Let’s Talk New Plants - and - Maybe a Little Silver Too

in Silver Bloggers2 months ago

IMG_2179.jpeg

And Just Like That ..

We have some new additions to our plant family .. Two of them we brought home with us as a gift from my mother, after our visit to Delaware to visit with my parents. And the others we purchased from my niece and her FFA group at school for a BIG $1.00 USD each. hehehe.

That brings the grand total of house plants up to a whopping 42! They add up quickly.


First Up The African Violets ..


IMG_2168.jpeg

African Violets are not violets at all .. But are lovely, small plants that will grow relatively slowly and give year-round blooms. As long as they have what they need; light, water, and food, they will be happy and should continually bloom. You can see a few new buds, just below the flowers, that are on their way up.

IMG_2167.jpeg

On our recent travels to Delaware to see my parents .. My mom had just finished transplanting a couple of new African violets that had spawned from original plants. She wasn’t sure what she was going to do with them so she offered them to us as a gift. I accepted! I’ve always loved admiring her African violets, and even took care of one for a while for her, while they were moving from New Jersey to Delaware. I don’t know why we never took on any of our own, but the wait is over. We now have two of our own thanks to Mom.

Thanks Mom!


We now have A standard, African violet plant that produces a white flower with a purple center, and a smaller purple flowered African violet plant that has a ball like shape to it.


IMG_2166.jpeg

If this new found love for African Violets is anything like our love of orchids, we are in trouble folks! Lol.


Now For The Succulents ..


IMG_2163.jpeg

Five tiny little succulent plants .. and I am not 100% sure exactly what kind they are. We purchased them, spare of the moment, as the FFA group that my niece belongs to, was cleaning up some leftover plants they had from a Valentine’s Day sale. If anyone out there knows what they are, feel free to leave me a comment below. I’ll eventually ask her but I’m not sure she will be 100% sure either what type of succulent it is. I have a lot to learn about African violets and succulents at this point, that it is not funny.

IMG_2162.jpeg

They are small and about the size of a Silver Dollar. I am sure they are going to get much larger than this, so I have to figure out how and in what type of pot I want to plant then. I will probably group them together in some fashion. I may want to pick up another (different) succulent from the hardware store to make a more interesting group of plants. I may even want to incorporate something like a stone or rock. Not sure yet.

IMG_2164.jpeg

I have them grouped together on the counter for now.. They’re sitting in a bright lit area that receives partially filtered sunlight at some point in the afternoon. I don’t plan on leaving them here forever, just buying a little time until we figure out exactly where we would like to place them. I also have to figure out exactly what the needs of the succulents are so I can place them in the right area of our home.

This much I know .. They like bright, direct sun lit areas.

IMG_2165.jpeg

Other Thoughts..

I was recently sitting here in the morning, having my coffee, and thinking about something… Our family of house plants is growing and I am running out of places to set them (Besides directly on the floor). I’ve always liked plant stands, but let’s face it, one stand isn’t going to cut it at this point.

I was browsing Amazon the other day and came across an interesting shaped plant stand with grow lights. I’m highly considering purchasing this for either our growing orchid family or a mix of plants that could use a little extra light and a quite peaceful place to hang out.

IMG_2161.jpeg

For approximately $160 USD I don’t think it’s a bad deal.. I’ve read the reviews and most of them. If not all of them are positive. We will see. I have to run this by my wife first and actually figure out where we will put them. But I have to tell you I am liking this idea. We have a dining room and an additional living room, and also an office space area that we do not use in our house. That might be a good place to start thinking about placement. Or simply next to our TV in our family room might be the answer. Decisions decisions.

I Suppose There Is Always An Alternative Solution..

IMG_2179.jpeg

I am calling it my silver solution!.. Another alternative, but expensive, plant stand could be these 2 ounce, Monarch chunky silver bars. Excellent idea! I love these little chunky bars. They are awesome and just look at them holding that succulent in the air. What a beautiful thing!

IMG_2178.jpeg

I have to tell you, I’m really digging this idea, except for the fact that they would be on display in the kitchen window. That wouldn’t be a problem, other than the fact that those pesky Canadian geese constantly fly over our house from off the lake every day in the morning and then in the evening. I know for a fact they will see these bars and want them for themselves. So the more I think about it, this is not a good idea. I think I will be putting them back into the safe.

4bEjbgCbFMvAGbwxD9CJfJUznpDy21P1gb5kciUwoKrnYbGbNVgJCYqdmBAvcWtt5FThN5HKL9P8s93Se65SWGAkbJ9Fwjc1wqDhWmUej1eV796XgwUgf4R5YsMGFmkQ1aEhJmuFovLzkgbmnV2jMcGTyN1qfsYwkZiqcjGq4ZXuArtPRx.jpg

I rounded up the half dozen bars I had holding up the succulent plant, and I have to tell you they feel great in my hand. The bars are smooth, yet chunky. They have a really nice feel to them as well as a very nice weight. I’ve always enjoyed having these bars in our stack. These little bars were a gift from my parents over the years. Thanks, mom and dad! For now back to the safe they go.

