You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Father, I Haven't Sinned

in Silver Bloggers2 months ago

I really enjoyed reading this and now am
Wondering what my children will think of and remember of me after I’m gone.

Thinking of the pictures I’ve seen of my father and I as a baby, then thinking of my experience with him as a teenager and our relationship now, I can’t imagine what our relationship was really like in my formative years.

After becoming a parent, I think it’s so unfortunate that most of the experiences we try so hard to give young children disappear in their memory banks.

Sneaking out during sleepovers was great, want it! Such a magical experience.

Sort:  

Oh my goodness I made so many mistakes! You will too. My children, scarred as they are (were), all love(d) me despite. The only thing that matters in parenting is genuine love.

I do wish, however, that I had listened more closely to the alarms going off in my head whenever I chose to follow someone else's advice above my own, especially that of those who called themselves professionals.

It’s been very interesting having a third child ten years after my first and eight after my second. When you raise kids that are close in age, they tend to go through all the developmental phases and life experiences at more or less the same time, but raising a baby when you know what to expect from elementary school and team sports and so many other things, that really gives you a lot of perspective. It likes a complete do-over. All the things that I feel like I probably should have done differently, I get to try again (and maybe mess up all over agin in a different way🤣).

hm. I can see how hindsight would come in very handy for you. And maturity.