You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Kind words, thoughtful gestures, and even TOYS can heal us!

in Silver Bloggers3 years ago

Miniatures who came to life!!! Did you read The Borrowers? I loved those books and insisted that my dolls came to life at night. In their little town. You had Breyer horses....!!! What treasures! I can't access your image but Barbies and Breyer horses sound like a great pairing to me. :)
Our dad built us a very basic dollhouse out of plywood. We made furniture out of velveeta cheese boxes, pop-tart boxes, fabric scraps, other found items. Looking back, it was a better way to play than being given all the glorious, richly detailed, realistic, but PLASTIC toys my own kids got. But we also helped them construct their own habitats for dolls. With samples from home improvement stores. And of course we bought the miniature furniture (this stuff is not cheap!).

Thanks for reading and commenting and sharing your own childhood memories. Toys are like holy icons, to my mind....

Sort:  

Yes I did read The Borrowers! I loved them too. Come to think of it you stirred up memories and I made my own furniture out of cereal boxes and empty toilet paper tubes. You're opening up the brain synapses which is probably a great thing at this stage of the game 🤪

Cardboard doll furniture - you too!!
How many other pleasant childhood memories lie buried beneath the detritus of the years.... let's keep excavating!