You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Our Strange World: Swimming Through "Credential Soup"

Hey @demarkguy, I'm with you on this one. I have a Bachelor's Degree (completed with really high marks also) that I too have barely used. Meanwhile my work in the "personal development" arena sees me with very few recongised credentials but more than enough experience to do a better job than many of the tertiary qualified, formally recognised psych's and similar.

I find it an ongoing messy space to exist in. It's sometimes frustrating and sometimes fascinating, and as much as I can, I try to find loopholes to just do what I want so I can continue to support people in useful ways. It's not an ideal space for the consumer when you have those in coaches, mentoring or therapeutic type roles who aren't actively reflecting on their own behaviours, beliefs and ways of being.

There is so much power that is afford to those of us who are in guiding roles of any kind that I think it is our responsibility, one I take very seriously, to make sure we continue to be masterful with our people skills and evermore kind and conscious in the way we do our work.