High Summer

in Silver Bloggers2 years ago (edited)

Here we are. Finally, it is mid July and we are in the midst of the best weather of the year. The skies are blue, the clouds are fluffy, and the grass is a lush green. This year, the hay is plentiful and nutritious. What more could a prairie dweller want?

How about flowers? I believe that every plant I have is in bloom! At least the perennials and annuals are. The trees and shrubs made their display a month ago already and are putting on thick green leaves. July is the time for the small herbaceous plants and this year they are spectacular. It must be the extra rain.

My portulaca has never been so full of blooms and it comes in many different colours. This is an annual plant here that will not survive the Winter, but it does like to spread in my arid soil.

My lilies are making me very happy, although, I believe that I should thin them a little. Every year there are more lilies, so I plan to dig up some bulbs and move them to other locations.

My false sunflower is gorgeous and the many flowers are continually swaying in the prairie winds.

Look at the Edelweiss! Does it remind you of Austria? I would love it if it would naturalize in my grass like an alpine meadow, but alas, this is Saskatchewan and we get our flowers the hard way. I can still dream, however...

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

They are all beautiful! I love the little portulaca and yes, it is annual, but I have mine in a basket of moss hanging on a shepherd's hook. I leave them to die off in the winter, bring them into the garage, and in spring, hang it back up. It reseeds itself EVERY year~!! I have had the same one for ten years.

Your gardens are delightful and I love the selection of flowers you have!

Thank you! I wish more of my stuff would reseed, but the season here is very short. It is very hard to get mature seeds on annuals.

 2 years ago  

What an amazing bunch of flowers you got there and they are blooming so beautifully and radiant too.

Congratulations @brittilicious! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 100 comments.
Your next target is to reach 200 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Hey! Nice to see you on Hive! How are you?

Beautiful flowers and clouds. When I was checking wiki about Edelweiss, I found this image:

No._5._Dianthus_silvestris,_Gnaphalium_leontopodium,_(Edelweiss.),_chromolithograph_by_Helga_von_Cramm,_with_hymn_by_F._R._Havergal,_1877.jpg
wiki

You have the same (or almost the same) pink flowers near Edelweisses. 🙂

HI! Long time no see!
Yes, my edelweiss is planted next to dianthus. It is the same plant. They look good together.