You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It's Not All Bad, it's How You Choose to Use it.

Yes! I agree! These little sayings may seem sound, at face value, but they're actually terrible advice. I hate the expression a child is not listening! Oh they listen. But do they obey? They hear what is being asked but choose to do what they want. And comparing one trauma or tragedy against another is wrong. We each survive what we do. Some truly do have it worse but it doesn't negate another's sufferings. Valuable post @minismallholding! Thought provoking. I hope you have given many "food for thought" (I like that expression because our minds should really chew over things ;)

Sort:  

I heard something better said than a child is not listening, which I believe is more accurate. A child/teen may seem like they aren't listening, but they are. So say it anyway, it will be there for them when they are ready for it, giving them time to chew it over.