Vanda Orchid (Part 1) and A Trivium Girls Silver Coin

in Silver Bloggers2 months ago (edited)

Untitled.png

What Do They Have In Common ..

I would be asking myself that very same question if I were you .. And the answer is nothing. Yes, they have nothing in common. One is silver and the other is plant. It's simply just a personal thing.. I am reminded of this Trivium Girls coin on occasion, when I look at my Vanda orchid. On the face of the coin, behind the girl in the center, is a sun with rays that come out in a squiggly motion. These rays remind me of the orchid roots of this plant. Also the very distinct lines or pattern of the orchid leaves remind me of the reverse design of the coin.

IMG_2252.jpeg

So .. I thought it would be a good time to share this coin as well as talk about my Vanda orchid, which I’ve been meaning to do for quite a while now.


The Coin ..


IMG_2251.jpeg

First up let’s talk about the coin .. The Trivium Girls coin is from the Silver Shield collection by the Golden State Mint (GSM). The coin struck in 2021 and depicts three women on the front, one reading, one blowing a horn, and one I presume is ready to pull a sword up out from behind her back. The sun is shining brightly behind them and the words “listen to all, follow none “are printed along the edges.

IMG_2250.jpeg

IMG_2249.jpeg

On the reverse of the coin is an absolutely beautiful design. On the reverse of the coin is an absolutely beautiful design. There’s a sword in the very center and a very unique design all around it. Being artistic, I always loved how the almost chaotic design was also very symmetrical. There are some very fine details in this design that are worth a close look so that you can appreciate them.

IMG_2245.jpeg

From what I understand .. This series is notorious for diving into controversial issues surrounding mankind. And this coin is yet another fine example of that. During the Middle Ages, people wanted to improve their lives through education as old systems struggled. This desire led to the Renaissance. The Trivium Girls Silver Shield Round depicts three women representing the trivium, which includes grammar, logic, and rhetoric. These principles guide humanity towards progress and understanding. Lady Grammar seeks truth by listening to all but following none. Lady Logic thinks freely without constraints. Lady Rhetoric encourages a world without fear or ignorance.

IMG_2246.jpeg

Love The Coin!


The Vanda Orchid ..


IMG_2247.jpeg

I am only going to talk a little about the Orchid .. And write another post tomorrow in a little more depth. Otherwise this post will get too long. I recently brushed up on my Vanda Orchid knowledge and started to research new watering techniques. Our plant was looking a little wilted and pale. I didn't want to put her in a bad position and risk loosing the plant, so I did a little reading to find out what I could do differently. I did find something out and will share that with you tomorrow.

We purchased the Orchid from our local Orchid farm, Waldor Orchids. I want to say she ended up costing us somewhere around $40.00 USD. That's a decent amount of cash to drop on the purchase of a plant we are very unfamiliar with, but we did it anyhow. It was exciting yet scary because we never cared for this type of Orchid nor did we know anything about how to. But the exciting part was that it was completely different than anything we have ever cared for.. Bare roots! How will this work. The farmer/expert Orchid guy, told us not to worry, she would be just fine. He gave us some general tips and sent us out the door.

IMG_2248.jpeg

She's been pretty happy over the last year or so .. But has not flowered and has shown a few signs of what I call 'Blahness' .. Not really happy and not really sad. Just somewhere in the middle. It would be nice to get this Orchid to her happy place where she gives us some beautiful purple blooms. That's the goal and that's the reason for the research.

IMG_2253.jpeg

At the beginning of February I decided to change the way we are feeding and watering this Orchid. So far so good, and I will share more of those details tomorrow.

Hang in there like our Vanda Orchid

Check back tomorrow to read more about it

Hive text divider.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

Hive text divider.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

Hive text divider.png

8DAuGnTQCLptZgjHUrRAJGcW4y1D4A5QVJJ7zjzqqKdfVHSS6NapSCC8BmeEmMLJjZ3Ay6ahoJxHJf6kMJj1D6s6e6y9ZCYsCGBEGamwwWZoQE3RHPBZQPbusnre67ooQEhxPAA5r5C2is4kNk3TTnw2ZUfjBTfVrEMGaqgSLRt.png

Hive text divider.png

HiveLogo_987437876587576432965_008.jpg

Hive text divider.png

Sort:  

This is really looking so cool I must confess. The orchid is really growing well and this is great to see

Yes, the Orchid is doing well now. Hopefully we see some flowers from her soon.. but no pressure. lol.

Silvershield has nice silver rounds!

grammar, logic, and rhetoric. These principles guide humanity towards progress and understanding. Lady Grammar seeks truth by listening to all but following none. Lady Logic thinks freely without constraints. Lady Rhetoric encourages a world without fear or ignorance.

Why doesn't the rounds depict that?
I like Vanda orchids! Are your orchids all grown indoors?
!BBH
!PIZZA

@bdmillergallery! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @silversaver888. (11/20)

I think they tried to depict that with the one girl reading a book, one holding her hands up to her ears and the other blowing a horn.. hmmm... yeah maybe not the best depiction hehehe. They could have done better job of it.

All of our Orchids are grown inside. Gets way to cold here outside. Summer may try and move them outside but have to come up with a shady area for them. direct sun would burn most of them.

That is a really cool coin! The design on the other side with the sword almost looks like it is celtic inspired. I like this a lot! The orchid kind of reminds me of something out of Stranger Things with the tendrils snaking out all over the place. It's kind of like a mind flayer!

Hahaha.. Yes it does look like some alien creature thing. Or Medusa if I put it up on my head. Your right.. Celtic is a great description of the look. I didn't think of it like that, but now that you say it!

You know I was looking at that design when taking the photos and thought.. I've seen this before somewhere but could not place it. Thanks for the link!

That silver is really cool! Great detailing and very well done! I like that one a lot!

I hope that orchid gets happy. It's a pretty plant and I'm sure it must be beautiful when it blooms.
!BBH
!DEHDGE

@bdmillergallery! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @thebighigg. (11/50)

It will be beautiful when and if I can get her happy enough to bloom. Working on a post about that for tomorrow.

The coin is one of the cooler ones I own. Very neat design.

Libertad is the only silver titties i got !BBH

Hahaha.. You did look closely didn't you! 😁 Silver boobies

@bdmillergallery! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @bitcoinman. (15/50)

Those roots look like they're in search for soil...

They are in search of something.. that's for sure. Don't let them wrap around your hand and arm .. They'll never let go!!!!! 😆

That would be a funny sight...lol...

You received an upvote of 100% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Thank you for contributing more great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag.
You have created a Precious Gem!

Again.. Thank you to the entire community for the support!

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@silversaver888(8/10) tipped @bdmillergallery

We all love silver a lot and the way we have seen it has increased in value. This coin design is really very wonderful.