You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Getting back to my Nerdy Ways!

in Silver Bloggers2 years ago

I've made the vow to carry a book with me at all times! Just a soft paperback that fits in my pocket... I have one at the moment about consciousness, attacking from a mathematical/physics point of view. Lots of reading, thinking, re-reading... thinking. Its heavy, but I feel like my brain gets a good workout!

Sort:  

That sounds fascinating! What's it called? Yeah we need to exercise the brain - I don't think the internet always does that!

The internet is built for easy quick sugar hits...

The book is called Emperor's New Mind by Roger Penrose.(https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/179744.The_Emperor_s_New_Mind)

It is a touch old, but the ideas are still quite interesting and I don't think that the advent of AI or Quantum Computing would change much the underlying ideas that he puts forth.

That sounds so fascinating. Have you been watching the 'interviews' with LaMDA/AI? It's quite extraordinary how fast these machines learn and mimic human sentience.

I've been watching that series that Ridley Scott did for television, 'Raised by Wolves', a sci fi which has robot AI raise children on another world after Earth falls to war. I'm a sci fi fan and don't mind a bit of escapism. These days it doesnt seem such a foreign idea that a robot could be programmed for emotion or that a machine could learn enough to break the bonds of human programming a la Westworld.

Oooh... that Raised by Wolves sounds pretty cool! I'm off to search for that! ... and Westworld, I think I have to go back to that one. I was watching it quite a bit in the earlier seasons in the middle of the night when the kids were babies and needed someone in the room to hold them. Needless to say, it probably wasn't the best thing to watch by myself in the dead of night... freaked me out!