You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Collies, pedigrees, competition: who do you love? Bear wants to know!

in Silver Bloggers3 years ago

Awwww!
I'm with you 100% on saying no the expensive, invasive, and ultimately not even helpful vet care. "Care." The treatments are often worse than the cure....
At least Freddy is in good health, right?
I've been revisiting Tennyson today, he who immortalized "tis better to have loved and lost" -
If you have time to click on only one link today, I would exhort you to make it this one:
A Short Analysis of Tennyson’s ‘Nature Red in Tooth and Claw’ Poem

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

Does this not say that Nature is pissed about man's putting god above her?

Who trusted God was love indeed
And love Creation’s final law–
Tho’ Nature, red in tooth and claw
With ravine, shriek’d against his creed –

But the poem begins with Nature's declaration that she is non-judgmental:

I care for nothing, all shall go.

I interpret this poem very differently than this author does, but then, I read it from today, with a nascent interest in Victorian culture. The author thinks this ends on a hopeful note, but I see it as less so, just as Tennyson himself, who said

‘It’s too hopeful, this poem – more than I am myself.’

I love how Tennyson chose words with multiple meanings to deepen his own. I try to do that too. It can take me days to choose a single word. I wonder how long Tennyson spent on "tare". I read it with a meaning the author didn't mention, that of balancing to zero, evening the odds, leaving it to nature.

Not sure I love the analysis, but do adore that poem! Thanks!!!!!!!