A sister sandwich

in Silver Bloggers2 years ago

With five sisters all barely more than a year apart,

the middle child became a sandwich.

Julie, Lori, *Kelly *, Carol, Linda.

When it suited her, she identified as "Us Three Little Guys," but she aligned herself with Julie and Lori whenever "Us Three Big Guys" were doing something exciting.

Guys, yes. We labeled ourselves "guys." Wiseguys, big guys, little guys.

The middle child,

the filling, the one that unites--
How will I ever get used to mentioning her in the past tense?

We have so few photos from our 1960s, Black-and-White, low-tech childhood. Our only color photos came from School Picture Day. Someone had the brilliant idea of gluing ours to this board and varnishing it. This is the closest thing we have to a group photo of the Five Sisters.

image.png

That's Kelly, sandwiched in the middle.

The bottom row is all that's left of the five: "Us Two Little Guys." Here is a more flattering view of us (I'm on the left:

image.png

Not all middle kids embrace being "sandwiched,"

but this author made the best of it (I reviewed the book here but cannot find the link today):

image.png

A Susanna Sandwich by Meghan Merrick

It's a sweet, nostalgic book, set in that era before cell phones, a time when children played outside without adult supervision after school and board games, not video games, ruled.

This board game was one of Kelly's favorites.

image.png
source

She would rally us all to play it, and she would win, every single time. She was incredibly fast at cards, and I'm not sure I ever won a game with her. Linda just stopped playing cards with Kelly. She was #unbeatable!

Which is why I truly believed Kelly was going to be the miracle woman, the one who'd beat cancer, against all odds. Who could imagine the unbeatable sister BEATEN, broken, battered, begging for morphine, never getting enough of it?

Kelly died on Palm Sunday after a terrible, insanely painful battle with Stage 4 Stomach Cancer. From November to April, she went from a vibrant, energetic, fitness-promoting marathon runner to a Prisoner of War, emaciated, battered, tortured, robbed of all vitality and dignity. Our oldest sister Julie was missing from November to March, so this was already a challenging time of year, with Julie found dead in a ditch during Lent of 1976. Spring is my favorite season but Easter
is not my favorite holiday.

I have not been active here because my mind has been all about Kelly and Lori, who we buried in September. Two months later, Kelly's diagnosis hit. Half a year later, Kelly is gone.

The sandwich is getting down to the crusts.

In a lame effort to stay on topic here, Blog of the Month: New Theme for 12 April 2022, I'll finally mention the other kind of #sandwich. Thick slabs of home-made white bread, with butter, and ham. Or, grilled cheese, with Mom's garden-grown tomato soup.

image.png
source: thebeerczar

Distant memories,

for me: after a lifetime of headache and malaise, the diagnosis came: I'm painfully allergic ("intolerant") to gluten, eggs, and dairy, and I have yet to find a "bread" recipe that is worth eating. I've found some marginally edible hamburger buns.

I really miss sandwiches.

But I miss my sisters more than anything.


I've blogged about Julie and Lori. And our mother, who lost her own mother in infancy, her father when she was 30, her firstborn daughter at 38, then her second daughter AND her third daughter in her 84th year.

image.png
Kelly, Lori, our mom

Kelly got four years with her first grandchild.

She kept holding on, refusing to let go, to just die and be done with it; she wanted to meet the second grandchild. This tiny baby arrived three weeks early, as if to make sure Kelly got to meet her, but Kelly was "unresponsive" (in a morphine coma), so we can only hope/believe Kelly "knew" that baby had arrived safe and well, and she could let go, at last. (Hours later, she did.) But that is a whole other story. Too poignant for me to "sandwich" into this post.

No greater love

than that of a mother, a grandma, and all you silverbloggers who are grandparents do not need me to elaborate on that.

I've blogged a lot about Julie, and Lori, but I probably won't post much about Kelly, who is (was) as fiercely private as Linda.

Just a few links to my "too many thoughts for one blog" posts:
image.png
Hearts and Spades: Burying my sister - Day 1433: 5 Minute Freewrite: Prompt: spade


image.png


image.png

Thank you #silverbloggers for hosting these monthly themes.

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

I'm so sorry. So many sisters gone. As many daughters, gone. It's an awful lot. Thank you for writing about it, a feast of sandwiches for us to know you by. And to love you by. I love you.

Aww, thank you -- you write the nicest things!
#LOVE you Stacey!!!!!

 2 years ago (edited) 

Hello and Welcome Carol!

Thank you for posting to the Silverbloggers Community! We do appreciate you choosing to come over into our community of young-at-heart kindred Silvery Souls...

We want everyone to succeed and have a positive experience on the Hive blockchain! Since most of us aren't digital natives and were born long before internet was a public thing, we have a keenness to learn more about blockchain and crypto, together.

The silver threads, in addition to a love of blogging and photography, are

  • a compulsion to store and share our life experiences in this "diary" on the Hive.
  • musings and memories of life – happy and sad, long and short.
  • leisure and travel, and/or about second (third..?) careers.
  • hobbies that can supplement incomes or just what keeps “un” working people busy.

And to top that all off, we would like to invite you to our Silver Server, our chat room, where we talk about whatever is on our mind. The place to find answers to any questions may raising on this journey together. The place to help each other out. To prosper together into the future of the internet. And not to forget, the place used to "promote" your blog or the posts into the contests we sometimes have and also to get your silvery member name.

Now, before you continue blogging with us, please read the Rules and Guidelines of this Community ! We are not really picky, but we do ask everyone to follow them!

Hope to see you soon again in our Silver Bloggers Community! Thanks for being awesome!

silver_divider_black.png

 2 years ago  

I think you sent this to Carol by mistake my friend. She is a silver blogger and has been for some time.

No worries... it's a welcome, all good here! 😁

Thank you for the welcome, @modnoshawan. I fear I have violated some rules or I wouldn't be regarded as a newbie. I've been a #silverblogger for some time now.... posting inappropriately, knowing me....
What did I do wrong this time....

 2 years ago (edited) 

Nothing... all good, just haven't really seen posts of you into the silverbloggers, so i sent you my welcome. No worries... it was also to invite you over to the coffee corner on discord where you maybe choose your silvery member name. 🙃 Just continue what you are doing... i like it. And sorry if i may have troubled you.

 2 years ago (edited) 

btw, my late reply is because i didn't get a notification since you wrote modnoshawan instead of mondoshawan. 😁

Oh, those typos!
Thank you, and you did not trouble me. And thanks @owasco.
And someday, yes, I'll find my way back to Discord. It's soooo time consuming and for me it was fraught with assorted techno-difficulties.
Thanks again! And glad I didn't post in error, making myself look like a noob. :)

Congratulations @carolkean! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 10000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 11000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

We have finished upgrading our website
Our Hive Power Delegations to the April Power Up Month Winners
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!