPG

As my 50th year quickly approaches, I can't help to reassess where I've been, where I am going, and what's changing around me as I age. Dare I say that I am looking forward to more?

More Silver ..

Not That Bad Of A Color

Hive text divider.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

Hive text divider.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

Hive text divider.png

8DAuGnTQCLptZgjHUrRAJGcW4y1D4A5QVJJ7zjzqqKdfVHSS6NapSCC8BmeEmMLJjZ3Ay6ahoJxHJf6kMJj1D6s6e6y9ZCYsCGBEGamwwWZoQE3RHPBZQPbusnre67ooQEhxPAA5r5C2is4kNk3TTnw2ZUfjBTfVrEMGaqgSLRt.png

Hive text divider.png

HiveLogo_987437876587576432965_008.jpg

Hive text divider.png

Sort:  

Nice chunk of silver! It's nice you made money already, but I'm like you always wishing I had bought a few more!

Flowers are looking great! I've always heard that as Christmas cactus. Is Thanksgiving cactus the real name? I really don't know!

Thank you! hahaha.. MAD MONEY! A few more but never enough funds.. that's my story. lol

There are three different types. I'll find you a photo explaining the differences...


3_0c611178-7072-4d24-8055-a35ee60db801.webp

Nice photo! I really like that silver bar too! My mom has been going through a bunch of my old photos, so that one really hits home for me. The color scheme and everything. It's just pure nostalgia! I remember someone in my family having a cactus like that, but I can't say as though I ever remember seeing it bloom. I would think I would remember flowers as amazing as those.

My mom has also been sorting out photos for us kids. She just gave me a few hundred and even put them in chronological order and had written on the backs of them over the years. It's been fun reminiscing.

The cactus is beautiful. Flowers are cool and it doesn't take a lot of care. easy to grow.

Easy for you to say!

My two year old has that toy as well, so some things are timeless.

That's a great looking piece! It's interesting how some things increase, decrease, or stay the same in value, and you never know where it'll be years down the road.

I feel like time passes quickly for myself due to having young kids, but the memories are priceless. I'm sure you have many more great memories yet to be made! 😁

!BBH
!DHEDGE

@bdmillergallery! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @bulliontools. (3/20)

Your kidding?! Awesome. I remember having a lot of fun with it.
One never knows if something will increase or decrease in value.. we do our best with the knowledge we have at the time.
Sounds like you are loving being a parent. Enjoy! I hear the years do go by quick, like you said.

I did have a lot of fun with mine as a kid. I remember it going off in my backpack in class and getting it taken away for the day. 😆

We're definitely having fun with the kids. There are rough moments, but they're sweet boys and have a great sense of humor. 😁

As we all love silver and keep collecting it, it is going to benefit us a lot in the future.

I hope so, if not it won't loose much value

That silver is really looking quite classiv

Thank you my friend!

I'm gonna be a silver fox soon 🤣 that's a sick bar I got me one too very nice design !BBH

Embrace the silver change.. lol. The design is different for sure. I like different 😁

Lol I am 🤣 !BBH

@bdmillergallery! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @bitcoinman. (5/50)

@bdmillergallery! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @bitcoinman. (21/50)

Another great Monarch piece

Thank you! Love there stuff.

Time and tide takes us along with sweet memories, beautiful flowers to enjoy.

Piece of silver is an impressive one!

Amen to that! I truly am enjoying the flowers and the silver. More the flowers than the silver.. silver doesn't bloom. 😆

Deeply embedded in us to nurture nature, we enjoy glittery things for value that make us have a feeling of security.

To have a certain age is to have acquired more experience and to see life today in a different way. Enjoy this moment, having grown old together is also a good thing. There is still so much to live for. Your plants look very pretty and those white flowers beautiful. They look like they are well taken care of. Best of health to both of you. Happy week.🤗

Happy Week to you too!
Loving all the plants doing so good. They are happy, so we are happy.
Life is not always good to us, but there is always hope when times are dark. We appreciate the good and the blessed times.

Thank you very much.🥰🤗

Memories make us, the good, the bad and the ugly but at the end, we gotta dwell mostly on the ones that keep us happy and that gives us more strength to keep going.
Silver years is not that bad neither being old, it's a time to celebrate coming this far, some didn't.

It's an excellent time to look back and appreciate all of the blessings in our lives. Oh the Memories

You received an upvote of 100% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Thank you for contributing more great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag.
You have created a Precious Gem!

Thank you stackers! and Ms Mermaid!

Manually curated by ewkaw from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Awwww... Thank you @ewkaw for the support 😁

I'll get myself a Thanksgiving cactus!
Love that silver.
Sorry I missed your article!!!