IMG_2176.jpeg

Sorry Succulents ..

I didn’t want to take away your silver, but you have a very nice windowsill to hold you up for now.
I don't think the geese will bother you, but I can't be certain about that.

IMG_2175.jpeg

Well… Maybe not very sunny today, but there’s always tomorrow. Thank you for reading my story everyone! Any advice on succulents or African violence is appreciated.

Hive text divider.png

1-1-18873987476784.png

“Some pirates achieved immortality by great deeds of cruelty or derring-do. Some achieved immortality by amassing great wealth. But the captain had long ago decided that he would, on the whole, prefer to achieve immortality by not dying.”
― Terry Pratchett, The Color of Magic

Hive text divider.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

Hive text divider.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

Hive text divider.png

8DAuGnTQCLptZgjHUrRAJGcW4y1D4A5QVJJ7zjzqqKdfVHSS6NapSCC8BmeEmMLJjZ3Ay6ahoJxHJf6kMJj1D6s6e6y9ZCYsCGBEGamwwWZoQE3RHPBZQPbusnre67ooQEhxPAA5r5C2is4kNk3TTnw2ZUfjBTfVrEMGaqgSLRt.png

Hive text divider.png

HiveLogo_987437876587576432965_008.jpg

Hive text divider.png

Sort:  

There's something about succulents that I always find really fascinating. We used to have a bunch of them in our front flower bed, but I think I killed most of them spraying roundup to keep the weeds out!

Hahaha.. i've done that a few times! I usually am spraying when it's windy and that has come back to bite me a few times. Now I try and wait till the wind dies down in the late evening.

Glad I'm not the only one!

@tipu curate 2

Thank you for the support! I appreciate it 😊

African violets my Dad always had on the kitchen windowsill where they captured late afternoon light, always pretty and not one I have tried to keep.

Succulent appears to be "echeveria, (genus Echeveria), genus of about 150 species of succulent plants in the stonecrop family (Crassulaceae), native from Texas to Argentina"

Chunky bars look great for photography, good to store in a safe place once more!

Happy Sunday!

Yes, I love those chunky monarch bars. My mom must have faith in me to keep these living, otherwise she wouldn't have given them over to me. We will see. So far, they both seem to be happy in their new home.

They will be sure to do well, your mom will check in to see, I am sure....

A novel ideal but will the silver improve the health of these plants?

Hahahaha.. of course it will! Lol. Now that I'm thinking about it, you're probably correct. Gold would be much better! He he he he.

What a baller using silver as planter stands 🤣 !BBH

Hehehehe. It didn't last long. But for the time it was sitting up there, it looked good. Lol.

Lil photoshoot!BBH

@bdmillergallery! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @bitcoinman. (10/50)

@bdmillergallery! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @bitcoinman. (17/50)

I love the Monarch silver bars!!! I like what you have grown into in precious metals!!! Very nice!!!
!BBH

@bdmillergallery! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @silversaver888. (9/20)

Thank you! Yes, my stack is ever growing. Can't complain about that! I love the monarch bars, but sometimes they carry a decent premium. I'm almost willing to pay it on occasion because I like them so much. I would like to get some 5 ounces and maybe a 10 ounce monarch bar. I'll keep my eye out and if silver dips hard, I may grab a couple. Otherwise I'll probably just stick to the cheaper stuff.

I always put some thought to my purchases, except for that colorized Australian Dragon I bought. There is always one, hahaha!
!WINE

I’m not great with indoor plants but gardens I’ve had great success with. Nice chunky Monarch bars.

Love those Monarch Bars!
I like to garden outdoors as well. With this mild weather we are having today.. I'm getting the itch to start planning what I am planting where.

Nice plants! The African Violet sure produces some nice flowers. Not sure what kind of succulents you have but they're nice looking little plants!

The silver plant stand was an idea, a little expensive... Those are nice little bars though, I love them. Nice, thick, and very chunky looking!

Thanks!
I like those bars and even thought about grabbing a few more, except the premium on them went through the roof a year or two ago and not willing to pay it. Anyhow.. they make other cool stuff so I thought why buy the same thing. May as well get something different when I am ready.

Yeah Monarch makes some pretty cool silver bars. I like the way they pour them and polish them up. I didn't keep the bars there long because you know those geese would fly down and scoop them up! Lol.

I love African violets but they are one of the plants I usually kill pretty quickly.

lol. I think I've seen some plastic artificial versions in the stores. Maybe you could give that a try.😆

Yeah, those would be mighty hard to kill!

You received an upvote of 100% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Thank you for contributing more great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag.
You have created a Precious Gem!

Thank you 😁

This type of plant is actually favourable and shining. They look quite fresh